TAM 7041 Introduction to Research in Textiles, Apparel Design and Merchandising
Course Guide for TAM 7041 class. This can be a great starting place when researching.
- Welcome
- Evaluating Your Sources
- What is Peer Review?
- Databases for your Papers
- Finding Dissertations and Theses
- What Is Citation Management Software?
Ask Us!
-
Ask Us!The Go-To place to get help! Text, Call, Email, or Chat with us! You can also use this link to schedule a research consultation, reserve a study space, etc.
Set up Google Scholar to link to LSU Libraries' resources
Databases
- Background Information
- Research Articles
- Inspiration and Other
- Digital Archival and Museum Collection
- Business Focused
-
Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new windowThe Berg Fashion Library is a unique online portal which offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and much more.
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowCredo Reference is a general reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering 551 hundred highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers; Credo General Reference covers every major subject. Credo Reference is an online reference service made up of full-text books from the world's best publishers. Whether you're working on a research paper, trying to win trivia or just curious, Credo Reference has something for you.
-
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. The Oxford Art Online database contains articles on every aspect of the visual arts. This includes painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day.
-
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowOnline access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series, with access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content. Coverage includes American and British history, general history, music, religious studies, theater and performing arts, and more.
-
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowDigital curated historical artifacts from over 500 years of world history, curated by Gale and partnering libraries from around the world.
-
History Vault This link opens in a new windowFor the first time ever, ProQuest is introducing primary source materials from its University Publications of America (UPA) Collection in a digital format. ProQuest History Vault unlocks the wealth of archival materials with a single search. Researchers can access letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and much more from a single interface.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a not-for-profit organization and a shared digital library archive of critical scholarly journal literature. Louisiana State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s): Arts & Sciences Collections I-XV, Ireland Archive Collection, Life Sciences Collection, University of California Press Collection, University of Chicago Press Collection, Business IV Collection, Lives of Literature Collection, and the Sustainability Collection.
-
Textile Technology Complete This link opens in a new windowTextile Technology Complete contains indexing and abstracting for more than 490 periodical titles, and for over 882,000 records drawn from sources such as books, conferences, theses, technical reports and trade literature. Coverage spans the domestic and international arenas and includes publications covering the major resources from the scientific community, as well as the apparel, home furnishings, flooring, and polymer industries.
-
Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new windowWomen’s Studies Archive connects archival collections concerning women’s history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources. Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive provides materials on women’s political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women’s voices, from female-authored literature to women’s periodicals. By providing the opportunity to witness female perspectives, Gale’s Women’s Studies Archive is an essential source for researchers working in Women’s History, Gender Studies and Social History.
Access to 2 sections: Issues and Identities & Voice and Vision
-
Artstor This link opens in a new window*Artstor is now available in its new home on JSTOR! When you search JSTOR, you will find Artstor’s 2+ million licensed images and more than 1,700 additional primary source collections alongside JSTOR’s collections.*
Artstor collections feature an unparalleled range of images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. Artstor facilitates research and education in numerous disciplines, including art and visual studies, architecture, religion, anthropology and archaeology, global studies, fashion and costume, classics, world history, and more. -
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new windowA complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.
-
The Fashion and Race DatabaseThe goal for the database is to center and amplify BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, People of Color) fashion scholarship, illuminate under-examined histories and address racism throughout the fashion system
-
Women's Wear Daily ArchiveAn archive of Women's Wear Daily, from its launch in 1910 to recent issues,* reproduced in high-resolution images. Pages, articles, advertisements, and covers have been included, with searchable text and indexing. The Women's Wear Daily Archive preserves one of the fashion industry's most influential reads.
-
British MuseumThis extensive digital museum collection features items from around the world dating from the ancient world to the present.
-
EuropeanaEuropeana is a digital cultural heritage collection spanning much or Europe. Many of the items in the digital collection date from pre-1800
-
Kyoto Costume Institute Digital ArchivesThe collection currently spans the 17th century to the present day, and includes holdings of some 13,000 items of clothing and 20,000 documents.
