ARTH 7742 Contemporary African Art: Databases & Journals
Sources for journal articles
This is a brief listing of relevant databases and journal titles that are currently available to LSU students. Be sure that you are logged on to MyLSU in order to access the cotents.
Not all of the articles will be available online in full text format. However, you still may order articles via Interlibrary Loan, which will be delivered to you via email. Here is the link to the Interlibrary Loan Services page: https://www.lib.lsu.edu/services/ill
To search several databases and the catalog at once, click this link: Discovery
Databases
- Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window Featuring full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from an array of publications, this database is a robust resource for art students and art historians. Covers a variety of topics from fine, decorative and commercial art to photography, folk art, film and architecture.
- Artstor This link opens in a new window *Artstor is now available in its new home on JSTOR! When you search JSTOR, you will find Artstor’s 2+ million licensed images and more than 1,700 additional primary source collections alongside JSTOR’s collections.* Artstor collections feature an unparalleled range of images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. Artstor facilitates research and education in numerous disciplines, including art and visual studies, architecture, religion, anthropology and archaeology, global studies, fashion and costume, classics, world history, and more.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions. It contains over 600,000 entries surveying over 2,500 American and international journals, including many that are peer reviewed. Publications from professional associations and regional periodicals are also included.
- Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window Welcome to Cambridge Journals Online (CJO), providing full text for over one hundred journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window HRAF is an acronym for Human Relations Area Files. HRAF is a consortium of educational, research and cultural organizations, and government agencies; its mission is to encourage and facilitate the study of human culture, society, and behavior. This mission is accomplished mainly through the compilation, indexing, and distribution of a collection of ethnographic and other texts that are indexed by culture and subject. (eHRAF stands for the electronic collections of the HRAF).
- International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new window International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and covers the time period from 2008 - present. For the years, 1975-2007, see BHA. Authoritative coverage of international scholarship is provided for European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. Visual arts in all media are also covered: painting, sculpture, drawing, video, installations, new media, decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, folk art and material culture, classical studies, antiques, architectural history.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization and a shared digital library archive of critical scholarly journal literature. Louisiana State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s): Arts & Sciences Collections I-XV, Ireland Archive Collection, Life Sciences Collection, University of California Press Collection, University of Chicago Press Collection, Business IV Collection, Lives of Literature Collection, and the Sustainability Collection.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window Project MUSE is your trusted source for the highest quality books and journals in the humanities and social sciences from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies.
Journals
This a list of scholarly journals that you may find useful. Some of these titles are available for a limited time only.
Art and Design Librarian
Marty Miller
She/her/hers