Agriculture Librarian
Agricultural Support Librarian
Welcome
Welcome to the EMS 3050 Research Guide. This guide is an introduction to resources available for you through the libraries website. This guide does not have everything on it that the library has. It's just a few things to help you get started.
Please let me know if you have any questions.
Introduction
Wikipedia might be a good starting place but there are better places we can go to learn more about our topics. These databases are reference databases. Just like how you might go to an encyclopedia or dictionary to get some background information, these databases are a great place to start your research, develop those KEYWORDS (or words you might use to do your searches in the databases) and are more reliable than online popular sources.
Caution: Many professors do not want you to use these sources in your papers. Check with your professor for their specific guidelines.
Background Searching Using Library Databases
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowCredo Reference is a general reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering 551 hundred highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers; Credo General Reference covers every major subject. Credo Reference is an online reference service made up of full-text books from the world's best publishers. Whether you're working on a research paper, trying to win trivia or just curious, Credo Reference has something for you.
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new windowA database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new windowFor students and adults alike, the Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas. This database is updated annually.
Additional Help
Been a while since you have researched? We have some awesome tutorials to help clear away the cobwebs.
Other useful and informative "How-Tos" can be found on our "How-To" page.