Guide to Music Resources
MUSIC
Music Librarian
Reference Sources
- LSU Scholarly Repository This link opens in a new windowLSU Scholarly Repository provides access to research, publications, data, and records produced by LSU faculty, students, and units. It includes but is not limited to online versions of various theses and dissertations from LSU graduate students. To learn more about contributing, contact ir@lsu.edu.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I This link opens in a new windowContains citations to 1.2 million dissertations and masters theses. Coverage begins in 1861, with abstracts available since 1980, and thesis abstracts since 1988.
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online This link opens in a new windowThe Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music. Each volume contains an overview of the region, a survey of its musical heritage, traditions and themes; and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances.
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowWith Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (2002), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006)
New Grove dictionary of American music by Call Number: ML101 .U6 N48 2013ISBN: 9780195314281Publication Date: 2013The Grove Dictionary of American Music, second edition is the largest, most comprehensive reference publication on American Music. Twenty-five years ago, the four volumes of the first edition of the dictionary initiated a great expansion in American music scholarship. This second edition reflects the growth in scholarship the first edition initiated. At eight volumes, it provides greatly expanded coverage, particularly in the areas of popular music, cities and regions, musical theater, opera, concert music, and music technology, as well as the musical traditions of many ethnic and cultural groups.
- IPA Source This link opens in a new windowIPA Source was developed to benefit singers, teachers, and all those interested in the correct and knowledgeable performance of vocal literature. What started in 2003 as a support site for students in a university diction class has grown into the largest collection of literal translations and International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions on the web. The goal of IPA Source is to promote the comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in art song and opera in order that the singer may imbue each syllable with the appropriate emotional content.