Research & Instruction Librarian
Databases
- Black Drama This link opens in a new windowBlack Drama contains approximately 1200 plays by 200 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
- Digital Theatre + This link opens in a new windowDigital Theatre+ provides access to: 500+ HD-quality films of star-studded, classical, contemporary and international productions. (RSC, BroadwayHD, Shakespeare's Globe, West End, Gecko Theatre and more) 13,000+ written study guides, essays, research materials, performance studies and workshop programmes, all designed by industry experts and leading academics. 400+ interviews with academics & practitioners focused on everything from acting to directing, lighting design to stage management.
- Film and Television Literature Index This link opens in a new windowFilm & Television Literature Index™ with Full Text is the definitive online tool for film and television research. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications (and selected coverage of 300), as well as full text for more than 120 journals, and 100 books. In addition, Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowFilms On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that provides easy access to all educational videos LSU Libraries has purchased from Films Media Group.
- Literary Reference Plus This link opens in a new windowLiterary Reference Plus is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, and literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Plus includes thousands of plot summaries, synopses, and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full text of over 430 literary journals; book reviews; classic and contemporary poems and short stories; full text of over 7,000 classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThe MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature.
- North American Women's Drama This link opens in a new windowNorth American Women's Drama contains 1,517 plays by 330 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. More than 30% of the plays in the collection have never been published before. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
- Theatre in Video Volume I This link opens in a new windowTheatre in Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the worlds leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.
- Theatre in Video, Volume II This link opens in a new windowTheatre in Video: Volume II brings together classic and contemporary plays and documentaries. With a greater focus on contemporary and international productions, Theater in Video: Volume II offers views to the works of widely studied playwrights and theatre artists from around the globe, including many new performances from Shakespeare's Globe Theatre collection (Opus Arte), Theatre Arts Films, the BBC, and TMW Media Group.
- Twentieth Century North American Drama This link opens in a new windowThis edition of Twentieth Century North American Drama contains 2,059 plays by 434 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.