GEOL 2900: Introduction to Research in the Geosciences (Forte)

This guide is here to help you become acquainted with resources and research in the Geosciences. If you need any help with your research don't hesitate to reach out to a librarian!

Recommended Geosciences Databases

Discovery
Discovery is the default search for LSU libraries. It searches about 80% of the journal articles and all of the eBooks and print books owned by the library. This is the best place to start your research.

American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG) Datapages/Archive This link opens in a new window
ON-CAMPUS ACCESS ONLY
This archive includes all of the AAPG Bulletin issues from 1917 to the present and most AAPG special publications and books. Additional collections available include: Gulf Coast Association of Geological Societies (GCAGS) Transactions 1951-2001, Journal of Sedimentary Research (SEPM) 1931-2001, Journal of Petroleum Geology (U.K.) 1978-1998, Field Papers of the New Orleans and East Texas Geological Society, and several new collections are currently in progress. These include publications by the Pacific Section of AAPG and the Canadian Society of Petroleum Geologists (CSPG) publications.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
This database is a comprehensive geoscience resource containing over 2.2 million bibliographic records covering subjects such as mineralogy and crystallography, general mineralogy, mineralogy of silicates, and mineralogy of non-silicates. Bibliographic records from more than 3,000 journals are included in the database as well as journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. Over 60,000 references are added to the GeoRef database annually. Geology of North America is covered from 1785 to the present, and geology of the world is covered from 1933 to the present.
GeoRef in Process This link opens in a new window
GeoRef in Process contains records that are in the process of being indexed prior to their integration in the main GeoRef database. The majority of the records originate from non-English language literature that was not recently published.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect, published by Elsevier Science, serves as a web information source for scientific, technical, and medical (STM) research. It offers access to thousands of journals in many fields of science, including the social sciences.

PLEASE NOTE: Excessive printing and downloading, even through available functionality on ScienceDirect, is not permitted under our license and will result in loss of access and possible disciplinary action.