Plant, Environmental, and Soil Sciences: Reference Resources
Research Guide for Plant, Environment, and Soil Sciences. This is a great starting place when researching.
Agriculture Librarian
Randa Lopez Morgan
She/Her
Reference Sources
-
environment ethicselectronic book search the catalog on environment ethics.
-
Soil science -- Encyclopediaselectronic book search in the catalog for soil science encyclopedias
-
Environmental Science handbookelectronic book search in the catalog for Environmental Science handbooks
-
Ecological Systems handbookelectronic book search in the catalog for Ecological Systems handbooks
-
Environment handbookelectronic book catalog search for Environment handbooks
-
crop handbooksebook catalog search for crop handbooks
-
plant handbooksebook catalog search for plant handbooks
-
The Twelve Soil Orders- Soil TaxonomyAt the highest level, Soil Taxonomy places soils in one of 12 categories known as orders.
Web Resources
-
BBC News- Science and EnvironmentGet the latest BBC Science and Environment News: breaking news, analysis and debate on science and nature in the UK and around the world.
-
The New York Times- SoilNews about soil, including commentary and archival articles published in The New York Times.
-
Scientific American - Earth and the EnvironmentFind the latest environmental news including alternative energy technologies, atmospheric sciences and biodiversity.
-
Crops, Plants, and More: Learn About Farming!A suggestion from Rachel in the Environmental Club.
Thanks, Rachel!
-
Biodiversity Heritage LibraryThe Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.
-
CAIT Climate Data ExplorerCAIT is one of the most trusted sources of climate data available. It is a free and open source for comprehensive and comparable climate and emissions data.
-
SSSA Glossary of Soil Science TermsThis Glossary of Soil Science Terms was an ad hoc committee of the Soil Science of America to provide a single glossary of terms for the various disciplines of soil science.
Agricultural Support Librarian
Additional Help
-
Citation HelpA research guide created by LSU Libraries that covers the importance of academic integrity and the basics of citing sources in different styles.
Having Trouble Getting Access?
In order to access the LSU Libraries' resources, please make sure that you are logged into your myLSU. Failure to do so may result in you being unable to access our information.
Steps for Logging into the Libraries' website using your myLSU
1. Log into your myLSU
2. Scroll down and look on the left-hand side for the words, "Library Resources"
3. Select, "LSU Libraries Home Page"
Once you have clicked that link, you should be logged into all of the libraries resources.
For difficulties using any of our resources, please contact the Research Help Desk.