Research Guides: HIST 2126: Modern European Cities: Databases

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, this database is the leading source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window Online access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series, with access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content. Coverage includes American and British history, general history, music, religious studies, theater and performing arts, and more.
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window Iter's bibliography includes art, art history, foreign languages and literatures, and literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts, and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization and a shared digital library archive of critical scholarly journal literature. Louisiana State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s): Arts & Sciences Collections I-XV, Ireland Archive Collection, Life Sciences Collection, University of California Press Collection, University of Chicago Press Collection, Business IV Collection, Lives of Literature Collection, and the Sustainability Collection.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window Project MUSE is your trusted source for the highest quality books and journals in the humanities and social sciences from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies.

HathiTrust Digital Library HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Access World News This link opens in a new window Access World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.
CABI Digital Library This link opens in a new window Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window HRAF is an acronym for Human Relations Area Files. HRAF is a consortium of educational, research and cultural organizations, and government agencies; its mission is to encourage and facilitate the study of human culture, society, and behavior. This mission is accomplished mainly through the compilation, indexing, and distribution of a collection of ethnographic and other texts that are indexed by culture and subject. (eHRAF stands for the electronic collections of the HRAF).
Eighteenth Century Journals This link opens in a new window Bringing together rare journals printed between c.1685 and 1835, this resource illuminates all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics covered are wide-ranging and include colonial life, provincial and rural affairs, the French and American revolutions, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and London coffee house gossip and discussion.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window Digital curated historical artifacts from over 500 years of world history, curated by Gale and partnering libraries from around the world.
Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window A thematic and iconographic index of early Christian and Medieval art objects. Besides iconographic descriptions of works of art, the database includes bibliographic records, and information such as style, school, location, and more.
Statista This link opens in a new window Statista offers over 1.5 million statistics and facts on more than 60,000 topics drawn from over 18,000 different sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases. The data is aggregated by a dedicated team of researchers and statisticians who are experts in the 20 market and industry sectors covered. For each data set, extensive source information is provided as well as several download formats for direct integration into various end products.
The Times Digital Archive 1785-2014 This link opens in a new window The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of the Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage, with every page of every issue from 1785 to 2014. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context.

Web Sources

Centre for Cities Database for information on cities in the United Kingdome
EdMaps.com A cartographic project aiming to put the world on the map for a better understanding of the reality. News, stories, historical facts, geopolitical challenges, cultural issues... All on the maps!
European Climate Assessment & Dataset
European Climate Data Explorer The European Climate Data Explorer (ECDE) provides interactive access to a growing selection of climate indices reflecting the priorities of the European Environment Agency (EEA). The underlying data is from the Climate Data store (CDS) of the Copernicus climate change service (C3S).
Eurostat Resource for statistics involving members of the European Union (EU). Note: as of 2020, the United Kingdom is no longer a part of the the EU.
Family Search: Understanding Occupations in German Research
Major Ghettos in Occupied Europe
Office for National Statistics-United Kingdom
Old Maps Online Our mission is to give old maps a new life in the online world via the OldMapsOnline search catalog that allows visitors to explore and discover the beauty of historical maps depicting a past geographical place of their interest. OldMapsOnline developed out of a love of the history and heritage of old maps. The project began as a collaboration between Klokan Technologies GmbH, Switzerland and The University of Portsmouth, UK thanks to funding from JISC and MapTiler.com.
The Perry-Castañeda Library (PCL) Map Collection The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection (PCLMC), comprising more than 350,000 items representing all areas of the world, provides comprehensive cartographic resources to serve constituents both within and beyond the university’s walls. The PCLMC consists of the physical collection and an online collection of scanned maps. The Perry-Castañeda Library (PCL) Map Room (PCL 1.306) houses the physical maps, the majority of which can be checked out. Since 1995, the PCLMC has digitized 70,000 maps from the print collection and has also forged partnerships with local and national archives to create a more comprehensive online map collection. The online PCL Map Collection is among the most visited of the university, averaging 10,000 hits a day, and highlights items with connections to current events or of particular historical relevance.
UK climate maps and data The Met Office holds the nation's weather and climate records. You can find summaries, climate figures and much more for the UK here...
UK Statistics Authority The UK Statistics Authority is an independent body at arm’s length from government. We have a statutory objective of promoting and safeguarding the production and publication of official statistics that ‘serve the public good’. The public good includes: informing the public about social and economic matters assisting in the development and evaluation of public policy regulating quality and publicly challenging the misuse of statistics
United Nations World Population Prospects
Wikipedia: List of Largest European Cities in History
Wikipedia Category: Infrastructure in Europe by Country
Wikipedia Category: Natural Disasters in Europe

Note: Please be cautious when using Wikipedia links. Make sure to dig into the references listed on the pages you visit and trace back where the author of the Wikipedia article is getting their information and ensure it is from a credible source

Library Search Strategies

Half of research is knowing how to find it! The following are subject headings related to your topic. You can use the suggested terms below for subject searches in sources like the catalog and Discovery. This is not an inclusive list, but rather some examples of the standardized language used by scholars!

Bruges (Belgium)--Commerce--History

Religion--Social Aspects--Rome

Cities and Towns--Europe--History

Food Habits--Italy--History

Berlin (Germany)--Politics and Government

Sarajevo (Bosnia and Herzegovina)--Social Life and Customs

Urban Geography

Civilization, Modern--History

Narrowing Searches to Date Published/Subject Time Period:

Filters for date published are typically toward the top left of a search results page
To search for something on a particular time period, add that as a subject search term (e.g. 19th century)

Google Search Strategies

You may have to be strategic about how you search for certain data. For example, searching for simply class structure of x city will probably not get you too far. You might want to get more specific (e.g. unemployment rate x-city 1950 or income demographics x-city 2017). Likewise, you might want to search for x city timeline or history of x city rather than major events in x city (which will probably give you a nice current city calendar, but not probably what you're looking for)! Remember to evaluate your sources for credibility!

HIST 2126: Modern European Cities: Databases

Databases

Web Sources

Library Search Strategies

Google Search Strategies

Provide Website Feedback Accessibility Statement

Provide Website Feedback
Accessibility Statement