On this page you will find a variety of resources that maybe helpful to your research in this class. There are many places to find primary sources as well as secondary sources to help you.
Accessible ArchivesThis link opens in a new windowAccessible Archives assembles diverse primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture into comprehensive databases.
African American CommunitiesThis link opens in a new windowFocusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998This link opens in a new windowAfrican American Newspapers, 1827-1998, provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
America's Historical NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowAs the first draft of history, newspapers document the life and times of a community,a region and a nation. For searching and browsing American newspapers published in the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries, Americas Historical Newspapers is the single most comprehensive online resource, providing more than 1,300 titles from all 50 states.
American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society (Parts 1- 6)This link opens in a new window*Part 6 is now accessible.*
Rich collections of periodicals detail American history and culture from the
late-17th century through the late-19th century meeting the research
needs of scholars and faculty in specific academic departments. See the More Info section below for a complete list of collections offered in this database. Collections can be searched individually or all at one time. The URL linking out from this database record searches all collections.
• Advertising Periodicals, 1815-1888
• Agricultural Periodicals from the Northeastern U.S., 1789-1879
• Agricultural Periodicals from the Southern, Midwestern, and Western U.S., 1800-1878
• Alternative Faith and Philosophy Periodicals, 1789-1878
• Alternative Medicine and Health Periodicals, 1810-1877
• American Civil War Periodicals, 1855-1868
• American Literary Periodicals, 1782-1834
• American Literary Periodicals, 1835-1858
• American Literary Periodicals, 1859-1891
• American Medicine, Surgery, Dentistry Periodicals, 1786-1877
• American Political and Social Movements, 1815-1884
• American Political Periodicals, 1715-1891
• Baptists, Quakers, and Independent Church Periodicals, 1797-1881
• Business and General Education Periodicals, 1800-1885
• Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1774-1858
• Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1859-1870
• Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1871-1901
• Canadian Periodicals, 1790-1877
• Catholic, Lutheran, Methodist, and Episcopal Periodicals 1797-1904
• College and Student Periodicals, 1806-1877
• Commercial Periodicals from the Southern U.S., 1811-1877
• Congregational, Presbyterian, and Reformed Church Periodicals, 1803-1902
• Cultural Periodicals from the Southern U.S., 1797-1877
• Current Events and History Periodicals, 1691-1912
• Drama, Humor, and Fine Arts Periodicals, 1764-1877
• Emerging American Religions, 1821-1895
• Fireside Companions and Family Literature Periodicals, 1805-1877
• Foreign Language Periodicals in America, 1684-1904
• General Interest Christian Periodicals, 1743-1889
• Hobbies, Socialization, and Sport Periodicals, 1775-1889
• Literary Periodicals of New England, 1789-1878
• Masons, Odd-Fellows and Other Societal Periodicals, 1794-1877
• Military and Law Enforcement Periodicals, 1691-1877
• Missionary and Charity Periodicals, 1793-1902
• Musical Periodicals, 1781-1879.
• Periodicals from Around the World, 1691-1880
• Periodicals of the American West, 1779-1881
• Periodicals of the British Empire and Its Colonies, 1702-1879
• Popular Educational Periodicals, 1758-1889
• Religious Periodicals for Women, Children, and Families, 1804-1878
• Religious Periodicals from the Southern U.S., 1801-1904
• Scientific Periodicals, 1771-1901
• Slavery and Abolition, 1789-1887
• Story Papers, Dimes and Dollar Periodicals, 1828-1877
• Sunday School Periodicals, 1818-1885
• Temperance Periodicals in America, 1826-1877
• Theology and Biblical Studies Periodicals, 1760-1877
• Women’s Periodicals of the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century, 1733-1844
• Women’s Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1845-1865
• Women’s Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1866-1891
American Periodicals Series OnlineThis link opens in a new windowAmerican Periodicals Series Online (APS Online) includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
Archive of AmericanaThis link opens in a new windowThe acclaimed Archive of Americana enables students and scholars to explore virtually every aspect of United States history, culture and daily life across three centuries. Providing unprecedented online access to newspapers, books, broadsides, ephemera, government publications and more, the Archive of Americana puts tens of millions of pages of primary documents at researchers' fingertips.
