Research Guides: Women's & Gender Studies Newsletter: New & Trial Databases

New Databases

Coming very soon: Made possible through the Louisiana Library Network, we will soon have access to EBSCO's 50-series American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection. See below for the flyer of what this will include (of note, Women’s Periodicals of the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century & Religious Periodicals for Women, Children, and Families), and feel free to contact me with any questions about this!

AAS Historical Periodicals

We now also have access to Kanopy, which allows us to purchase extensive rights to films, including Gen Silent: Discrimination Against LGBT Seniors (2012), Miss Representation (2011), and Screaming Queens: The Riot at Compton's Cafeteria (2005). Look through what's available through Kanopy and let me know of any films you'd like to see purchased!

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy offers one of the most unique and compelling collections of film on the planet. Our films range from documentaries, indie and foreign films, must-see classics and blockbuster movies. Our sophisticated discovery engine encourages our users to challenge themselves to watch films outside of their comfort area.
LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. The collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.

Trial Databases

We are currently on a trial for several databases. Please try these out and contact me with your feedback! I would love to look into purchasing these if you find them useful. Also, please let me know if you need an extension on any of these trials.

These trials are available through 2-28-2018:

Associated Press Collections Online
Associated Press Collections Online gives insight into major events, people and trends from the mid-1800s through the twentieth century from the Associated Press Corporate Archive. Collections may include: original wire copy, personal papers, AP style books, internal publications, and more. Hundreds of videos from the AP Archive and thousands of striking images from AP Images archive add depth to the original reporting and stories behind the news from this venerable news agency.
Picture Post Historical Archive, 1938-1957
Associated Press Collections Online gives insight into major events, people and trends from the mid-1800s through the twentieth century from the Associated Press Corporate Archive. Collections may include: original wire copy, personal papers, AP style books, internal publications, and more. Hundreds of videos from the AP Archive and thousands of striking images from AP Images archive add depth to the original reporting and stories behind the news from this venerable news agency.

The following trial is available through 3-9-2018:

Nineteenth Century Collections Online
A ground-breaking resource for 19th century studies, NCCO is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focused on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. Collections for this program are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.

Women's & Gender Studies Newsletter

New Databases

Trial Databases

Provide Website Feedback Accessibility Statement

Provide Website Feedback
Accessibility Statement