Engineering: Journals

2002-current (1 year embargo). Nature Reviews Drug Discovery covers all aspects of drug discovery, from chemistry to disease mechanisms and novel therapeutic approaches.

1998-current. Nature Biotechnology provides a first source for finding reports on the increasing number of important developments in the international industrial biotechnology industries

2006-current. Nature Nanotechnology covers research into the design, characterization and production of structures, devices and systems that involve the manipulation and control of materials and phenomena at atomic, molecular and macromolecular scales

1989-current. Advanced Materials has been publishing the latest progress in materials science for over 25 years. Read carefully selected, top-quality reviews, progress reports, communications, and research news at the cutting edge of the chemistry and physics of functional materials.

2007-current. ACS Nano publishes research articles, reviews, perspectives, conversations, and discussions on the chemistry, physics, biology, materials science and engineering of nanoscience and nanotechnology. ACS Nano also publishes on aspects of nanostructures, nanobiotechnology, nanofabrication, and assembly.

2001-current. Nano Letters is a forum for reporting original results on fundamental, applied, and emerging research in all areas of nanoscience and nanotechnology that require rapid dissemination. A chief criterion to fit within the scope of Nano Letters is the convergence of at least two different areas or disciplines.

2012-current. Nano Energy is a multidisciplinary, rapid-publication forum of original peer-reviewed contributions on the science and engineering of nanomaterials and nanodevices used in all forms of energy harvesting, conversion, storage, utilization and policy. Through its mixture of articles, reviews, communications, research news, and information on key developments, Nano Energy provides a comprehensive coverage of this exciting and dynamic field which joins nanoscience and nanotechnology with energy science.

1992-current. Advanced Functional Materials reports breakthrough research in all aspects of materials science, including nanotechnology, chemistry, physics, and biology every week. Advanced Functional Materials is known for its rapid and fair peer review, quality content, and high impact, making it the first choice of the international materials science community

1997-current. Genome Research is an international, continuously published, peer-reviewed journal that publishes studies on the structure, function, biology, and evolution of genomes of all organisms, with a long-standing emphasis on genome-scale analyses, chromatin structure and function, epigenomics, systems genetics, and proteomics.

2008-current. Energy & Environmental Science is an international journal dedicated to publishing exceptionally important and high quality, agenda-setting research tackling the key global and societal challenges of ensuring the provision of energy and protecting our environment for the future.

2020-current. Applications in Energy and Combustion Science publishes short communications, full length original research articles, and review articles that provide a forum for information on research, development, and innovation in areas relevant to applications using combustion and other forms of chemical energy conversion. Applications in Energy and Combustion Science is also concerned with relevant fuels research, unconventional chemical energy conversion systems, aftertreatment, system and life-cycle analysis, and aspects of energy policy.

2003-current. Applied Catalyst B: Environmental publishes research papers, reviews, and letters on topics including catalytic elimination of environmental pollutants; catalytic routes and processes for producing clean energy; new catalysts and electrocatalysts for fuel cells; preparation, characterization, activation, deactivation and regeneration of novel and commercially applicable environmental catalysts; catalytic reactions that convert waste to useful products; replacing toxic chemicals in manufacturing with environmentally friendly catalysts; photocatalytic processes and photocatalysts as applied to environmental problems; and new catalytic non-enzymatic transformations of biomass components.

2003-current. Applied Energy publishes original papers, review articles, technical notes, and letters to the editor that provide a forum for information on innovation, research, development and demonstration in the areas of energy conversion and conservation, the optimal use of energy resources, analysis and optimization of energy processes, mitigation of environmental pollutants, and sustainable energy systems.

2003-current. The Journal of Catalysis publishes original, rigorous, and scholarly contributions in the fields of heterogeneous and homogeneous catalysis including all forms of stimulations of chemical transformations (e.g., photon-, plasmon-, and electron-mediated catalysis).

