Research Guides: ENGL 2300: Interpreting Discourse: Background Information

The Importance of Background Research

This module covers why information literacy skills matter and how to get started with a research project, including understanding the process, choosing a topic, and beginning research. NOTE: These tutorials are only available for currently enrolled LSU students, faculty, and staff. When attempting to access tutorials from off campus, users will be prompted to login to their myLSU Account.

Background Information Resources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is a general reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering 551 hundred highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers; Credo General Reference covers every major subject. Credo Reference is an online reference service made up of full-text books from the world's best publishers. Whether you're working on a research paper, trying to win trivia or just curious, Credo Reference has something for you.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.

The Conversation
The Conversation is an independent, nonprofit publisher of commentary and analysis, authored by academics and edited by journalists for the general public. We publish short articles (800-1000 words) by academics on timely topics related to their research.Their mission is “to promote truthful information and strengthen journalism by unlocking the rich diversity of academic research for audiences across America.”

ENGL 2300: Interpreting Discourse: Background Information

The Importance of Background Research

Background Information Resources

Provide Website Feedback Accessibility Statement

Provide Website Feedback
Accessibility Statement