Identifying Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles
What is a Peer-Reviewed Article?
A peer-reviewed article is one that is written by an expert in a specific field and has been evaluated by other experts in the field and found to meet certain standards for quality. Also known as scholarly, academic, or refereed articles, peer-reviewed articles are published in journals that are designed to be read by other experts in the field. As a result, the language is subject-specific.
How Do I Know if the Article I've Found is Peer-Reviewed?
Peer-reviewed journal articles usually have the following elements:
- Written by an expert in that subject area. Check the credentials of the author.
- Contain a literature review to engage with previous research within the field.
- Contain a list of references either in footnotes or a bibliography.
Scholarly Resources
- DiscoveryDiscovery searches multiple databases including most, if not all of the EBSCO databases and our library catalog. A great thing about Discovery is that not only is it user friendly, it also uses filters on the left hand side to help you focus and narrow in on your topic.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, this database is the leading source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a not-for-profit organization and a shared digital library archive of critical scholarly journal literature. Louisiana State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s): Arts & Sciences Collections I-XV, Ireland Archive Collection, Life Sciences Collection, University of California Press Collection, University of Chicago Press Collection, Business IV Collection, Lives of Literature Collection, and the Sustainability Collection.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThe MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature.
- Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels This link opens in a new windowUnderground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels is the first ever scholarly, primary-source database focused on adult comic books and graphic novels. Here are the works of artists both celebrated and overlooked, alongside interviews, criticism, and journal articles that document the continual growth and evolution of this artform.
Contemporary Comic Book Superhero by Call Number: PN6725 .N33 2009
Demanding Respect by Call Number: eBook
Faster than a Speeding Bullet by Call Number: PN6710 .W45 2003
From Comic Strips to Graphic Novels by Call Number: PN6710 .F75 2013
Graphic Novels by Call Number: PN6710 .P338 2007
Graphic Novels by Call Number: PN6710 .G738 2005
Icons of the American Comic Book by Call Number: eBook
Of Comics and Men by Call Number: PN6725 .G3313 2010
Power of Comics by Call Number: PN6710 .D86 2009
The Superhero Book by Call Number: P96 .H46 S87 2004
Superman and Philosophy by Call Number: eBook
The Ten-Cent Plague by Call Number: PN6725 .H33 2008
Understanding Comics by Call Number: PN6710 .M335 1994