2003-current. The Chemical Engineering Journal is an international research journal and invites contributions of original and novel fundamental research. The Chemical Engineering Journal focuses upon five aspects of chemical engineering: catalysis, chemical reaction engineering, environmental chemical engineering, green and sustainable science and engineering, and novel materials.

2000-current. Separation & Purification Reviews provides comprehensive summaries and interdisciplinary viewpoints of significant developments in all areas of separation and purification, including innovative methods, apparatus, theories, and applications. The journal presents reviews that cover a large amount of scientific/technical information in a concise and organized manner on topics such as adsorption, centrifugation, chromatography, crystallization, distillation, extraction, filtration, ion exchange, membrane separations of solid, liquid or gaseous materials.

2003-current. The Journal of Membrane Science provides a focal point for academic and industrial chemists, chemical engineers, materials scientists, and membranologists working on membrane systems. The journal publishes original research and reviews on membrane transport, membrane formation/structure, fouling, module/process design, and processes/applications.

2013-current. ACS Sustainable Chemistry & Engineering invites letters, articles, features, and perspectives (reviews) that address challenges of sustainability in the chemical enterprise and advance principles of Green Chemistry and Green Engineering.

2010-current. The Annual Review of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering aims to provide a perspective on the broad field of chemical (and related) engineering. It addresses advances in applied chemistry and biology, with a focus on concepts, old and new materials, and/or processes. The journal draws from disciplines as diverse as biology, physics, and engineering, with development of chemical products and processes as the unifying theme.

2003-current. The mission of the journal is to publish high quality work from experimental, theoretical, and computational investigations on the fundamentals of combustion phenomena and closely allied matters.

2003-current. The Journal of Hazardous Materials is an international forum that advances world class research by publishing full-length research papers, review articles, and perspectives that improve our understanding of the hazards and risks that certain materials pose to public health and the environment.

1997-current. Computer-Aided Civil and Infrastructure Engineering acts as a bridge between advances being made in microcomputer technology and civil engineering and aims to encourage the incorporation of microcomputers into civil engineering practice and instruction.

2003-current. Energy and Buildings is an international journal publishing articles with explicit links to energy use in buildings. The aim is to present new research results, and new proven practice aimed at reducing the energy needs of a building and improving indoor environment quality.

2003-current. Engineering Structures provides a forum for a broad blend of scientific and technical papers to reflect the evolving needs of the structural engineering and structural mechanics communities. The Engineering Structures encompasses, but is not restricted to, the following areas: infrastructure engineering; earthquake engineering; structural dynamics; structure-fluid-soil interaction; wind engineering; fire engineering; blast engineering; structural reliability/stability; life assessment/integrity; structural health monitoring; multi-hazard engineering; structural optimization; digital design methods; data-driven analysis methods; experimental methods; additive manufacturing and modular construction of engineering structures; performance-based design; multiscale analysis; and value engineering.

2003-current. Transportation Research: Part B publishes papers on all methodological aspects of the subject, particularly those that require mathematical analysis. The general theme of the journal is the development and solution of problems that are adequately motivated to deal with important aspects of the design and/or analysis of transportation systems.

2000-current. The IEEE Transactions on Intelligent Transportation Systems is concerned with the design, analysis, and control of information technology as it is applied to transportation systems. The Transactions is focused on the numerous technical aspects of ITS technologies spanned by the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE).

1976-current. The Journal of Water Resources Planning and Management reports on multidisciplinary and emerging issues in the field of water resources planning and management. Journal publications include research and practical applications that examine engineering, social, economic, environmental, cultural, recreational, and/or administrative aspects of the use, distribution, regulation, reuse, and conservation of water in natural and built environments.

2003-current. Journal of Hydrology publishes original research papers and comprehensive reviews in all the subfields of the hydrological sciences, including water based management and policy issues that impact on economics and society. These comprise, but are not limited to the physical, chemical, biogeochemical, stochastic and systems aspects of surface and groundwater hydrology, hydrometeorology, hydrogeology and hydrogeophysics.

