Free Online Resources - Veterinary - Resources for Graduating Students, Alumni, and Community Veterinarians - Research Guides at Louisiana State University

Free Online Veterinary Resources

Anatomy and Dissection

Bovine and Equine Limb Anatomy
From Iowa State University (Dr. Alexander zur Linden)
Online Veterinary Anatomy Museum (OVAM)
Sister project of WikiVet
Rooney's Guide to Dissection of the Horse
Color images designed as a supplement to the text Rooney's Guide to the Dissection of the Horse
Veterinary Anatomy Courseware
From University of Minnesota- includes carnivore and ungulate gross anatomy, developmental anatomy, neuroanatomy and planar MRI and CT anatomy

Anesthesia

OpenAnesthesia
Sponsored by International Anesthesia Research Society
Veterinary Anesthesia and Analgesia Support Group

Animal Health Studies

AVMA Animal Health Studies Database
This database connects you with veterinary clinical trials reported by researchers.
more...less...
Find studies related to a wide range of animal healthcare issues, including diabetes, arthritis, and cancers such as lymphoma, osteosarcoma, or hemangiosarcoma. Individual studies may be suitable for dogs, cats, horses, or other animals.

Search for studies relevant to your patient's or pet's particular condition, or even find opportunities to provide health data or a sample from a healthy animal. Animal owners interested in participating in studies should first discuss their animal's eligibility for any relevant study with their own veterinarian.

Animal Welfare

Animal Welfare Information Center
The Animal Welfare Information Center (AWIC) is mandated by the Animal Welfare Act (AWA) to provide information for improved animal care and use in research, testing, and teaching.
Gateway to Farm Animal Welfare
A single access point for a wide range of information related to the welfare of farm animals from Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, Animal Production and Health Division.

Cardiology

Atlas of Human Cardiac Anatomy
From University of Minnesota- includes comparative anatomy tutorial
Case Studies in Small Animal Cardiovascular Medicine
From Dr. Mark Kittleson of UC-Davis
Feline Hypertension Educational Toolkit
From the American Association of Feline Practitioners

Disaster Preparedness

Disaster Planning with Animals
Disaster Training and Best Practices from the U.S. National Agricultural Library
Pets and Disasters
From American Veterinary Medical Association
Disaster Preparedness
From American Veterinary Medical Association
Pet Safety in Emergencies
From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Disaster Preparedness for Veterinary Practices
From the American Veterinary Medicine Association

Clinical

Consultant
From Cornell University
Cornell Feline Health Center
From Cornell University
CSU Emergency Drug Calculator
From Colorado State University
Feline Grimace Scale
From Université de Montréal.
RVC/FAO Guide to Veterinary Diagnostic Parasitology
From Royal Veterinary College and Food and Agricultural Organisation of the United Nations
RVC Emergency Case Simulator
From Royal Veterinary College (University of London)

Food Animal

Agriculture and Horticulture Development Board Animation Series
From the Moredun Fountation- includes A to Z disease resources including video animation and printable handouts
Biology of the Goat
Animated anatomy and physiology
Food Animal Residue Avoidance Databank
A component of the Food Animal Residue Avoidance & Depletion Program
Interactive Clinical Exam of the Cow
From University of Glasgow
Maryland Small Ruminant Page
Maintained by Susan Schoenian, Sheep & Goat Specialist for University of Maryland Extension
Virtual Livestock Library
From Oklahoma State University

General

Animal Disease Information
From Center for Food Security & Public Health
AVMA Policies
From American Veterinary Medical Association
IVIS
IVIS (International Veterinary Information Service) is a non-profit, free veterinary information website. Registration is required.
Merck Veterinary Manual

Histology

Microscopic Anatomy-Histology
Images from Dr. Roger C. Wagner and Dr. Fred E. Hossler
Veterinary Histology
Course from Dr. Thomas Caceci of Virgina Tech

iBooks from University of Georgia

University of Georgia Interactive Open iBooks
Requires Books app (iPad, iPhone, iPod touch) or Mac

Image Databases

Animal Image Gallery
From American Society of Animal Science
Veterinary Medicine Slides
From Auburn University

Infectious Disease

Johnes Information Center
From University of Wisconsin
Leishmania Virtual Laboratory
Collaboration between The University of York, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, SimOmics, Cybula, and Pharmidex- a platform to explore a computational model of host mice chronically infected with visceral leishmanisis.
RCVS Epidemix version 2
From Royal Veterinary College- app to visually explore spatiotemporal trends in disease transmission and improve your understanding of disease modelling
World Reference Laboratory for Foot-and-Mouth Disease
From the Pirbright Institute

Neurology

Comparative Mammalian Brain Collections
From University of Wisconsin, Michigan State University and the National Museum of Health and Medicine
Video Resources for Veterinary Neuroanatomy and Clinical Neurology, 4th ed
From Cornell University
Brain Facts and Figures
From Dr. Eric H. Chudler, University of Washington

Parasitology

CDC- Parasites
From Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Pathology

Dr. John M. King's Necropsy Show & Tell
From Cornell University
eClinPath
From Cornell University- online textbook

Radiology

DVM Insight Veterinary Radiology and Ultrasound Image Library
Idexx Laboratories DICOM image database
Imaging Anatomy
From Illinois State University- includes canine, feline, equine, bovine, and dental anatomical imaging
Kansas State University Veterinary Health Center Radiology
From Kansas State University
Veterinary Radiology
Provides primary and continuing education on veterinary radiology

Theriogenology

Visual Guides of Animal Reproduction
Formerly known as the Drost Project

Toxicology

ASPCA National Animal Poison Control Center
Includes information about poisonous plants, household materials, and "people" foods.
Plants Poisonous to Livestock
From Cornell University

Virology

International Committee on Taxonomy of Viruses
Virusworld
From University of Wisconsin

Veterinary - Resources for Graduating Students, Alumni, and Community Veterinarians: Free Online Resources

Free Online Veterinary Resources

Anatomy and Dissection

Anesthesia

Animal Health Studies

Animal Welfare

Cardiology

Disaster Preparedness

Clinical

Food Animal

General

Histology

iBooks from University of Georgia

Image Databases

Infectious Disease

Neurology

Parasitology

Pathology

Radiology

Theriogenology

Toxicology

Virology

Provide Website Feedback
Accessibility Statement

Veterinary - Resources for Graduating Students, Alumni, and Community Veterinarians: Free Online Resources

Free Online Veterinary Resources

Anatomy and Dissection

Anesthesia

Animal Health Studies

Animal Welfare

Cardiology

Disaster Preparedness

Clinical

Food Animal

General

Histology

iBooks from University of Georgia

Image Databases

Infectious Disease

Neurology

Parasitology

Pathology

Radiology

Theriogenology

Toxicology

Virology

Provide Website Feedback Accessibility Statement

Provide Website Feedback
Accessibility Statement