Archives Unbound (African American Studies)This link opens in a new windowAn interdisciplinary academic collection devoted to the study of the history, culture, and politics of Black Americans covering the tumultuous period from 1900 to present day. From U.S. nation-building in Liberia to Freedom Riders and from Rastafaria to FBI surveillance, researchers can explore a breadth of experiences.
Baton Rouge Advocate Collection Current and Historical Archives 1845 - presentThis link opens in a new windowSearch more than 175 years of Baton Rouge history with The Advocate Collection. Coverage from 1845 through today. Explore current and archived issues of The Advocate with full-color newspaper pages and individual articles.
British Library NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowBritish Library Newspapers contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of 19th-century British society.The collection includes Parts I-V and covers the years 1732-1950.
British Periodicals I and IIThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Early English Books OnlineThis link opens in a new windowEarly English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Early Modern England: Society, Culture and Everyday LifeThis link opens in a new windowThis database offers rare and invaluable sources for examining the lived experience of people who witnessed this pivotal era of English history. From 'ordinary' people through to more prominent individuals and families, these documents show how everyday working, family, religious and administrative life was experienced across England.
Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineThis link opens in a new windowECCO contains every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. From books and directories, bibles and sheet music, to sermons and pamphlets, ECCO features a variety of materials to provide a critical tool for both faculty research and classroom use.
Gale Primary SourcesThis link opens in a new windowDigital curated historical artifacts from over 500 years of world history, curated by Gale and partnering libraries from around the world.
HarpWeekThis link opens in a new windowContains the full-text of Harper's Weekly during the Civil War era (1857-1865) and access to HarpWeek Reconstruction I (1866 - 1871). The HarpWeek Database consists of the pages of Harper's Weekly, scanned as images, together with a series of controlled-vocabulary indexes, which are interactively linked.
Hispanic Life in America Series 1: 1704 – 1942This link opens in a new windowHispanic Life in America is the single most comprehensive digital archive of primary source documents related to Hispanic American life. Combining deep historical content with current sources, Hispanic Life in America is an invaluable resource for anyone interested in examining the full spectrum of American history and culture.
History VaultThis link opens in a new windowFor the first time ever, ProQuest is introducing primary source materials from its University Publications of America (UPA) Collection in a digital format. ProQuest History Vault unlocks the wealth of archival materials with a single search. Researchers can access letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and much more from a single interface.
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and MagazinesThis link opens in a new windowllustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines: Important and Rare Periodicals from Confederate, Union, Abolitionist, and British Presses is the definitive online Civil War media resource. The database contains 65,000 pages drawn from 49 periodicals, including 15 campaign newspapers, most of them illustrated3,720 issues published from 1860 to 1865.
Louisiana Digital LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThe Louisiana Digital Library (LDL) is an online library of Louisiana institutions that provides over 144,000 digital materials. Its purpose is to make unique historical treasures from the Louisiana institution's archives, libraries, museums, and other repositories in the state electronically accessible to Louisiana residents and to students, researchers, and the general public in other states and countries. The Louisiana Digital Library contains photographs, maps, manuscript materials, books, oral histories, and more that document history and culture.
New York Times with Index (1851-2018)This link opens in a new windowThis historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-2018) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.
Popular Culture in Britain and AmericaThis link opens in a new windowPopular Culture explores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. The resource offers thousands of colour images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia from this exciting period in our recent history.
Victorian Popular CultureThis link opens in a new windowVictorian Popular Culture is a portal comprised of four modules, inviting users into the darkened halls, small backrooms, big tops and travelling venues that hosted everything from spectacular shows and bawdy burlesque, to the world of magic, spiritualist seances, optical entertainments and the first moving pictures.
Vogue ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowA complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.
Women's Studies ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowWomen’s Studies Archive connects archival collections concerning women’s history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources. Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive provides materials on women’s political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women’s voices, from female-authored literature to women’s periodicals. By providing the opportunity to witness female perspectives, Gale’s Women’s Studies Archive is an essential source for researchers working in Women’s History, Gender Studies and Social History.
Access to 2 sections: Issues and Identities & Voice and Vision
Women’s Wear Daily ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowAn archive of Women's Wear Daily, from its launch in 1910 to recent issues,* reproduced in high-resolution images. Pages, articles, advertisements, and covers have been included, with searchable text and indexing. The Women's Wear Daily Archive preserves one of the fashion industry's most influential reads. Key moments in the history of the industry, as well as major designers, brands, retailers and advertisers are all covered in this publication of record.