-
The MET Costume Institute CollectionFeatures dolls, clothing, and fashion plates from the 18th and 19th centuries
-
Musee de la ModeThe Palais Galliera preserves some of the richest collections in the world. Estimated today at nearly 200,000 works (clothing, accessories, photographs, drawings...), these collections reflect the codes of clothing in France from the 18th century to the present day, and are regularly the subject of numerous exhibitions in Paris, France and foreign countries.
-
Museum at FIT Digital MuseumThe Museum at FIT is one of a select group of specialized fashion museums, including the Musée de la Mode, the Mode Museum, and the Museo de la Moda. The online museum has textile pieces beginning in the 17th century.
-
Museum of Applied Arts and Sciences-Powerhouse CollectionPowerhouse is custodian to more than half a million objects of national and international significance. The Powerhouse Collection is considered one of the finest and most diverse collections in the world dating from the 1880s to the present
-
National Portrait Gallery-Smithsonian InstituteThis collection features American portraiture throughout American History. These portraits can be used as visual evidence of dress and adornment
-
RISD MuseumThe RISD Museum highlights art representing diverse cultures from ancient times to the present.
-
Texas Fashion Collection-University of North TexasFeatures a small collection of pre-1800 dress and adornment
-
Royal Ontario Museum Digital CollectionsFeatures Art, textiles, and adornment from the ancient world to the present. Their collection spans the global.
-
The Zay IntiativeThe Zay Initiative is a non-profit, UK registered initiative advancing the preservation of cultural heritage through the collection, documentation and digital archiving of Arab historical attire and their stories
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete provides full text from 11,200 sources, including more than 1,100 scholarly business journals. This database offers information in virtually every area of business including accounting & tax, banking, finance & insurance, construction, computer science, economics and many more.
-
EconLit This link opens in a new windowContains citations since 1969, with selected abstracts since 1987, of world economic literature from 400 major journals, essays, proceedings, books, reviews, dissertations and working papers. It is produced by the American Economic Association.
-
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowOECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECDs analysis and data. Note: Not all content is freely available.
-
Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista offers over 1.5 million statistics and facts on more than 60,000 topics drawn from over 18,000 different sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases. The data is aggregated by a dedicated team of researchers and statisticians who are experts in the 20 market and industry sectors covered. For each data set, extensive source information is provided as well as several download formats for direct integration into various end products.
Interlibrary Loan Services for Graduate Students
-
Interlibrary Loan ServicesWhere you can go to find out more information about ILL.
Due to Covid-19 Times for Interlibrary Borrowing may be longer than usual.
The first time you sign in, you will need to create an account. However, after that, select, "Access my ILL Account."
Fill out the necessary information and hit "submit request".
For questions, comments or concerns, please call Access Services at 225-578-2138 or libilb@lsu.edu.
Materials can be picked up from the Access Services Desk, 2nd Floor of LSU Library. A PHOTO ID IS REQUIRED.
Request materials not owned by LSU Libraries from other library institutions through your ILLiad account. Note: Whole e-books cannot be loaned through ILL, but chapters can be requested.
Due to Covid-19 Times for Interlibrary Borrowing may be longer than usual.
Who's Eligible?
Current LSU Faculty, Staff, Graduate
Students, and Undergraduate Students
Estimated Delivery Time
Loans: 3 days-2 weeks
Articles/Book Chapters: 24 hours-2 weeks
Request PDF scans of articles/book chapters/microforms owned only in print at LSU Library through your ILLiad account.
Due to Covid-19 Times for Interlibrary Borrowing may be longer than usual.
Who's Eligible?
Current LSU Faculty & Staff, Undergraduate, Graduate, LSU Online and Distance Education students
Estimated Delivery Time
24 hours
- Last Updated: Mar 13, 2025 1:10 PM
- URL: https://guides.lib.lsu.edu/TAM7041
- Print Page