Mass Communication Librarian
Television News
LSU Libraries Research Databases:
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowAccess World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports This link opens in a new windowThe Foreign Broadcast Information Service is a federal agency that monitors and translates foreign media into English. FBIS Daily Reports are translated transcripts of foreign radio and television broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements. The reports contain political, military, economic, environmental, and sociological news and information.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources. Includes more than 1,200 full-text newspapers and 150 newswires.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowOffers full-text online news, business, legal, legislative, and regulatory information, updated daily.
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new windowThe mission of the Vanderbilt Television News Archive focuses on creating, preserving and providing access to the news broadcasts from the U.S. national television networks. We create recordings of news broadcasts from the U.S. national television networks, preserve the content for future generations, and provide the widest access possible within the copyright limitations.
- 60 Minutes: 1997-2014 This link opens in a new window
The 60 MINUTES: 19972014 collection provides unprecedented access to the CBS News archives, including many episodes not widely seen since their original broadcast.
Online Research Tools:
- AI Television ExplorerAllows users to use state-of-the-art computer vision and natural language AI to visually search a selection of a decade of broadcast television news coverage from the Internet Archive's Television News Archive analyzed by Google's Cloud Video API and Cloud Natural Language API, using the TV AI API 2.0. Options allow users to construct their search or switch to a different dataset like online news or traditional keyword captioning search.
- AP ArchiveCollection of international TV news footage from Associated Press Television News. Includes UPITN & WTN news footage (1963-1998), APTV news footage (1994-1998), and Universal Newsreels (1929-1967).
Coverage: 1929 - present
Free access with registration. - Chyron BrowserView a visual dashboard summary of the chyron text overlays of BBC, CNN, MSNBC and Fox News for the specified date, based on a special research-grade reprocessing of the Internet Archive's Television News Archive "Third Eye" chyron dataset. You can also download the data directly. Displays work best in Google Chrome.
- Chyron ExplorerCreate a visual dashboard that summarizes broadcast television news chyrons matching your search using data from the Internet Archive's Television News Archive's "Third Eye" OCR stream. Select the dataset to search, the kind of dashboard you want, the specific displays to include in your dashboard and the search to run.
- Television ExplorerCreate a visual dashboard that summarizes broadcast television news coverage of your search using data from the Internet Archive's Television News Archive, powered by the TV 2.0 API. Select the dataset to search, the kind of dashboard you want, the specific displays to include in your dashboard and the search to run.
Radio News
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowAccess World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports This link opens in a new windowThe Foreign Broadcast Information Service is a federal agency that monitors and translates foreign media into English. FBIS Daily Reports are translated transcripts of foreign radio and television broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements. The reports contain political, military, economic, environmental, and sociological news and information.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources. Includes more than 1,200 full-text newspapers and 150 newswires.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowOffers full-text online news, business, legal, legislative, and regulatory information, updated daily.