CFFS Exchange Program: Slavery in Louisiana, Martinique, and the Caribbean: Websites

"Dr. Gwendolyn Hall is professor emerita of history at Rutgers University, where she taught Latin American and Caribbean history. A noted New Orleans writer and historian, Dr. Hall has written four books, and developed and edited Databases for the Study of Afro-Louisiana History and Genealogy, 1699 - 1860 (2000), from which this search engine is built."

From Duke University's John Hope Franklin Research Center.

From Xavier University's archives, "the Charles F. Heartman Manuscripts of Slavery Collection consists of over 6000 pieces dating from 1724 to 1897, and relate directly to the social, economic, civil, and legal status of enslaved Negroes and Free People of Color in Louisiana an especially in New Orleans. The manuscripts are written in French, Spanish, and English."

A cooperative digital library of resources from and about the Caribbean region held in archives, libraries, and private collections

Published by the University of North Carolina Greensboro, so many sources are focused on the mid-Atlantic, however there are some excellent sources on Louisiana.

Primary Source materials from numerous repositories located across the United States and in some cases, internationally.

Includes marriage, baptism, and funeral records from St. Charles Borremeo Parish and St. John the Baptist parish (where Whitney Plantation is located).

"First Blacks in the Americas is a fully bilingual (English and Spanish) digital educational platform devoted to disseminating sound historical information about the early presence of people of black African ancestry in the first colonial society of the Americas of modern times, the society of the colony named La Española (‘The Spanish One’) by the Spanish colonizers when they arrived in 1492 and throughout the sixteenth-century." Provided by CUNY The City College's Dominican Studies Institute.

Site developed by Doris Kadish at the University of Georgia. Provides links to resources and texts related to slavery in the Francophone world in the 18th and 19th centuries.

In 1838, the Jesuits of Georgetown sold 272 slaves to Louisiana plantation owners in an effort to pay off debts. "The Georgetown Slavery Archive is a repository of materials relating to the Maryland Jesuits, Georgetown University, and slavery. This project was initiated by the Archives Subgroup of the Georgetown University Working Group on Slavery, Memory, and Reconciliation."

Created by the New York Public Library's Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, this site explores the various migrations of African Americans in US History. To search by migration type, please visit: http://www.inmotionaame.org/migrations/index.cfm

Database of "Lost Friends" advertisements that appeared in the Southwestern Christian Advocate after the Civil War. Database created by the Historic New Orleans Collection.

"This site provides access to information gathered and analyzed over an eighteen-year period from petitions to southern legislatures and country courts filed between 1775 and 1867 in the fifteen slaveholding states in the United States and the District of Columbia." TIP: Browse by subject

A collection of primary source documents concerning the Amistad case. From Tulane University, Howard-Tilton Memorial Library.

Includes digital collections, external websites, and bibliographies.

From the Digital Public Library of America, this primary source set is a sampling of documents related to the Transatlantic Slave Trade and has additional resources and repositories that may be of help.

Access provided by Family Search (Church of Latter Day Saints)

Access provided by Ancestry.com - does cost money to access.

Audio recordings of interviews with previously enslaved individuals from the Library of Congress's Memory Project.