TAM 4071 & TAM 4072: History of Dress and Adornment: TAM 4072- Post 1800

Research Guide for both TAM 4071 & 4072

Research Databases

Archives of Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new window
The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.

The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program consists of four archives:
LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I
LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part II
Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century
International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture
First World War Portal This link opens in a new window
The First World War portal makes available invaluable primary sources for the study of the Great War, brought together in four thematic modules. From personal collections and rare printed material to military files, artwork and audio-visual files, content highlights the experiences of soldiers, civilians and governments on both sides of a conflict that shook the world.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Digital curated historical artifacts from over 500 years of world history, curated by Gale and partnering libraries from around the world.
History Vault This link opens in a new window
For the first time ever, ProQuest is introducing primary source materials from its University Publications of America (UPA) Collection in a digital format. ProQuest History Vault unlocks the wealth of archival materials with a single search. Researchers can access letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and much more from a single interface.
Victorian Popular Culture This link opens in a new window
Victorian Popular Culture is a portal comprised of four modules, inviting users into the darkened halls, small backrooms, big tops and travelling venues that hosted everything from spectacular shows and bawdy burlesque, to the world of magic, spiritualist seances, optical entertainments and the first moving pictures.
Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new window
Women’s Studies Archive connects archival collections concerning women’s history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources. Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive provides materials on women’s political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women’s voices, from female-authored literature to women’s periodicals. By providing the opportunity to witness female perspectives, Gale’s Women’s Studies Archive is an essential source for researchers working in Women’s History, Gender Studies and Social History.

Access to 2 sections: Issues and Identities & Voice and Vision

History Commons This link opens in a new window
History Commons assembles diverse primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture into comprehensive databases.
African American Communities This link opens in a new window
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
As the first draft of history, newspapers document the life and times of a community,a region and a nation. For searching and browsing American newspapers published in the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries, Americas Historical Newspapers is the single most comprehensive online resource, providing more than 1,300 titles from all 50 states.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This resource covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With hundreds of full-text journals and books, and selective indexing for journals dating back nearly 60 years, this database is a key reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
American West This link opens in a new window
From early topographical sketches and pioneers’ accounts, to photographs of Buffalo Bill and his ‘Wild West’ stars, explore the fact and the fiction of westward expansion in America from the early eighteenth to the mid-twentieth century. Browse a wide range of rare and original documents including printed books, journals, historic maps, broadsides, periodicals, advertisements, photographs, artwork and more.
Archives Unbound (African American Studies) This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary academic collection devoted to the study of the history, culture, and politics of Black Americans covering the tumultuous period from 1900 to present day. From U.S. nation-building in Liberia to Freedom Riders and from Rastafaria to FBI surveillance, researchers can explore a breadth of experiences.
Hispanic Life in America Series 1: 1704 – 1942 This link opens in a new window
Hispanic Life in America is the single most comprehensive digital archive of primary source documents related to Hispanic American life. Combining deep historical content with current sources, Hispanic Life in America is an invaluable resource for anyone interested in examining the full spectrum of American history and culture.
Images of the American Civil War: Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera This link opens in a new window
Images of the American Civil War: Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera provides a vivid visual history of a nation in crisis. Thousands of dramatic images from the fields of battle, politics, and general society allow students and researchers to experience the events, both monumental and mundane, of the war that tested and defined the core meaning of America.
Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954 This link opens in a new window
Jewish Life in America will enable you to explore the history of Jewish communities in America from the arrival of the first Jews in the 17th century right through to the mid-20th century. This rich collection brings to life the communal and social aspects of Jewish identity and culture, whilst tracing Jewish involvement in the political life of American society as a whole.
Los Angeles Times (1881- 2013) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Women and Social Movements 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, the collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools.

Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004 This link opens in a new window
The Daily Mail Historical Archive provides more than 100 years of news stories that capture 20th century culture and society and includes copious advertisements.
Picture Post Historical Archive 1938-1957 This link opens in a new window
Users can browse and search more than 38,000 pages and 95,000 articles online, gaining remarkable insight into a crucial period of twentieth-century history -- from the stormy years leading up to World War II to the first decade of the Cold War. An invaluable resource for students, teachers, and researchers of media, journalism, history, and photography, the Picture Post is also a heritage collection, providing excellent, highly visual primary source material for family and local history researchers. For users that already have access to other newspapers in Gale's online collection, such as the Illustrated London News Historical Archive and The Times Digital Archive, the collection provides additional avenues and in-roads into research of the period.
Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000 This link opens in a new window
The Telegraph Historical Archive provides access to an archive of 1 million pages. The paper is considered to be Britain's first "penny newspaper" and became the largest-selling newspaper in the world by 1876.

British Museum
This extensive digital museum collection features items from around the world dating from the ancient world to the present.
Europeana
Europeana is a digital cultural heritage collection spanning much or Europe.
Kyoto Costume Institute Digital Archives
The collection currently spans the 17th century to the present day, and includes holdings of some 13,000 items of clothing and 20,000 documents.
Maryland Center for History and Culture
Features a small collection of clothing items and portraiture from the 1700's
The MET Costume Institute Collection
Features dolls, clothing, and fashion plates from the 18th Century to the present
Musee de la Mode
The Palais Galliera preserves some of the richest collections in the world. Estimated today at nearly 200,000 works (clothing, accessories, photographs, drawings...), these collections reflect the codes of clothing in France from the 18th century to the present day, and are regularly the subject of numerous exhibitions in Paris, France and foreign countries.
Museum at FIT Digital Museum
The Museum at FIT is one of a select group of specialized fashion museums, including the Musée de la Mode, the Mode Museum, and the Museo de la Moda. The online museum has textile pieces beginning in the 17th century.
Museum of Applied Arts and Sciences-Powerhouse Collection
Powerhouse is custodian to more than half a million objects of national and international significance. The Powerhouse Collection is considered one of the finest and most diverse collections in the world dating from the 1880s to the present
National Portrait Gallery-Smithsonian Institute
This collection features American portraiture throughout American History. These portraits can be used as visual evidence of dress and adornment
National Portrait Gallery-United Kingdom
The Primary Collection of the National Portrait Gallery of the United Kingdom contains more than 12,700 portraits. Of these, over 4,100 are paintings, sculptures and miniatures. These painting and portraits range 8th century to the present day and can be used as visual evidence of certain clothing trends.
RISD Museum
The RISD Museum highlights art representing diverse cultures from ancient times to the present.
Royal Ontario Museum Digital Collections
Features Art, textiles, and adornment from the ancient world to the present. Their collection spans the global cultural landscape.
Texas Fashion Collection-University of North Texas
Features clothing from the 18th century to the present
The Victoria and Albert Museum Digital Collections
The Victorian and Albert Museum holds a collection of millions of objects such as fashion, furniture, textiles, and jewelry that spans over 5,000 years of human creativity.
The Zay Intiative
The Zay Initiative is a non-profit, UK registered initiative advancing the preservation of cultural heritage through the collection, documentation and digital archiving of Arab historical attire and their stories