2003-current. Coastal Engineering is an international medium for coastal engineers and scientists. Combining practical applications with modern technological and scientific approaches, such as mathematical and numerical modelling, laboratory and field observations and experiments, it publishes fundamental studies as well as case studies on the following aspects of coastal, harbour and offshore engineering: waves, currents and sediment transport; coastal, estuarine and offshore morphology; technical and functional design of coastal and harbour structures; morphological and environmental impact of coastal, harbour and offshore structures.

2003-current. Construction and Building Materials is an international journal that publishes detailed and original case studies and some incisive review articles that contribute new understandings on developments in the field of construction and building materials and their application in new works and repair practice. The scope of Construction and Building Materials includes, but is not restricted to, materials, NDT and monitoring aspects of new works and repair and maintenance.

2003-current. Automation in Construction is an international journal for the publication of original research papers. The journal publishes refereed material on all aspects pertaining to the use of Information Technologies in Design, Engineering, Construction Technologies, and Maintenance and Management of Constructed Facilities.

2003-current. This journal is designed to reflect current developments and advances being made in the general field of cement-concrete composites technology and in the production, use, and performance of cement-based construction materials. In addition to novel aspects of conventional concrete materials, the journal covers a wide range of composite materials such as fiber-reinforced cement composites, polymer cement composites, polymer impregnated composites, ferrocement, and cement composites containing special aggregate inclusions or waste materials.

2003-current. The aim of Cement and Concrete Research is to publish the best research on the materials science and engineering of cement, cement composites, mortars, concrete and other allied materials that incorporate cement or other mineral binders. The journal focuses on reporting major results of research on the properties and performance of cementitious materials; novel experimental techniques; the latest analytical and modelling methods; the examination and the diagnosis of real cement and concrete structures; and the potential for improved materials.

1995-current. Journal advances the science of structural design. Topics include design, erection and safety of structures ranging from bridges to transmission towers and tall buildings.

1968-current. Materials and Structures, the flagship publication of the International Union of Laboratories and Experts in Construction Materials, Systems and Structures (RILEM), provides a unique international and interdisciplinary forum for new research findings on the performance of construction materials. The journal is dedicated to the publication of high quality papers examining the fundamental properties of building materials, their characterization and processing techniques, modeling, standardization of test methods, and the application of research results in building and civil engineering.

1994-current. The Journal Structural Control and Health Monitoring encompasses all theoretical and technological aspects of structural control, structural health monitoring theory and smart materials and structures. The journal focuses on aerospace, civil, infrastructure and mechanical engineering applications.

1995-current. Papers published in IEEE Journal of Selected Topics in Quantum Electronics fall within the broad field of science and technology of quantum electronics of a device, subsystem, or system-oriented nature. Each issue is devoted to a specific topic within this broad spectrum. Manuscripts are published that report original theoretical and/or experimental research results that advance the scientific and technological base of quantum electronics devices, systems, or applications.

2007-current. IEEE Industrial Electronics Magazine (IEM) publishes peer-reviewed articles that present emerging trends and practices in industrial electronics product research and development, key insights, and tutorial surveys in the field of interest to the membership of the IEEE Industrial Electronics Society.

1979-current. EEE Communications Magazine provides timely information on all aspects of (electrical/electronic) communications. The magazine covers services (telecommunications, multimedia, Internet and digital), network (including its softwarization, as well as underlying infrastructure) and device technology, support systems, transversal topics like artificial intelligence applied to telecommunications, market trends, strategy and regulatory issues. Articles are tutorial in nature and written in a style comprehensible to readers outside the specialty of the article.

1991-current. IEEE Signal Processing Magazine publishes tutorial-style articles on signal processing research and applications, as well as columns and forums on issues of interest. Its coverage ranges from fundamental principles to practical implementation, reflecting the multidimensional facets of interests and concerns of the community. Its mission is to bring up-to-date, emerging and active technical developments, issues, and events to the research, educational, and professional communities.

