Guide to Music Resources

With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (2002), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006)

A-R Editions has published Recent Researches in Music—critical performing editions of music in seven series—since its inception in 1962. The series fall into two basic categories: editions that span the history of Western music, and editions with ties to specific cultural milieus. Most editions in Recent Researches in Music are devoted to works by a single composer or in a single genre. This resource includes complete content of scores and partbooks, users can read online, print, or save and fully searchable text content, and multiuser access.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text is a comprehensive bibliography of writings about music featuring citations, abstracts and indexes. It covers nearly one and a half million publications from the early 19th century to the present on traditional music, popular music, jazz, classical music, and related subjects, enhanced with the full text of over 260 periodicals. New titles are being added annually.

RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals is an international, highly annotated database with detailed content analysis of writings on musical history and culture between 1800 and 1950--from Beethoven to Bartok, from Berlioz to Berg, and from Schubert to Shostakovich--all provided by internationally-recognized scholars and editors. RIPM currently indexes the contents of 140 music periodicals including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press reviews, and more. In addition, RIPM offers more than 5,000 English-language translations of articles from journals in other languages.

RISM Series A/II: Music Manuscripts after 1600 is the most comprehensive index and guide to music manuscripts containing more than 657,000 manuscript records by over 22,500 composers found in over 800 libraries and archives in 32 countries.

The Index to Printed Music is a digital finding aid for individual pieces of music published in the complete works of composers, in anthologies, and in other scholarly editions. Over 570,000 entries provide a granular level of detail about each piece, including performing forces, language, music incipits, multiple clefs and figured bass.

Classical Scores Library is a series of three volumes and contains the most important classical music scores, manuscripts, and previously unpublished material, allowing for the study and analysis of more than 45,000 musical scores.

**The maximum number of simultaneous users is 20.**

Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues of over approximately 253,000 tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music.