Animal Sciences: Reference Sources
Agriculture Librarian
Additional Help
- Citation HelpA research guide created by LSU Libraries that covers the importance of academic integrity and the basics of citing sources in different styles.
Reference Sources
- National Agricultural Statistics ServiceThe National Agricultural Statistics Service provides timely, accurate, and useful statistics in service to U.S. agriculture.
- USDA Animal Health ResourcesStatistics and information on animal diseases; animal well-being and stress management; veterinary biologics; animal health research; and bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE)
- USDA Animal Production ResourcesStatistics and information on range and grassland management; beef, dairy, poultry and pork resources; alternative livestock; and animal production research and reports.
- USDA Economic Research ServiceWebsite full of useful resources such as meat price spreadsheets, USDA Ag Census Web Maps, and more.
- Wildlife Data Integration NetworkWDIN is a collaborative project working to develop a Web-based monitoring and reporting system to provide state and federal resource managers, animal disease specialists, veterinary diagnostic laboratories, physicians, public health workers, educators, and the general public with access to data on wildlife diseases, mortality events, and other critical related information.
- World Animal Health Information Database (WAHID)The WAHID Interface provides access to all data held within OIE's new World Animal Health Information System.
- Zoology Encyclopediasearch in the LSU Libraries catalog for zoology encyclopedias
- Biology Dictionariessearch in the LSU Libraries Catalog for biology dictionaries
- Animal Terminologysearch in the LSU Libraries catalog for books on animal terminology
- Invasive Species CompendiumThe Invasive Species Compendium (ISC) is an encyclopaedic resource that brings together a wide range of different types of science-based information to support decision-making in invasive species management worldwide.
Taxonomy is the describing, identifying, classifying, and naming of organisms. Knowing the taxonomic name for an organism you are interested in will aid you in searching databases for articles. Use the sources below to locate taxonomic names as well as citations to publications which describe, identify, classify, or name an organism. Many encyclopedias also include taxonomic names in entries about specific organisms
- Animal Diversity WebAnimal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan.
- ITIS: Integrated Taxonomic Information SystemHere you will find authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world. We are a partnership of U.S., Canadian, and Mexican agencies (ITIS-North America); other organizations; and taxonomic specialists. ITIS is also a partner of Species 2000 and the Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF). The ITIS and Species 2000 Catalogue of Life (CoL) partnership is proud to provide the taxonomic backbone to the Encyclopedia of Life (EOL).
- National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Taxonomy BrowserContains the names and phylogenetic lineages of more than 160,000 organisms that have molecular data in the NCBI databases. New taxa are added to the Taxonomy database as data are deposited for them.
Agricultural Support Librarian
Having Trouble Getting Access?
In order to access the LSU Libraries' resources, please make sure that you are logged into your myLSU. Failure to do so may result in you being unable to access our information.
Steps for Logging into the Libraries' website using your myLSU
1. Log into your myLSU
2. Scroll down and look on the left-hand side for the words, "Library Resources"
3. Select, "LSU Libraries Home Page"
Once you have clicked that link, you should be logged into all of the libraries resources.
For difficulties using any of our resources, please contact the Research Help Desk.