Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Researching Historical Pandemics, Epidemics, and Other Diseases in Louisiana

Introduction

Louisiana has faced various pandemics, epidemics, and illnesses throughout history. This guide will offer information about the related materials in LSU Libraries Special Collections and how to best utilize the library's resources.  

For general information on LSU Libraries Special Collections, please see the LibGuide listed below.

Using Key Terms

Each page of this guide will contain a brief listing of recommended key terms for browsing the library's online catalog. To use these in a search, follow one of the three steps below.

  1. Begin a new catalog search and type the terms into the "Find these words" field.
  2. If using the advanced search, these terms will be placed next to a drop down option listing "All Fields".
  3. If beginning a new search from within an earlier search results, type the key terms into the search bar at the top of the page with "All Fields" selected. 

Using Subject Headings

Each page of this guide will hold a brief listing of recommended key subject headings for browsing the library's online catalog. To use these in a search, follow one of the three steps below.

  1. Begin a new catalog search and type the terms into the "Find these words" field and select "Subject" in the Field drop down menu.
  2. If using the advanced search, these terms will be entered next to a drop down option listing "All Fields". Change the drop down menu to "Subject".
  3. If beginning a new search from within an earlier search results, type the key terms into the search bar at the top of the page with "Subject" selected from the drop down menu. 

These subject terms will not be an exhaustive list but will represent most common options for each topic. The subject terms are organized to be as specific as possible relating to each topic. Adjustments to specificity can be done so by adjusting or dropping the final phrase. For example, "Yellow fever -- Louisiana -- New Orleans." may be adjusted to "Yellow fever -- Louisiana." to see the entire state or "Yellow fever -- Louisiana -- Shreveport." to see materials only relating to that region. 

A full listing of top level subject terms is available through the Library of Congress:

Using Key Collections

On each tab you will also find a listing of key collections related to that topic and organized by material type. The listings will not be providing the full listings as we are always seeking to expand our collections. If you have materials you wish to donate to LSU Special Collections please see the information listed below:

Additional Resources

In addition to the resources specifically listed on each page, you may wish to review our manuscript subject guides and online finding aids. Each of these will have their own separate search functions to look for key terms within their descriptions.

For available online resources you may choose to browse the Louisiana Digital Library. A link to the LDL and subject guides are listed below. Please note that these collections may not all be part of LSU Special Collections and may require contacting other institutions for further information.

Additional information on diseases may be located at other nearby institutions. Please see the following pages for contact information for these sites.

Suggesting Additional Diseases

If you wish to suggest an additional disease to be covered, or have a question about a particular disease covered by this LibGuide, please let us know through the Ask Special Collections link on our homepage or by following this link: https://askus.lib.lsu.edu/special.

Provide Website Feedback
Accessibility Statement