Need help?
Introduction
Welcome to the library resource guide for Dr. Trevathan's ENGL 1001 class. This guide is meant to introduce you to research for your annotated bibliography.
Research requirements for your annotated bibliography:
- 6 credible sources (reliable, critical sources found through the LSU Libraries)
- 3 must be scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles in academic journals
- 3 should be trustworthy, respected sources from top-tier, major market, well-known popular newspapers, magazines, or other periodicals (e.g. New York Times, Wall Street Journal)
- No unauthorized websites, blogs, or reference sources (encyclopedias, Wikipedia, dictionaries, blogs, Spark notes, Shmoop, etc.)
- References should be formatted according to APA style
Scroll down to see recommended resources for your topic. Academic Search Complete is where you can find scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles. Newspaper articles can be found by searching Access World News, or by using the New York Times or Wall Street Journal.
Scholarly Peer-Reviewed Articles
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, this database is the leading source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
When searching for scholarly, peer-reviewed articles using Academic Search Complete, don't forget to limit your results! These limiters can be found on the left-hand side of the screen. You can limit your results by checking to certain source types by checking boxes like "Peer Reviewed" and "Academic Journals." You can also choose a date range for publication. Below is an example:
Newspapers (Popular Sources)
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowAccess World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowHow to Activate an LSU New York Times Account
1. Select the link above
2. Select from the search Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College - Baton Rouge, LA
3. Enter all of the requested information and use your LSU email on the registration form and click Sign Up.
4. Once you create your log-in credentials, you will be able to log in using nytimes.com where access is unlimited.
5. Faculty and staff must register every four years. Student access reflects the estimated graduation date.
LSU's access includes New York Times InEducation which provides curated reading lists across several disciplines of study. To access the InEducation tool, users must activate their News subscription and log in using the same account information.
Funding for LSU's New York Times access was provided by LSU Student Government and LSU Libraries. - Wall Street Journal + This link opens in a new windowLSU Libraries is excited to announce that The Wall Street Journals premium digital products including WSJ online and smartphone and tablet apps are now available to all students and faculty. For over a century, WSJ has sustained a legacy of journalistic excellence and is the #1 most trusted newspaper for the 27th consecutive year, according to the Pew Research Center.
All users will need to create a user account.
Remote PC/Mobile access:
1. Click on the WSJ+ link
2. Login to MyLSU
3. Create an account using your LSU email address
4. Select account type
5. Agree to terms and hit create
6. Setup account preferences
7. Your account is now setup for access
Funding for LSU's Wall Street Journal access was provided by LSU Student Government and LSU Libraries