African & African American Studies: African American Folklore
African American Folkore
This page lists selected information sources on African American Folklore.
Books provide information on a narrower subject area, and may only cover a specific aspect of a subject area. Some books may also provide broad surveys of a topic.
Reference sources provide summaries of facts, the definition of terms, summaries of histories, short biographies, etc., on large subject areas. They are the best place to start research, particularly for users unfamiliar with a field of study or subject area. Most of the reference sources at LSU Libraries are accessible online, but there are many reference sources available in print in the Libraries' stacks.
Use the Anthropology Databases to find scholarly journal articles on topics related to folklore and world cultures.
The Videos listed are documentaries.
Print & E-Books
Black Folklore and the Politics of Racial Representation by ISBN: 9781617038853Publication Date: 2013-10-02
Jazz Religion, the Second Line, and Black New Orleans by ISBN: 9780253004109Publication Date: 2009-09-01
Mojo Workin': The Old African American Hoodoo System by ISBN: 9780252094460Publication Date: 2012-01-01
The Trickster Comes West : Pan-African Influence in Early Black Diasporan Narratives by ISBN: 9781604733525Publication Date: 2010-02-11
Reference Sources
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Folklore by ISBN: 0313330352Publication Date: 2005-12-30
Anthropology Databases
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowA compilation of the Anthropological Index Online and Anthropological Literature databases, this resource is an extensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
- Anthrosource This link opens in a new windowAnthroSource is a service of the American Anthropological Association that offers members and subscribing libraries full-text anthropological resources from the breadth and depth of the discipline
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windowHRAF is an acronym for Human Relations Area Files. HRAF is a consortium of educational, research and cultural organizations, and government agencies; its mission is to encourage and facilitate the study of human culture, society, and behavior. This mission is accomplished mainly through the compilation, indexing, and distribution of a collection of ethnographic and other texts that are indexed by culture and subject. (eHRAF stands for the electronic collections of the HRAF).