CFFS Exchange Program: Slavery in Louisiana, Martinique, and the Caribbean: Selected Databases

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.

This collection spans nearly 400 years, from the early 16th to the early 20th century. Critically important subjects covered include the Wests discovery and exploitation of Africa; the rise of slavery in the New World along with the growth and success of abolitionist movements; the development of racial thought and racism; descriptions of African American lifeslave and freethroughout the Americas; and slavery and race in fiction and drama.

America's Historical Imprints contains 3 full-text and fully searchable collections: Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922; Early American Imprints, Series 1-Evans; and Early American Imprints, Series 2-Shaw-Showmaker.

As the first draft of history, newspapers document the life and times of a community,a region and a nation. For searching and browsing American newspapers published in the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries, Americas Historical Newspapers is the single most comprehensive online resource, providing more than 1,300 titles from all 50 states.

Online access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series, with access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content. Coverage includes American and British history, general history, music, religious studies, theater and performing arts, and more.

Starting with the literature produced in Spanish and French colonies in the 1800s, the collection offers an extensive selection of 19th- and 20th-century works from every Caribbean country. As the database grows, we will supplement the novels, short stories, and poems of these artists with author interviews and reference works, including dictionaries of various Creole languages.

This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at your institution.

Contains citations to 1.2 million dissertations and masters theses. Coverage begins in 1861, with abstracts available since 1980, and thesis abstracts since 1988.

A bibliographic database of more than 32,000 entries, providing a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750, this database is the result of a cooperation between EBSCO Publishing and the John Carter Brown Library. The database is created from "European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750," and is available to LSU free from EBSCO.

For the first time ever, ProQuest is introducing primary source materials from its University Publications of America (UPA) Collection in a digital format. ProQuest History Vault unlocks the wealth of archival materials with a single search. Researchers can access letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and much more from a single interface.

Designed for both teaching and research, this resource brings together documents and collections from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world covering an extensive time period from 1490. Close attention has been given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.

This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Our cases go into the 20th century, because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from slavery. To give one example, as late as 1901 Chief Justice Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr. of the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court had to decide if a man, both of whose parents had been slaves, could be the legitimate heir of his father, because under southern law, slaves could never be legally married. The library has hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slaverydefending it, attacking it or simply analyzing it. We have gathered every English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920, which includes many essays and articles in obscure, hard-to-find journals in the United States and elsewhere. We have provided more than a thousand pamphlets and books on slavery from the 19th century. We provide word searchable access to all Congressional debates from the Continental Congress to 1880. We have also included many modern histories of slavery. Within this library is a section containing all modern law review articles on the subject. This library will continue to grow, not only from new scholarship but also from historical material that we continue to locate and add to the collection.