Librarian
Geography
- Geographical Information Systems by This book explores the how-to of the most promising recurrent technologies and trends in GIS, such as Semantic GIS, Web GIS, Mobile GIS, NoSQL Geographic Databases, Cloud GIS, Spatial Data Warehousing-OLAP, and Open GIS. The text discusses and emphasizes the methodological aspects of such technologies and their applications in GIS.Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9781466596955Publication Date: 2014-05-16
- Geographical Information Systems and Spatial Optimization by This book deals with the basic concepts of GIS and optimization. It provides an overview of various integration protocols that are termed GIS-O integration strategies applied to practical applications. It also develops an integration approach for the vehicle routing problem with resource and distance requirements and approves it with numerical results.Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9781466577480Publication Date: 2012-11-28
- Geographic Information Systems (GIS) for Disaster Management by Geographic Information Systems (GIS) for Disaster Management guides readers through the basics of GIS as it applies to disaster management practice. The book illustrates how GIS technology can help disaster management professionals, public policy makers, and decision-makers at the town, county, state, federal, and international levels.Call Number: HV551.2 .T647 2015ISBN: 9781482211689Publication Date: 2014-12-19
- GIS Algorithms by Geographic information systems (GIS) have become increasingly important in helping us understand complex;social, economic, and natural dynamics where spatial components play a key role. Using Python code throughout, Xiao breaks the subject down into three fundamental areas: Geometric Algorithms Spatial Indexing Spatial Analysis and Modelling.Call Number: G70.212 .X53 2016ISBN: 9781446274323Publication Date: 2016-01-05
- GIS Cartography: a Guide to Effective Map Design by The second edition explores novel concepts that kick-start your pursuit of map-making excellence. The book doesn't just teach you how to design and create maps, it teaches you how to design and create better maps.Call Number: GA105.3 .P47 2015ISBN: 9781482220674Publication Date: 2014-05-23
- GIS Technology Applications in Environmental and Earth Sciences by The author explains with many case studies, programs, maps, graphics, and 3D models how GIS and other related technologies can be used to automate mapping processes, collect, process, edit, store, manage, and share datasets, statistically analyze data, model, and visualize large datasets to understand patterns, trends, and relationships to make educated decisions.Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9781498776059Publication Date: 2016-09-22
- Quantitative Methods and Socio-Economic Applications in GIS, Second Edition by The book details applications of quantitative methods in social science, planning, and public policy with a focus on spatial perspectives. It integrates GIS and quantitative (computational) methods and demonstrates them in various policy-relevant socio-economic applications with step-by-step instructions and datasets.Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 1466584734Publication Date: 2014-12-19
- Understanding GIS: an ArcGIS Project Workbook by The author explains methods and tools needed to apply GIS analysis to a spatial problem by finding the best location for a new park along the Los Angeles River in Southern California. Through this process, readers develop critical-thinking and problem-solving skills and learn to use ArcGIS® 10.1 for Desktop software from Esri®.Call Number: G70.212 .H358 2013ISBN: 1589483464Publication Date: 2013-07-03
- Google Earth, Outreach and Activism by Launched in 2005, Google Earth is a virtual globe, map and geographical information program, mapping the Earth by the superimposition of images obtained from satellite imagery and aerial photography. By addressing the sociopolitical issues at stake in society's use of social websites, the author provides the first ever extended close reading of Google Earth as a powerful player in the communication realm of social media.Call Number: G70.212 .S86 2015ISBN: 9781441139795Publication Date: 2015-02-26
- Landmarks in Mapping: 50 Years of the Cartographic Journal by Founded by the British Cartographic Society (BCS) and first published in June 1964. The Cartographic Journal was the first general distribution English language journal in cartography.Call Number: GA105.3 .L36 2014ISBN: 9781909662384Publication Date: 2014-06-30
- Maphead: Charting the Wide, Weird World of Geography Wonks by Maphead recounts his lifelong love affair with geography and explores why maps have always been so fascinating to him and to fellow enthusiasts everywhere. Jennings takes readers on a world tour of geogeeks from the London Map Fair to the bowels of the Library of Congress, from the prepubescent geniuses at the National Geographic Bee to the computer programmers at Google Earth. Each chapter delves into a different aspect of map culture: highpointing, geocaching, road atlas rallying, even the "unreal estate" charted on the maps of fiction and fantasy.Call Number: GA105.3 .J46 2011ISBN: 9781439167175Publication Date: 2011-09-20
- The World of Maps: Map Reading and Interpretation for the 21st Century by This engaging text provides the tools to read, analyze, and use any kind of map and assess its strengths and weaknesses. Requiring no advanced math skills, the book presents basic concepts of symbolization, scale, coordinate systems, and projections. It gives students a deeper understanding of the types of maps they encounter every day, from turn-by-turn driving directions to the TV weather report.Call Number: GA151 .T93 2015ISBN: 9781462516483Publication Date: 2014-09-22
- You Are Here: From the Compass to GPS, the History and Future of How We Find Ourselves by What does it mean to never get lost? You Are Here examines the rise of our technologically aided era of navigational omniscience--or how we came to know exactly where we are at all times. The author provides a sweeping history of the development of location technology in the past century.Call Number: G70.212 .B735 2014ISBN: 9780465032853Publication Date: 2014-04-01
