Geology & Geophysics: Reference Sources

Resources for library research on goelogy-related topics

She/her

Email Me

Contact:

Office: 225-578-6380

Subjects: Biological & Agricultural Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Computer Science, Construction Management, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Engineering, Engineering Standards, Geology & Geophysics, Industrial Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Petroleum Engineering

Subject-specific dictionaries are useful for those working on cross-displinary projects and students new to a discipline.

Glossary of Geology by Klaus K.E. Neuendorf
Publication Date: 2011
AGI is proud to feature this Fifth REVISED edition of the Glossary of Geology. This indispensable reference tool contains nearly 40,000 entries, including 3,600 new terms and nearly 13,000 entries with revised definitions from the previous edition.
The Encyclopedia of the Solid Earth Sciences by Philip Kearey (Editor)
Publication Date: 2009-07-17
From AMETHYST to ARTESIAN SPRING, from COAL GAS to CONTINENTAL DRIFT, from SEISMOGRAM to STROMATOLITE, the Encylopedia of the Solid Earth Sciences provides a comprehensive modern reference text for all the subdisciplines of the Earth Sciences. The Encyclopedia is primarily intended for professional earth scientists and those specializing in related subjects. However, it will also provide an important reference for students of the Earth Sciences and those needing information on terms in current usage. The book contains three main styles of entry: articles up to 1500 words on major topics such as plate tectonics, standard entries of up to a couple of hundred words on topics such as groups of minerals,and brief definitions of, for instance, individual minerals.
A Dictionary of Earth Sciences by Michael Allaby (Editor)
Publication Date: 2008-04-07
This leading dictionary--now in its third edition--offers wide-ranging and authoritative coverage of the earth sciences and related topics. In more than 6,250 clear and accessible entries, it covers geology, oceanography, paleontology, mineralogy, volcanology, and planetary science as well as climatology, geochemistry, and petrology.
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Earth Science
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Derived from the content of the respected "McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, " Sixth Edition, each title provides thousands of definitions of words and phrases encountered in a specific discipline. All include: * Pronunciation guide for every term * Acronyms, cross-references, and abbreviations * Appendices with conversion tables; listings of scientific, technical, and mathematical notation; tables of relevant data; and more * A convenient, quick-find format

Specialized encyclopedias provide a wealth of information, such as basic, background information on a topic, bibliographies of articles, books, and other materials on a topic, and images, sounds, and graphics to add interest to your presentations and posters.

Encyclopedia of Remote Sensing by Eni G. Njoku (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014-02-25
Remote sensing has revolutionized the scientific study of the Earth by enabling measurements of more detailed and hitherto unexplored phenomena with spatially-extensive and global perspectives. Various disciplines and industries have benefited from the dramatic discoveries enabled by remote sensing.
Encyclopedia of Scientific Dating Methods by Larry Heaman (Other Adaptation by); Josep M. Pares (Editorial Board Member); Peter W. Reiners (Editorial Board Member); Ross Stevenson (Editorial Board Member); John F. Wehmiller (Editorial Board Member); W. Jack Rink (Editor); Jeroen W. Thompson (Editor); A. J. Timothy Jull (Other Adaptation by); James B. Paces (Other Adaptation by); Robert A. Creaser (Editorial Board Member); Don Davis (Editorial Board Member); Geoff Duller (Editorial Board Member); John Gosse (Editorial Board Member); Simon Ho (Editorial Board Member); James K. W. Lee (Editorial Board Member)
Publication Date: 2015-06-26
This volume provides an overview of (1) the physical and chemical foundations of dating methods and (2) the applications of dating methods in the geological sciences, biology, and archaeology, in almost 200 articles from over 200 international authors.

Handbooks provide standard information, including tables of data, citations to literature, and brief synopses of topics.

Geoscience Handbook - AGI Data Sheets (4th Edition) by Walker, J. Douglas; Cohen, Harvey A.
Publication Date: 2009
One of the best-kept secrets in geology is this handy compilation of geological information. The essential reference for geoscientists in the field, office, or lab, this book provides quick reference for the key metrics and concepts, as well as short tutorials on subjects that may not be familiar to all geoscientists.

Additional Help

Information Literacy Tutorials
Citation Help
A research guide created by LSU Libraries that covers the importance of academic integrity and the basics of citing sources in different styles.

Having Trouble Getting Access?

In order to access the LSU Libraries' resources, please make sure that you are logged into your myLSU. Failure to do so may result in you being unable to access our information.

Steps for Logging into the Libraries' website using your myLSU

1. Log into your myLSU

2. Scroll down and look on the left-hand side for the words, "Library Resources"

3. Select, "LSU Libraries Home Page"

Once you have clicked that link, you should be logged into all of the libraries resources.

For difficulties using any of our resources, please contact the Research Help Desk.