Skip to main content

Using the Databases: Web of Science

How to use the most popular research databases at LSU.

Introduction to Web of Science

Web of Science is a bibliographic database. It contains bibliographic information about articles, such as title, author, date of publication, etc.

Web of Science is also a citation index. Citation indexes show the relationships among scholarly papers by showing who is citing whom. Researchers use citation indexes to conduct thorough literature reviews. 

Web of Science does not provide access to full text articles. It links to full text articles in other databases.

The videos included on this page cover Web of Science searching basics. The Web of Science YouTube playlist linked below includes videos that cover advanced searching, exporting results, analyzing scholarship trends, and conducting cited reference searching.

How to Use Web of Science

Users on campus: Click on the the Web of Science link below.

Users off campus:

  1. Click on the Web of Science link below. 
  2. Enter your MyLSU username and password when you are prompted to sign in.

The video below shows how to search across all databases included in LSU Libraries' Web of Science subscriptions, including how to interpret and refine the results list. 

The video below shows how to conduct a Basic Search and presents search tips, such as Boolean searching, proximity searching, truncation, and searching across specific fields such as Author search. 

The video below shows how to refine results when too many results are listed. 

Provide Website Feedback
Accessibility Statement