World Languages, Literatures and Cultures: Web Resources

The North American Academy of the Spanish Language focuses on the Spanish spoken in the United States. Site provides links to multiple resources.

Website of nonprofit organization focusing on the Arab world. Includes electronic magazine "Jadaliyya" which has content in both Arabic and English.

Homepage of the National Library of Spain. For English interface, click on "Welcome" at top right of page.

Site maintained by the Instituto Cervantes (Spain) offering materials of interest to teachers and students of Spanish and of Hispanic cultures

Site maintained by Maria Pantelia, Professor of Classics, University of California, Irvine

Organization of higher education institutions in Germany which provides information and financial support for international research and study

Professional virtual library for German language and literature studies

Cultural institute of Germany. Promotes international cultural exchanges and the study of German worldwide.

Site from the University of Texas at Austin. Facilitates access to web-based resources from and about Latin America, arranged by subject.

A portal to resources for the study of Italian literature

Extensive guide to internet resources for study of Chinese language and culture

From the Institute for Medieval Studies, University of Leeds (England). Links to a wide array of resources for medieval and Renaissance studies, arranged by time periods, places, and topics.

Website of the Royal Spanish Academy provides information and links for dictionaries and other resources for the study of the Spanish language

Promotes Italian language and culture worldwide

A digital library of public domain Arabic language content, sponsored by New York University Abu Dhabi. Site also includes links (under "Other Resources") to additional Arabic texts, and to institutions with significant Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies collections.

Digital library from the National Library of Spain includes books, manuscripts, images, and periodicals

Virtual library of Spanish and Latin American literary authors. Includes links to partner databases such as Teatro Clásico Español and Biblioteca Virtual de las Letras Mexicanas.

Searchable full-text database of the text of Dante's Divine Comedy and over 70 commentaries

Includes printed materials, manuscripts, maps, and photos from LSU Libraries Special Collections

Project at Columbia University providing access to multiple works of Dante, including the Divine Comedy, as well as scholarly resources for the study of Dante.

A cooperative digital library of resources from and about the Caribbean region held in archives, libraries, and private collections

Searchable archive of 441 Greek and Roman texts in English translation

Portal for catalogs and digital collections from libraries in Italy

A joint project of the American Academy of Research Historians of Medieval Spain and the University of Central Arkansas. Provides full texts of out-of-print books focusing on the history and culture of Spain and Portugal from the 5th to the 17th century.

Gregory Baker, author, Western Oregon University, gbaker12@mail.wou.edu

Covers history, literature, and culture of the Greco-Roman world. Includes Greek and Latin texts, images of Greek and Roman art and archaeology, and some Arabic resources.

One of the largest collections of Sephardic publications, folklore, songs and other artifacts. Some content is in Ladino.

Provider of downloadable public-domain Greek and Latin grammars, readers, and other textbooks

Portal to printed works from the 15th century to the present digitized in Germany. Includes works in German and other languages.

A listing of manuscript resources that are entirely or partly in German, with brief descriptions

Special Collections in Hill Memorial Library includes rare books, manuscript collections, Louisiana newspapers, maps, and audiovisual materials.

Holdings include archives from the Spanish colonial period in Louisiana

Portal to digital resources from archival collections in Spain

A listing of manuscript resources that are entirely or partly in Spanish, with brief descriptions

A free online course with Professor Paola Tartakoff. Offered through Rutgers University's Jewish Studies Online.

Free online course taught Professor Mark R. Cohen. Offered by Rutgers University's Jewish Studies Online

A free online course about the MLA IB that teaches students now to students how to use it for college research purposes. It provides a certificate for completion of the course.

An open textbook for intermediate and advanced Spanish language students, authored by Dr. Carmela Mattza.

News from the Middle East and the Arab world in English translation, as well as original articles by Al-Monitor staff writers

Portal to digitized periodicals of Spain, 18th to 20th century

Guide to Germany language news resources from the Assocation of College and Research Libraries (American Library Association)

List of Italian language newspapers - some have limited access

Worldwide online newspaper links, arranged by regions and countries

German with other European languages, including English

Spanish language dictionary provided Real Academia Espanola. Site also lists cultural and historical dictionaries.