Skip to main content

How to Find Books and Articles

Welcome to the How to Find Books and Articles page! This page is divided into three sections that show you how to find books, articles, and other sources of information made available by the LSU Libraries.  

Using the Catalog

Use this page to learn how to search the LSU Libraries catalog for print books, eBooks, music scores, government documents, etc.

Using the Databases

Use this page to learn how to search for articles. The databases covered are: 

  • Access World News - The most comprehensive collection of full-text newspapers globally. Includes The Advocate and the Times-Picayune.
  • Academic Search Complete - a comprehensive database of scholarly journal articles covering a wide field of academic disciplines.
  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive - a reference database that focuses on current events and controversies. 
  • LexisNexis Academic - a news database that includes business and legal information.
  • Literati by Credo - a database of reference materials. This is a good place to start to learn the basics about a topic.
  • New York Times
  • Wall Street Journal 
  • Web of Science - a database that covers the top ranked journals in the sciences. Coverage of humanities and social sciences is limited. 

Understanding Call Numbers

LSU Libraries organizes its print materials using 3 different organization schemes:

  • Library of Congress Classification
  • Dewey Decimal Classification
  • SuDocs Classification

Use this page to decipher the call number schemes and find the information you need on the shelf.