Science Librarian
Background Information
The Importance of Background Information
Finding background information before writing your lab report is important, especially if you are unfamiliar with the subject area. Background information will give you a stronger foundation and understanding that will help you complete your writing assignments. Reference sources provide background information, which often includes:
- A broad overview of the subject
- Definitions of the topic
- An introduction to key issues
- Names of people who are authorities in the subject field
- Major dates and events
- Keywords and subject-specific vocabulary terms that can be used for database searches
- Bibliographies that lead to additional resources
LSU Libraries has reference sources, such as online encyclopedias, covering many topics in the sciences. Because reference sources provide an overview of the topic, you will feel better prepared to discuss and to write about the topic and the general issues surrounding it after reading them.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsData and analysis on employment, unemployment, spending, time use, productivity, benefits, pay and workplace injuries.
- Occupational Outlook HandbookThe Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.
Online Resources
Universities with BE departments
Biomedical engineering departments
Professional societies of interest
Background Reference Databases
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowCredo Reference is a general reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering 551 hundred highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers; Credo General Reference covers every major subject. Credo Reference is an online reference service made up of full-text books from the world's best publishers. Whether you're working on a research paper, trying to win trivia or just curious, Credo Reference has something for you.
- Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new windowGale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.