**Six-month embargo on new issues.**
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a not-for-profit organization and a shared digital library archive of critical scholarly journal literature. Louisiana State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s): Arts & Sciences Collections I-XV, Ireland Archive Collection, Life Sciences Collection, University of California Press Collection, University of Chicago Press Collection, Business IV Collection, Lives of Literature Collection, and the Sustainability Collection.
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, this database is the leading source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
America: History and Life with Full TextThis link opens in a new windowThis resource covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With hundreds of full-text journals and books, and selective indexing for journals dating back nearly 60 years, this database is a key reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
Project MuseThis link opens in a new windowProject MUSE is your trusted source for the highest quality books and journals in the humanities and social sciences from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies.
adViews: A Digital Archive of Vintage Television Commercials (Duke University Libraries)The AdViews digital collection provides access to thousands of historic commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s. All of the commercials held in the DMB&B Archives will be digitized, allowing students and researchers access to a wide range of vintage brand advertising from the first four decades of mainstream commercial television.
Cookbooks and Home Economics Collection-Internet ArchiveThe Cookbook and Home Economics Collection includes books from the Young Research Library Department of Special Collections at UCLA, The Bancroft Library at The University of California, Berkeley, and the Prelinger Library. These fascinating books take us back to an America in the early decades of the 20th century covering topics on cookery, textiles, family and home, budgeting, domestic sciences, and many other delightful topics.
Culinary Institute of America Digital Menu Collection\The Culinary Institute of America’s special collection of over 40,000 historical menus includes menus from CIA restaurants and donations from major menu collectors, including George Lang, Chapman S. Root, Vinnie Oakes, and Roy Andries de Groot. Assembled over decades, the collection illustrates the history of dining in America and abroad, with menus from all of the states and over 80 countries, as well as ships, railroads and airlines.
Feeding America: The Historic American Cookbook Project (Michigan State University Libraries)Feeding America is an online collection of some of the most important and influential American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century. The digital archive includes 76 cookbooks from the MSU Libraries' collection as well as searchable full-text transcriptions.
The aim of the online collection is to highlight an important part of America's cultural heritage for teachers, students, researchers investigating American social history, professional chefs, and lifelong learners of all ages.
HEARTH - Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition, HistoryHEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles published between 1850 and 1950 were selected and ranked by teams of scholars for their great historical importance. The first phase of this project focused on books published between 1850 and 1925 and a small number of journals. Future phases of the project will include books published between 1926 and 1950, as well as additional journals. The full text of these materials, as well as bibliographies and essays on the wide array of subjects relating to Home Economics, are all freely accessible on this site. This is the first time a collection of this scale and scope has been made available.
Los Angeles Public Library Menu CollectionA database of menus from Los Angeles, other cities, steamships, airlines and banquets. Images of the actual menus are being added. The address and telephone number of the restaurant is given, plus the menu date, cuisine type, meal, and price range
Transportation Library Menu Collection-Northwestern UniversityPioneering anthropologist and Northwestern alumnus George M. Foster took his first commercial flight in 1935. In the seven decades that followed, he would fly hundreds of times as well as traveling by rail and boat for his anthropological research and as a consultant for such agencies as the World Health Organization and UNICEF. Foster collected remembrances of his travels in the form of in-flight or on-board menus, which he donated to the Transportation Library in 1997.
To search for books at LSU Libraries you can use either Discovery or the Catalog
Discovery searches both the LSU Libraries catalog and multiple databases at one time. This aggregator will display physical books and e-books held by LSU Libraries as well as those not owned by LSU. You can use the limiters in Discovery to refine your search results
The LSU Libraries catalog will show you only items owned by LSU Libraries. If a URL link appears in a record, the book is available electronically. Records for print books will display a call number and the location "stacks." If you need help locating a book, consult a stacks directory or visit one of the Libraries' service desks.
Note that Discovery also searches the Hathi Trust Digital Library, a collection of 11 million digitized books from more than 50 major research libraries. Most of the books are out of copyright and therefore older, so this is a great place to search for primary sources.