It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"Dr. Gwendolyn Hall is professor emerita of history at Rutgers University, where she taught Latin American and Caribbean history. A noted New Orleans writer and historian, Dr. Hall has written four books, and developed and edited Databases for the Study of Afro-Louisiana History and Genealogy, 1699 - 1860 (2000), from which this search engine is built."
From Xavier University's archives, "the Charles F. Heartman Manuscripts of Slavery Collection consists of over 6000 pieces dating from 1724 to 1897, and relate directly to the social, economic, civil, and legal status of enslaved Negroes and Free People of Color in Louisiana an especially in New Orleans. The manuscripts are written in French, Spanish, and English."
"First Blacks in the Americas is a fully bilingual (English and Spanish) digital educational platform devoted to disseminating sound historical information about the early presence of people of black African ancestry in the first colonial society of the Americas of modern times, the society of the colony named La Española (‘The Spanish One’) by the Spanish colonizers when they arrived in 1492 and throughout the sixteenth-century." Provided by CUNY The City College's Dominican Studies Institute.
In 1838, the Jesuits of Georgetown sold 272 slaves to Louisiana plantation owners in an effort to pay off debts. "The Georgetown Slavery Archive is a repository of materials relating to the Maryland Jesuits, Georgetown University, and slavery. This project was initiated by the Archives Subgroup of the Georgetown University Working Group on Slavery, Memory, and Reconciliation."
Created by the New York Public Library's Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, this site explores the various migrations of African Americans in US History. To search by migration type, please visit: http://www.inmotionaame.org/migrations/index.cfm
"This site provides access to information gathered and analyzed over an eighteen-year period from petitions to southern legislatures and country courts filed between 1775 and 1867 in the fifteen slaveholding states in the United States and the District of Columbia." TIP: Browse by subject
"This site provides access to the raw data and documentation which contains information on the following slave trade topics from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries: records of slave ship movement between Africa and the Americas, slave ships of eighteenth century France, slave trade to Rio de Janeiro, Virginia slave trade in the eighteenth century, English slave trade (House of Lords Survey), Angola slave trade in the eighteenth century, internal slave trade to Rio de Janeiro, slave trade to Havana, Cuba, Nantes slave trade in the eighteenth century, and slave trade to Jamaica. For information about the data sets, read the study descriptions for each data set." Information provided by the University of Wisconsin, Madison Libraries.
From the Digital Public Library of America, this primary source set is a sampling of documents related to the Transatlantic Slave Trade and has additional resources and repositories that may be of help.