Finding Dissertations and Theses: Steps
How to find LSU and other university dissertations and theses locally, United States, and worldwide especially for the graduate student using the library catalog, Scholarly Repository, and databases both ProQuest and open access databases and search engi
Steps
LSU Dissertations and Theses
1. Search the LSU Librares Online Catalog in Advanced Search and limit Material Type to Dissertation or Theses. Print copies up to 2002 can be found on the second floor of LSU Library under the call number 378.76 L930D Year Name (dissertations) or 378.76 L930 Year Name (theses).
2. Search the
- LSU Scholarly Repository This link opens in a new windowOnline versions of various theses and dissertations from LSU graduate students. Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to access them.
Part of the LSU Digital Commons, our institutional repository which "collects, preserves, publishes, and makes openly accessible the research and scholarship contributed by LSU faculty, staff, students, and units."
3. Search
- Dissertations & Theses @ Louisiana State University This link opens in a new windowThis database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at your institution.
Dissertations and Theses from LSU and Other Institutions
1. Search
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global This link opens in a new windowInclude LSU theses back to 1916 and dissertations back to 1935.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. - ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I This link opens in a new windowContains citations to 1.2 million dissertations and masters theses. Coverage begins in 1861, with abstracts available since 1980, and thesis abstracts since 1988.
2. Search the following open access databases
- EBSCO Open Dissertations"OpenDissertations.org is a collaboration between EBSCO and BiblioLabs that brings an innovative approach to increasing traffic and discoverability of ETD research.
This new collaboration extends the work started in 2014, when EBSCO and the H.W. Wilson Foundation created American Doctoral Dissertations which contained indexing from the H.W. Wilson print publication, Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities, 1933-1955. In 2015, the H.W. Wilson Foundation agreed to support the expansion of the scope of the American Doctoral Dissertations database to include records for dissertations and theses from 1955 to the present." - Networked Digital Library of Theses and DissertationsSearch the 4,958,320 electronic theses and dissertations contained in the NDLTD archive.
- Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 4,444,117 theses and dissertations.
- PQDT OpenPQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge.
