Books
Visual Literacy : How to Read and Use Information in Graphic Form |Marcia Weaver
Reading the visual : an introduction to teaching multimodal literacy |Frank Serafini
Visual methodologies : an introduction to the interpretation of visual materials |Gillian Rose
Photo provocations: thinking in, with, and photographs |Brian Clark O' Connor
Teaching multiliteracies across the curriculum |Len Unsworth
Visual literacy for libraries : a practical, standards-based guide | Nicole E. Brown
Literacy engagement through peritextual analysis | Shelbie Witte
Data Bases
Moving Image Archive: Internet Archive | This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts.
ARTstor | The Artstor Digital Library features an unparalleled range of images from some of the worlds leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. Artstor facilitates research and education in numerous disciplines, including art and visual studies, architecture, religion, anthropology and archaeology, global studies, fashion and costume, classics, world history, and more.
Government Resources
Digital Collections- Library of Congress | Over 5 million items from the Library of Congress. Guidelines for citing and reproducing images are also included.
Images : U.S. National Archives | Selected images from the National Archives and Records Administration
U.S. Presidential Libraries | 14 presidential libraries with links to corresponding digital archives
Digital Library - Smithsonian Libraries | A selection of book illustrations, photos, drawings, and other images from across the Libraries.