1963-current. Proceedings of the IEEE is the leading journal to provide in-depth review, survey, and tutorial coverage of the technical developments in electronics, electrical and computer engineering, and computer science.

2002-current. IEEE Wireless Communications is designed for individuals working in the communications and networking communities. It covers technical and policy issues relating to personalized, location-independent communications in all media (and combinations of media), and at all protocol layers. Both wired and wireless communications are covered as well as computing, the mobility of people, communicating devices, and personal services.

1979-current. The IEEE Transactions on Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence publishes articles on all traditional areas of computer vision and image understanding, all traditional areas of pattern analysis and recognition, and selected areas of machine intelligence, with a particular emphasis on machine learning for pattern analysis.

1983-current. Each issue of the IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications (JSAC) is devoted to a specific technical topic and thus provides to JSAC readers a collection of up-to-date papers on that topic. The technical topics covered by JSAC issues span the entire field of communications and networking.

1993-current. The IEEE Transactions on Fuzzy Systems publishes high quality technical papers in the theory, design, and application of fuzzy systems. Emphasis is given to engineering systems and scientific applications. The Transactions also contains a letters section which includes information of current interest, and comments and rebuttals submitted in connection with published papers.

2014-current. EEE Internet of Things (IoT) Journal publishes articles on the latest advances, as well as review articles, on the various aspects of IoT. Topics include IoT system architecture, IoT enabling technologies, IoT communication and networking protocols such as network coding, and IoT services and applications.

2003-current. Water Research publishes refereed, original research papers on all aspects of the science and technology of the anthropogenic water cycle, water quality, and its management worldwide.

1967-current. ES&T is an impactful environmental science and technology research journal that aims to be transformational and direction-setting, publishing rigorous and robust papers for a multidisciplinary and diverse audience of scientists, policy makers and the broad environmental community. The journal advances rigorous scholarship on complex environmental phenomena, particularly with respect to fate, transport, and transformation in natural and engineered systems, while simultaneously facilitating the solution of critical environmental problems.

2003-current. The Journal of Cleaner Production is an international, transdisciplinary journal focusing on Cleaner Production, Environmental, and Sustainability research and practice. Through our published articles, we aim at helping societies become more sustainable. The Journal of Cleaner Production serves as a platform for addressing and discussing theoretical and practical cleaner production, encompassing environmental, and sustainability issues in corporations, governments, education institutions, regions, and societies.

2014-current. Published as soon as accepted and summarized in monthly issues, Environmental Science & Technology Letters is an international forum for brief communications on experimental or theoretical results of exceptional timeliness in all aspects of environmental science (pure and applied), and short reviews on emerging environmental science & technology topics.

2003-current. Environmental Modelling & Software publishes contributions, in the form of research articles, reviews, introductory overviews, and position papers on advances in the area of environmental modelling and software. Our aim is to improve our capacity to represent, understand, predict or manage the behaviour of natural environmental systems, including air, water, and land components, at all practical scales, and to communicate those improvements to a wide scientific and professional audience.

1991-current. Indoor Air provides a location for reporting original research results in the broad area defined by the indoor environment of non-industrial buildings. An international journal with multidisciplinary content, Indoor Air publishes papers reflecting the broad categories of interest in this field: health effects, thermal comfort, monitoring and modelling, source characterization, ventilation and other environmental control techniques.

1997-current. The Journal of Industrial Ecology publishes sustainability and circular economy research which considers the relationship between the environment and the socio-economic system. The journal focuses on the understanding of the environmental impacts and drivers of the stocks and flows of material, energy and other resources in production and consumption activities.

2005-current. The IEEE Transactions on Industrial Informatics is a multidisciplinary journal publishing technical papers that bridge the gap between theory and application practice of informatics in industrial environments. Its scope encompasses the use of information in intelligent, distributed, agile industrial automation and control systems.

