World Languages, Literatures and Cultures: Databases & Journals
A guide to World Languages, Literatures & Cultures information sources at LSU Libraries
Finding Articles - Using Databases & Journals
Use the databases and journal title links to find articles, eBooks, and other information sources.
Databases
-
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window This is the online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS), referencing principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
-
Black Life in America This link opens in a new window Comprehensive coverage of the African American experience from the early 18th century to the present day. Sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications. An easy-to-use online resource—updated daily—for every institution working toward social justice and racial equity.
-
Caribbean Literature This link opens in a new window Starting with the literature produced in Spanish and French colonies in the 1800s, the collection offers an extensive selection of 19th- and 20th-century works from every Caribbean country. As the database grows, we will supplement the novels, short stories, and poems of these artists with author interviews and reference works, including dictionaries of various Creole languages.
-
Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window The award-winning Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides comprehensive access to the series dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers while simultaneously satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers, and scholars. The series provides reliable information on authors and their works in an easy to understand, engaging format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history
-
Early Encounters in North America This link opens in a new window Early Encounters in North America contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters. Particular care has been taken to index the material so that it can be used in new ways. For example, you can identify all encounters between the French and the Huron between 1650 and 1700.
-
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window HRAF is an acronym for Human Relations Area Files. HRAF is a consortium of educational, research and cultural organizations, and government agencies; its mission is to encourage and facilitate the study of human culture, society, and behavior. This mission is accomplished mainly through the compilation, indexing, and distribution of a collection of ethnographic and other texts that are indexed by culture and subject. (eHRAF stands for the electronic collections of the HRAF).
-
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window ECCO contains every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. From books and directories, bibles and sheet music, to sermons and pamphlets, ECCO features a variety of materials to provide a critical tool for both faculty research and classroom use.
-
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new window A bibliographic database of more than 32,000 entries, providing a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750, this database is the result of a cooperation between EBSCO Publishing and the John Carter Brown Library. The database is created from "European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750," and is available to LSU free from EBSCO.
-
Fuente Academica This link opens in a new window Fuente Academica is a unique collection of scholarly journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This multi-disciplinary database offers full text content to many academic areas including business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology. Fuente Academica provides full text (including PDF) for more than 200 scholarly Spanish language journals.
-
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window Gale takes literature, history and culture to the next level with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available: Gale Literature Criticism. Imagine centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals..
-
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.
-
Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980, represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.
-
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
-
Latin American Newspapers Series 1 (1805-1922) This link opens in a new window Latin American Newspapers, Series 1, 1805-1922, offer unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures. Together, both series of Latin American Newspapers chronicles the evolution of Latin America over two centuries through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other items.
-
Latin American Newspapers Series 2 (1822-1922) This link opens in a new window Latin American Newspapers, Series 2, 1822-1922, offer unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures. Together, both series of Latin American Newspapers chronicles the evolution of Latin America over two centuries through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other items.
-
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
-
Middle Ages Online This link opens in a new window It is hosted by LSU and represented on the English Department website. It is a unique source for anyone (at any level) interested in the study of civilization from the ancient world through the Reformation.
-
MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window The MLA Directory of Periodicals contains information on over 6,000 journals and book series that fall within the scope of the MLA International Bibliography. This information has been gathered by the MLA staff with the cooperation of MLA bibliographers and the editors represented in the listings. The entries list editorial addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, e-mail addresses, frequency of publication, descriptions of scope, circulation figures, subscription prices and addresses, advertising information, links to online content, peer review, and submission guidelines.
-
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature.
-
Modern Languages Archive This link opens in a new window The Modern Languages Archive is a comprehensive collection of over 40,000 pages of leading academic research published in the areas of French Studies, Hispanic Studies, and Romance Studies.
-
Referencia Latina This link opens in a new window This comprehensive database offers content from a variety of sources including an inclusive collection of images, health reports, and full text for reference books and general interest magazines in a broad array of subject areas. Additionally, the resource covers a full spectrum of Spanish-language scholarship inside and outside academia.
Journals
Links to journals in JSTOR and Project Muse. The Project Muse links will also show lists of eBooks related to specific research areas.
Art & Design Librarian
Marty Miller
She/her/hers