Research Guides: LSU Explorers : Scholarly Databases

Reading Scholarly Materials

Below is another video from UNLV Libraries with tips on how to read scholarly articles:

Source: UNLV Libraries. Reading Scholarly Articles. Retrieved from: https://vimeo.com/304697201

Scholarly and Peer-Reviewed Information (Suggested Databases)

Below are some suggested databases from the LSU Libraries that you can use to search for scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles. Follow this link to see what other databases we have: https://guides.lib.lsu.edu/az.php

You can narrow this list of databases to your subject area by clicking on the box that says "All Subjects" and choosing your subject area from the drop-down menu.

Discovery
Discovery is LSU Libraries' Google-like search box for information sources: it will search for print books housed in LSU Library and Hill Memorial Library, scholarly journal articles in databases such as Academic Search Complete and JSTOR, and newspaper and magazine articles in the NexisUni and Access World News, all in one search.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, this database is the leading source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete provides full text from 11,200 sources, including more than 1,100 scholarly business journals. This database offers information in virtually every area of business including accounting & tax, banking, finance & insurance, construction, computer science, economics and many more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization and a shared digital library archive of critical scholarly journal literature. Louisiana State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s): Arts & Sciences Collections I-XV, Ireland Archive Collection, Life Sciences Collection, University of California Press Collection, University of Chicago Press Collection, Business IV Collection, Lives of Literature Collection, and the Sustainability Collection.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect, published by Elsevier Science, serves as a web information source for scientific, technical, and medical (STM) research. It offers access to thousands of journals in many fields of science, including the social sciences.

PLEASE NOTE: Excessive printing and downloading, even through available functionality on ScienceDirect, is not permitted under our license and will result in loss of access and possible disciplinary action.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Access the worlds leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. LSU Libraries Core Collection includes: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present); Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present); and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).

Searching for Information

These videos and tutorials will give you tips and tricks on how to search effectively. NOTE: These tutorials are only available for currently enrolled LSU students, faculty, and staff. When attempting to access tutorials from off campus, users will be prompted to login to their myLSU Account.

LSU Explorers

Reading Scholarly Materials

Scholarly and Peer-Reviewed Information (Suggested Databases)

Searching for Information

Provide Website Feedback Accessibility Statement

Provide Website Feedback
Accessibility Statement