1984-current. The Journal of Product Innovation Management is an interdisciplinary, international journal that seeks to advance our theoretical and managerial knowledge of innovation management and product development. The journal publishes original articles on organizations of all sizes and from the consumer, business-to-business, and policy domains.

2003-current. The International Journal of Production Economics focuses on topics treating the interface between engineering and management. All aspects of the subject in relation to manufacturing and process industries, as well as production in general are covered. The journal is interdisciplinary in nature.

2003-current. This interdisciplinary journal encompasses all facets of technological innovation. Innovation is considered from both the perspectives of process and product, social innovations (regulation and policy as well as creation of non-economic benefit), conceptualization of a new technology-based product or process through commercial utilization.

2003-current. Reliability Engineering and System Safety is an international journal devoted to the development and application of methods for the enhancement of the safety and reliability of complex technological systems, like nuclear power plants, chemical plants, hazardous waste facilities, space systems, offshore and maritime systems, transportation systems, constructed infrastructure and manufacturing plants. The journal contains original research papers, review articles, industrial case studies, safety recommendations, and short communications.

2003-current. The Journal of Materials Processing Technology covers the processing techniques used in manufacturing components from metals and other materials. The journal aims to publish full research papers of original, significant and rigorous work and so to contribute to increased production efficiency and improved component performance.

2004-current. Journal of Manufacturing Technology Management (JMTM) gives a broad international coverage of subjects relating to the management of manufacturing technology. Emphasis is placed on the publication of articles which seek to link advances in theory with practical application with the objective of identifying improved practices for manufacturing.

2003-current. The Journal of Manufacturing Systems publishes state-of-the-art fundamental and applied research in manufacturing at systems level. Manufacturing systems are comprised of products, equipment, people, information, control and support functions for the economical and competitive development, production, delivery and total lifecycle of products to satisfy market and societal needs.

2003-current. Industrial engineering is one of the earliest fields to utilize computers in research, education, and practice. It publishes original contributions on the development of new computerized methodologies for solving industrial engineering problems, as well as the applications of those methodologies to problems of interest in the broad industrial engineering and associated communities.

2003-current. Operations research and computers interact in many scientific fields of vital importance to our society. These include, among others, transportation, economics, investment strategy, inventory control, logistics, safety, reliability, urban planning, and ecology. Computers & Operations Research provides an international forum for the application of computers and operations research techniques to problems in these and related fields.

2003-current. The purpose of the journal is to report original research on all aspects of plastic deformation, damage and fracture behaviour of isotropic as well as anisotropic solids, including the thermodynamics of plasticity and fracture, continuum theory, and macroscopic as well as microscopic phenomena. The journal will contain research papers, review articles, research notes, letters to the editor, and academic advertisements.

1996-current. The IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics publishes high quality technical papers on technological advances in mechatronics. A primary purpose of the journal is to have an archival publication which encompasses both theory and practice. Papers published in the journal disclose significant new knowledge needed to implement intelligent mechatronics systems, from analysis and design through simulation and hardware and software implementation. The Transactions contains letters dedicated to rapid publication of short correspondence items concerning new research results.

2003-current. The International Journal of Machine Tools and Manufacture is devoted to advances in scientific understanding of essential mechanics of processes and machines applied to the manufacture of engineering components, mainly in metals, but also in composites, ceramics and other structural/functional materials.

2009-current. International Journal of Precision Engineering and Manufacturing (IJPEM) aims to disseminate relevant fundamental and applied research works of high quality to the international community through efficient and rapid publication. IJPEM covers original and novel research contributions in all aspects of precision engineering and manufacturing.

2014-current. IJPEM - Green Technology aims to disseminate relevant developments and applied research works of high quality to the international community through efficient and rapid publication. IJPEM - Green Technology covers novel research contributions in all aspects of "Green" precision engineering and manufacturing. The contents of the journal are classified into three parts: regular paper, short communication, and review.