- The Dictionary of Physical Geography by This fully-revised comprehensive fourth edition covers the whole field of physical geography including climate and atmosphere, geomorphology, biogeography, hydrology, oceans, Quaternary, environmental change, soils, remote sensing and GIS. This new edition reflects developments in the discipline during the last decade, with the expert advisory group providing an international perspective on the discipline of physical geography.Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9781118782316Publication Date: 2015-12-28
- Living Physical Geography by Living Physical Geography focuses on human-physical geography interactions, using pedagogical features in the textbook and online to create a modern synthesis of the science of physical geography. Each of the four major parts in Living Physical Geography is identified by energy flows within Earth’s physical systems.Call Number: GB54.5 .G47 2015ISBN: 1464134316Publication Date: 2015-01-15
- Physical Geography: A Landscape Appreciation by The only text to focus thematically on landscape appreciation, this best-seller fosters a solid understanding of Earth and its physical geography. Its clear, user-friendly writing style, superior art program, and abundant pedagogy appeal to a wide variety of students.Call Number: GB54.5 .M39 2004ISBN: 0131001183Publication Date: 2003-02-26
- Remote Sensing of Coastal Environments by The book presents the best available data for measuring and monitoring coastal zones and explains how decision makers and resource managers can use this data to address contemporary issues in coastal zone management. The text illustrates the latest developments in active remote sensing, hyperspectral remote sensing, high spatial resolution remote sensing, the integration of remote sensing and in situ data, and covers the effects of land-cover and land-use change on coastal environments.Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9781420094428Publication Date: 2010-06-08
- Remote Sensing of Impervious Surfaces in Tropical and Subtropical Areas by This book offers a complete and thorough system for using optical and synthetic aperture radar remote sensing data for improving impervious surface estimation. It addresses the challenges impacting impervious surfaces in tropical and subtropical zones.Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9781482254860Publication Date: 2015-09-01
- Remote Sensing of Land Use and Land Cover by This volume offers an international perspective on the science, technologies, applications, and future needs of remote sensing of land cover and land use. It discusses the relationship between land cover and land use and addresses the land-cover classification system. It then presents state-of-the-art methods and techniques in data acquisition, preprocessing, image interpretation, and accuracy assessment for land-use and land-cover characterization and mapping.Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9781420070750Publication Date: 2012-04-20
- Remote Sensing of Protected Lands by The book showcases state-of-the-art remote sensing applications for the inventory and monitoring of protected areas. It gives readers both a systematic view of the field and detailed knowledge of specific topics. It examines advanced remote sensing technologies such as airborne and spaceborne high spatial resolution imageries, multispectral and multitemporal time series data, satellite interferometric synthetic aperture radar , and the integration of remote sensing and field measurements for information extraction and modeling.Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9781439841884Publication Date: 2011-11-17
- Remote Sensing of Wetlands by The book covers the rapidly changing landscape of wetlands and describes the latest advances in remote sensing that have taken place over the past 30 years for use in mapping wetlands. It describes a variety of techniques for mapping and classifying wetlands in a multitude of environments ranging from tropical to arctic wetlands including coral reefs and submerged aquatic vegetation.Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9781482237382Publication Date: 2015-03-23
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowAnnual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 46 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowThe Environment Complete database offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a not-for-profit organization and a shared digital library archive of critical scholarly journal literature. Louisiana State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s): Arts & Sciences Collections I-XV, Ireland Archive Collection, Life Sciences Collection, University of California Press Collection, University of Chicago Press Collection, Business IV Collection, Lives of Literature Collection, and the Sustainability Collection.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE is your trusted source for the highest quality books and journals in the humanities and social sciences from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect, published by Elsevier Science, serves as a web information source for scientific, technical, and medical (STM) research. It offers access to thousands of journals in many fields of science, including the social sciences.
PLEASE NOTE: Excessive printing and downloading, even through available functionality on ScienceDirect, is not permitted under our license and will result in loss of access and possible disciplinary action. - Web of Science This link opens in a new windowAccess the worlds leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. LSU Libraries Core Collection includes: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present); Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present); and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowThis database provides the full text of articles from a variety of scholarly scientific journals.