The Legacies They Built: Honoring Pinkie Gordon Lane, Lutrill & Pearl Payne, and Julian T. White.”: Special Collection Resources
Wyatt Houston Day Collection
- Wyatt Houston Day CollectionThis link will take you to the LSU Catalog. There you will be able to search through the records available in the collection.
T. Harry Williams Center for Oral History
- Civil Rights SeriesThese interviews document the Civil Rights Movement in Baton Rouge and the surrounding parishes. Topics include the experience of African Americans in Baton Rouge during the period of segregation, the Baton Rouge Bus Boycott of 1953, sit-ins in the1960s, Baton Rouge's Biracial Committee, the desegregation of schools and public facilities, voter registration, and the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE) in rural parishes.
Black student leaders at LSU:
Kerry Pourciau, LSU SGA President, 1972
Gumbo 1973
Louisiana Black Newspapers
Louisiana. Constitutional Convention (1867-1868)
Louisiana. Constitutional Convention (1898)
Primary Sources
Located in Hill Memorial Library, LSU Libraries Special Collections holds many unique and original primary source materials in digital and analog formats from the colonial era to the present day. Below are just a few resources that demonstrate the diversity of its materials on the historical African American experience in Louisiana and beyond:
Other Primary Sources:
Hill Memorial Library
- Introduction to Special Collections and ArchivesThis guide offers an introduction to special collections and archives for first-time users of LSU Libraries - Special Collections, located in Hill Memorial Library on LSU's Baton Rouge campus.
The Louisiana Colored Teachers' Journal.
- The Louisiana Colored Teachers' JournalBaton Rouge, Louisiana Colored Teachers' Association, 1928-
The Louisiana Colored Teachers' Association Journal. Volume XI. No. 1. Oct. 1937
Reconstruction in the Cane Fields: From Slavery to Free Labor in Louisiana's Sugar Parishes, 1862-1880
Reconstruction in the Cane Fields by ISBN: 9780807152621Publication Date: 2001-05-01In Reconstruction in the Cane Fields, John C. Rodrigue examines emancipation and the difficult transition from slavery to free labor in one enclave of the South -- the cane sugar region of southern Louisiana. In contrast to the various forms of sharecropping and tenancy that replaced slavery in the cotton South, wage labor dominated the sugar industry. Rodrigue demonstrates that the special geographical and environmental requirements of sugar production in Louisiana shaped the new labor arrangements.
Collections
- Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley CollectionsThe Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections (LLMVC) documents the history and culture of this region. The largest accumulation of materials on Louisiana and the lower Mississippi Valley in existence, LLMVC includes a comprehensive collection of books, periodicals, maps, prints, pamphlets, Louisiana state documents, microfilm of Louisiana newspapers, historical manuscripts and photographs.
University Archives
LSU Board of Supervisors Records
These records are a rich resource of information on the black student experience at LSU and the demand for increased representation and opportunities.
Louisiana Cooperative Extension Service records. Narrative and statistical reports of county agents and home demonstration agents
These records and photographs document rural Louisiana in the early 20th century.
African American poetry
Note: Both Special Collections and the Main Library have significant holdings related to African American poetry. Search the catalog with this subject term: SUBJECT="African Americans --Poetry." or search by individual author to find published works.