1959-current. The Journal of Manufacturing Science and Engineering disseminates original, theoretical, and applied research results of permanent interest in all branches of manufacturing including emerging areas. Research Papers are peer-reviewed full-length articles of considerable depth. The Journal also publishes technical briefs, design innovation papers, reviews, discussions of published papers with rebuttal, book reviews, and editorials.

1990-current. Nonlinear Dynamics provides a forum for the rapid publication of original research in the field. The journal’s scope encompasses all nonlinear dynamic phenomena associated with mechanical, structural, civil, aeronautical, ocean, electrical, and control systems.

1992-current. Journal of Thermal Science publishes high-quality articles on experimental, numerical and theoretical investigations related to the development, advancement, and improved understanding of energy, power and environment sciences. The journal includes review articles, technical notes, short communications and discussions on previously published papers.

1996-current. SPE Journal covers novel theories and emerging concepts (not including review articles or multi-part articles) spanning all aspects of engineering for oil and gas exploration and production, including drilling and completions, geomechanics, production and facilities, oilfield chemistry, CO2 sequestration and injection, reservoir evaluation and engineering, numerical simulation, data analytics, economics and externalities including health, safety, environment, and sustainability.

2008-current. Petroleum Exploration and Development aims to contribute to the scientific and technological development of petroleum exploration and production and to promote the innovative ability of scholars and workers. The journal publishes, in both Chinese and English, original papers on all aspects of petroleum sciences, including petroleum geology, geophysics, geochemistry, exploration and development of oil and gas fields, reservoir engineering, reservoir protection and stimulation, oil storage and transportation, oil and gas chemistry, petroleum machinery, petroleum business administration, and history of the petroleum industry.

2003-current. The Journal of Petroleum Science and Engineering covers the fields of petroleum (and natural gas) exploration, production and flow in its broadest possible sense. The journal aims to publish articles with a particular focus on energy transition and achieving net-zero emission targets.

1998-current. SPE Reservoir Evaluation and Engineering covers the application of a wide range of topics, including reservoir characterization, geology and geophysics, core analysis, well logging, well testing, reservoir management, enhanced oil recovery, fluid mechanics, performance prediction, reservoir simulation, digital energy, uncertainty/risk assessment, information management, resource and reserve evaluation, portfolio/asset management, project valuation, and petroleum economics.

2021-current. Petroleum Science is a peer-reviewed English journal owned by China University of Petroleum-Beijing. Petroleum Science publishes the latest and most significant advances in fundamental theoretical and applied research of the petroleum and petrochemical fields.

1962-current. The Journal of Canadian Petroleum Technology focuses on heavy oil and oil-sands technology, thermal recovery techniques, unconventional gas supplies, optimization techniques, increasing recovery from older basins, and other technologies designed for the production challenges of Canada. Most of these technologies have worldwide applications as well.

1974-current. OGST - Revue d'IFP Energies nouvelles is a journal concerning all disciplines and fields relevant to exploration, production, refining, petrochemicals, and the use and economics of petroleum, natural gas, and other sources of energy, in particular alternative energies in view of the energy transition.

2003-current. Oil Shale is concerned with geology, mining, genesis, composition, methods of processing & combustion, economics & utilization of oil shale & bituminous sands, as well as with problems of environment protection.

1960-current. Petrophysics contains original contributions on theoretical and applied aspects of formation evaluation, including both open hole and cased hole well logging, core analysis and formation testing.

1986-current. SPE Production & Operations covers production operations, artificial lift, downhole equipment, formation damage control, multiphase flow, workovers, stimulation, facility design and operations, water treatment, project management, construction methods and equipment, and related PFC systems and emerging technologies. In addition, subsurface renewable energy and carbon dioxide transport, injection, and storage are included.