Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Web Resources on French Studies
The web resources listed are freely available. Use these web resources to explore the wealth of information on all aspects of French Studies available from organizations and cultural institutions.
Online portal to French and Francophone periodicals
A Haitian international newspaper, based in Port-au-Prince.
Founded in 1908, Le Mauricien is a newspaper based in Mauritius.
Overview and links to available formats for historical Louisiana newspapers. Links include a list of French-language newspapers (see under "Microfilm Indexes")
Base de données lexicographiques panfrancophone
Database of French vocabularies of multiple Francophone countries and regions worldwide (including Louisiana)
Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec
Homepage of National Library and Archives of Quebec. Includes links to digital resources.
A public library in Aix-en-Provence with a municipal archives and a hertiage library collection.
Bibliothèque nationale de France
Homepage of the National Library of France
BNF Reference Data
Gateway to reference information about authors, works, and topics pulled from the National Library of France's catalogs and the Gallica digital library
A service of the French Embassy to facilitate study in France by U.S. students
Online version of an exhibition focusing on the Francophone culture of 19th-century New Orleans, held at LSU Libraries Special Collections in 2001
French site devoted to literary theory and history, including news on recent publications
French government portal to information on French culture, travel, commerce, and more
Site developed by Doris Kadish at the University of Georgia. Provides links to resources and texts related to slavery in the Francophone world in the 18th and 19th centuries.
A site of the French Embassy in the United States including news on books, films, and the performing arts, as well as information on studying and teaching in France
Institut de recherche et d'histoire des textes (France)
A unit of France's Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS) devoted to the study of medieval manuscripts and early printed books
KnowLA Encyclopedia of Louisiana
An online reference guide to the history and culture of Louisiana. A project of the Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities.
La Plume Francophone
A blog on contemporary Francophone literature
Medieval Resources Online
From the Institute for Medieval Studies, University of Leeds (England). Links to a wide array of resources for medieval and Renaissance studies, arranged by time periods, places, and topics.
Ressources Internet Francophones
A guide to web resources for French and Francophone studies, maintained at Lehman College, City University of New York
Digital collections from the Royal Library of Belgium include rare books, manuscripts, newspapers, and links to digitized Belgian literary journals. (Go to Collections -- Journaux for the latter)
Digital Collections from LSU Libraries Special Collections
Includes French-language manuscripts such as Armand Duplantier Family Letters, Early Louisiana French Correspondence, and Sidonie de la Houssaye Collection
Digital Library of the Caribbean
A cooperative digital library of resources from and about the Caribbean region held in archives, libraries, and private collections
Digital collections from the National Library of France include books, periodicals, manuscripts, and images
Mélusine / Association pour la Recherche et l'Etude du Surréalisme
Includes some digitized French surrealist journals and other texts, and links to other sites on surrealist writers and artists
Réseau francophone numérique
Portal for digital collections of books, newspapers, journals, and archival materials from multiple Francophone countries, including Belgium and Canada
Site covers French playwrights and plays from 1610 to 1802, including texts of over 700 plays
Amistad Research Center
Located at Tulane University, the Amistad Research Center is a comprehensive independent archive specializing in the history of African Americans and other ethnic minorities. Holdings include materials pertaining to New Orleans and Louisiana Creoles.
Archives nationales (France)
Homepage of the French National Archives
Archives nationales d'outre-mer (France)
Homepage for archives related to French overseas territories (includes French colonial period in Louisiana). For English version of site, click on "Anglais" icon at top right of page.
Center for Louisiana Studies, University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Houses the Archives of Cajun and Creole Folklore (audio and video materials)
French-Language Manuscript Materials in LSU Libraries Special Collections
A listing of manuscript resources that are entirely or partly in French, with brief descriptions
A Guide to French Louisiana Manuscripts
A searchable electronic version of Nancy Miller Surrey’s "Calendar of Manuscripts in Paris Archives and Libraries Relating to the History of the Mississippi Valley to 1803" (Carnegie Institute of Washington, Department of Historical Research, Washington, 1926), plus links to French institutions that hold Louisiana materials, North American institutions holding French Louisiana materials, and related electronic resources.
The Historic New Orleans Collection
Museum and research center with focus on the history and culture of New Orleans and the Gulf South
Institut Mémoires de l'édition contemporaine (France)
IMEC houses records of 20th and 21st century French publishing, including papers of prominent French and Francophone writers.
Louisiana State Museum, Historical Center
Holdings include documents and maps from the French colonial period in Louisiana
LSU Libraries Special Collections
Special Collections in Hill Memorial Library includes rare books, manuscript collections, Louisiana newspapers, maps, and audiovisual materials.
Dictionnaire de l'Académie française
Online access to 9th edition (still in progress), and 8th edition, of the dictionary of the French Academy
Online access to French and French/bilingual dictionaries and other resources from publisher Larousse, including a French verb conjugator. Go to "Dictionnaires bilingues" tab for listing of available bilingual dictionaries.