It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Landscape and Urban Planning by Klaus-Jürgen Evert (Editor)
This unique, multilingual, encyclopedic dictionary in two volumes covers terms regularly used in landscape and urban planning, as well as environmental protection. The languages are American and British English, Spanish (with many Latin-American equivalents), French, and German. The encyclopedia also provides various interpretations of the terms at the planning, legal or technical level, which make its meaning more precise and its usage clearer.
A Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture by James Stevens Curl
Publication Date: NA31 .C864 2006
Containing over 6,000 entries from Aalto to ziggurat, this authoritative dictionary of architecture covers all periods of Western architectural history, from ancient times to the present day. Beautifully illustrated and written in a clear and concise style, it also includes brief biographies of leading architects, from Brunelleschi and Imhotep to Le Corbusier and Richard Rogers. The text is complimented by over 250 beautiful and meticulous line drawings, labeled cross-sections and diagrams. These include precise drawings of typical building features, making it easy for readers to identify particular period styles. The first edition of the Dictionary of Architecture received excellent reviews. Now it has been fully revised and expanded, bringing it completely up-to-date. New entries include definitions of landscape terms and biographies of modern architects. Each entry is followed by a mini-bibliography, with suggestions for further reading. It also contains over 50 new illustrations. This is an essential work of reference for anyone with an interest in architecture. With clear descriptions providing in-depth analysis, the second edition of A Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture is invaluable for students and professional architects, and provides a fascinating wealth of information for the general reader.
Dictionary of Landscape Architecture and Construction by Alan Christensen
Call Number: SB469.25 .C48 2005
In an industry that involves the skills, expertise, and labor of a wide-range of professionals and workers, good communications become crucial, and a common vocabulary is key to successful projects. Many of the terms used in landscape architecture, land planning, environmental planning, and landscape construction are unavailable, or so new, or industry-specific that they can't be found in conventional dictionaries.This unique resource delivers definitions as well as how-to information via details and photos, going above and beyond the scope of a typical professional dictionary. With straightforward definitions and clear illustrations on each page, everyone from architects, designers, and contractors through grounds maintenance workers will benefit from this important resource. In addition, an appendix with labeled construction details will illustrate not just what a term means, but also how it's applied in the profession.
Lexicon of Garden and Landscape Architecture by Meto J. Vroom
Call Number: SB469.25 .V76 2006
This lexicon serves to clarify important terms and expressions that designers use on a daily basis. More than that, it also constitutes a general introduction to the major themes of landscape design.
Visualizing Landscape Architecture by Elke Mertens
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
"We don't sell gardens; we sell images of gardens." This observation on the part of a landscape architect makes it clear just how important it is that a design be effectively communicated to the clients and the public. The book describes the methods and forms of visual representation in contemporary landscape architecture.
Grading with Design in Mind by Bruce G. Sharky
Call Number: TH380 .S53 2015
A complete guide to site grading for designers and other visual learners Grading With Design in Mind: Landscape Site Grading Principles is a comprehensive guide to grading, written specifically from the design perspective. Heavily illustrated and non-technical, this book meets the needs of designers and visual learners by presenting the principles and methods of site grading with less emphasis on engineering, and a strong focus on the effect on the overall aesthetic. Written by a professor in America's number-one ranked undergraduate landscape architecture program, the book guides readers step-by-step through the process of solving various grading problems in real-life scenarios. Landscape designers, landscape architects, and engineers need to have a deep understanding of site grading as the foundation of any project. Grading plans must not only solve practical requirements, but also create landforms that contribute to the aesthetic ambition of the overall site and architectural design concept. Grading With Design in Mind takes a highly visual approach to presenting modern grading techniques and considerations, providing designers the guidance they need to become competent in site grading while understanding the design implications of the subject. Features include: Numerous illustrations to support the text Step-by-step examples Professional grading plans Studying the professional grading plans helps readers better understand the real-world application of grading principles in different situations. Site grading is a complicated topic with plenty of on-site variables, but Grading with Design in Mind breaks it down into clear, concise instruction with value to both professionals and students in the field of landscape design.
Landscape Estimating Methods by Sylvia Hollman Fee
Call Number: SB472.565 .F44 2002
Professional Methods for Estimating and Bidding Landscaping Projects and Grounds Maintenance Contracts.
Landscape Architectural Graphic Standards by Leonard J. Hopper (Editor)
Call Number: SB472 .H57 2007
<i>Landscape Architectural Graphic Standards</i> is an entirely new, definitive reference work for everyone involved with landscape architecture, design, and construction. Based on the 70–year success of Architectural Graphic Standards, this new book is destined to become the "bible" for the landscape field. Edited by an educator and former president of the American Society of Landscape Architects, it provides immediate access to rules–of–thumb and standards used throughout the planning, design, construction and management of landscapes. <p>View <a href="http://www.wiley.com/WileyCDA/Section/id–292903.html">sample pages from <i>Landscape Architectural Graphic Standards</i>.</p>
Landscape Architectural Research by M. Elen Deming; Simon Swaffield
Call Number: SB469.4 .D46 2011 (On Reserve)
Publication Date: 2011-04-12
A practical, single-source guide tosuccessful strategies for landscape architecture research As the scope of landscape architecture expands to engage with other disciplines, and streams of information directing this field continue to grow and diversify, it becomes increasingly important for landscape architects to be able to implement a range of effective research strategies when seeking, creating, and validating knowledge. Landscape Architecture Research offers a framework for advancing better design thinking solutions by supplying readers with a system of inquiry tactics that open up a wider range of research possibilities. With a logical and innovative approach that favors legitimacy of knowledge based on collective, grounded practices, rather than strict adherence to protocols drawn only from scientific models, this comprehensive, illustrated guide produces a sound argument for establishing a new paradigm for legitimizing research quality. Landscape Architecture Research presents: Case studies that show how the range of presented research strategies have been successfully used in practice New perspective on the relationship between theory, research, practice, and critique, a relationship that is specific to landscape architecture Detailed coverage of the ways that new knowledge is produced through research activities and practical innovations in landscape architecture The first and only book on this topic of growing importance in landscape architecture, Landscape Architecture Research keeps professionals and students in step with the latest developments in landscape architecture, and delivers a dynamic and flexible game plan for verifying the integrity of their work.
Teaching Landscape by Karsten Jorgensen (Editor); Nilgul Karadeniz (Editor); Elke Mertens (Editor); Richard Stiles (Editor)
Call Number: SB469.4 .T43 2020
Teaching Landscape: The Studio Experience gathers a range of expert contributions from across the world to collect best-practice examples of teaching landscape architecture studios. This is the companion volume to The Routledge Handbook of Teaching Landscapein the two-part set initiated by the European Council of Landscape Architecture Schools (ECLAS). Design and planning studio as a form of teaching lies at the core of landscape architecture education. They can simulate a professional situation and promote the development of creative solutions based on gaining an understanding of a specific project site or planning area; address existing challenges in urban and rural landscapes; and often involve interaction with real stakeholders, such as municipality representatives, residents or activist groups. In this way, studio-based planning and design teaching brings students closer to everyday practice, helping to prepare them to create real-world, problem-solving designs. This book provides fully illustrated examples of studios from over twenty different schools of landscape architecture worldwide. With over 250 full colour images, it is an essential resource for instructors and academics across the landscape discipline, for the continuously evolving process of discussing and generating improved teaching modes in landscape architecture.