Psychology

From atavistic to folie a deux, from engram to Weltschmerz and Seashore test, this edition of The Concise Dictionary of Psychology contains more than 1,300 references to words, phrases and eminent pioneers in psychology. Updated to take account of recent developments, each definition is clear, instructive and concise. A lean and efficient source of information, written in a straightforward and readable manner, this book will be an indispensable reference tool for students of psychology, for professionals and for people in the health and caring professions.

This encyclopedia serves as a unified, comprehensive reference for professionals involved in the diagnosis, evaluation, and rehabilitation of adult patients and children with neuropsychological disorders. It addresses psychological, psychosocial, and psychiatric aspects of an array of neurological disorders, emphasizing treatment and rehabilitation, not just assessment and diagnosis.

Encyclopedia of Critical Psychologynbsp;is a comprehensive reference work and is the first reference work in English that comprehensively looks at psychological topics from critical as well as international points of view. Thus, it will appeal to all committed to a critical approach across the Encyclopedia of Critical Psychology, for alternative analyses of psychological events, processes, and practices. The Encyclopedia of Critical Psychology provides commentary from expert critical psychologists from around the globe who will compose the entries. The Encyclopedia of Critical Psychology will feature approximately 1,000 invited entries, organized in an easy to use A-Z format. The encyclopedia will be compiled under the direction of the editor who has published widely in the field of critical psychology and due to his international involvements is knowledgeable about the status of critical psychology around the world. The expert contributors will summarize current critical-psychological knowledge and discuss significant topics from a global perspective.

This work will survey the entire range of thinking in psychology, from ancient times to the present, encompassing philosophies and theories of mind that pre-date our modern conception of psychology as a science, and extending to the current findings of neuroscience. It will set the theories into their historical context and cross-reference key influences, such as Darwin s on Freud. Fifteen hundred entries will comprise key figures, theoretical concepts, false theories, historical events, and seminal writings. International in scope, this project will involve history of psychology experts from around the world and the coverage of topics will be set in global context. The aim will be to provide a reference work of more depth than discussions that are currently available in textbooks, with the ability to connect to a multitude of relevant topics. This work will provide a picture of psychology as it has emerged into the present time and position it among other related fields such as anthropology, sociology, philosophy, and medicine."

3 volume set. The APA Educational Psychology Handbook reflects the broad nature of the field today, with state-of-the-science reviews of the diverse critical theories driving research and practice; in-depth investigation of the range of individual differences and cultural/contextual factors that affect student achievement, motivation, and beliefs; and close examination of the research driving current assessment, decision making, teaching skills and content, teacher preparation, and the promotion of learning across the life span and with special populations. Volume 1 addresses the definition of educational psychology, some of the most critical theories driving research and practice today, broad areas of research that educational psychology has addressed based on multiple theories and that make an important contribution to the field, and emerging and cutting-edge issues. Volume 2 includes 21 chapters that examine a range of individual differences, cultural factors, and contextual factors affecting student achievement, motivation, and beliefs. Volume 3 focuses on specific applications of research in educational psychology for assessment and decision making, teaching skills and content, promoting learning, and teacher preparation as well as across the life span and with special populations.

3 volume set. The APA Educational Psychology Handbook reflects the broad nature of the field today, with state-of-the-science reviews of the diverse critical theories driving research and practice; in-depth investigation of the range of individual differences and cultural/contextual factors that affect student achievement, motivation, and beliefs; and close examination of the research driving current assessment, decision making, teaching skills and content, teacher preparation, and the promotion of learning across the life span and with special populations. Volume 1 addresses the definition of educational psychology, some of the most critical theories driving research and practice today, broad areas of research that educational psychology has addressed based on multiple theories and that make an important contribution to the field, and emerging and cutting-edge issues. Volume 2 includes 21 chapters that examine a range of individual differences, cultural factors, and contextual factors affecting student achievement, motivation, and beliefs. Volume 3 focuses on specific applications of research in educational psychology for assessment and decision making, teaching skills and content, promoting learning, and teacher preparation as well as across the life span and with special populations.

3 volume set. The APA Educational Psychology Handbook reflects the broad nature of the field today, with state-of-the-science reviews of the diverse critical theories driving research and practice; in-depth investigation of the range of individual differences and cultural/contextual factors that affect student achievement, motivation, and beliefs; and close examination of the research driving current assessment, decision making, teaching skills and content, teacher preparation, and the promotion of learning across the life span and with special populations. Volume 1 addresses the definition of educational psychology, some of the most critical theories driving research and practice today, broad areas of research that educational psychology has addressed based on multiple theories and that make an important contribution to the field, and emerging and cutting-edge issues. Volume 2 includes 21 chapters that examine a range of individual differences, cultural factors, and contextual factors affecting student achievement, motivation, and beliefs. Volume 3 focuses on specific applications of research in educational psychology for assessment and decision making, teaching skills and content, promoting learning, and teacher preparation as well as across the life span and with special populations.

The field of counseling psychology is characterized by long roots in vocational psychology, prevention, primary interventions, advocacy, and an emphasis on individual differences. The field's fundamental philosophical approach has historically emphasized

The field of counseling psychology is characterized by long roots in vocational psychology, prevention, primary interventions, advocacy, and an emphasis on individual differences. The field's fundamental philosophical approach has historically emphasized

Sexuality is a fundamental component of human psychological experience, and yet it remains relatively underrepresented in the history of the psychological sciences. The APA Handbook on Sexuality and Psychology marks a turning point in the status of sexuality within the discipline of psychology. This comprehensive, two-volume handbook provides an overarching review of current empirical research on sexuality and a synthesis of the dominant theoretical perspectives that have guided both research and clinical p

This three-volume handbook is a comprehensive presentation of the theory and application of tests in psychology and education. It begins with an in-depth portrayal of psychometrics: the quantitative underpinning of testing. It then provides thorough, up-to-date and informative chapters related to five general application areas of testing - industrial/organizational psychology, clinical psychology (including health psychology), counseling psychology, school psychology, and educational testing

This three-volume handbook is a comprehensive presentation of the theory and application of tests in psychology and education. It begins with an in-depth portrayal of psychometrics: the quantitative underpinning of testing. It then provides thorough, up-to-date and informative chapters related to five general application areas of testing - industrial/organizational psychology, clinical psychology (including health psychology), counseling psychology, school psychology, and educational testing

This three-volume handbook is a comprehensive presentation of the theory and application of tests in psychology and education. It begins with an in-depth portrayal of psychometrics: the quantitative underpinning of testing. It then provides thorough, up-to-date and informative chapters related to five general application areas of testing - industrial/organizational psychology, clinical psychology (including health psychology), counseling psychology, school psychology, and educational testing

<p><i>The Wiley Handbook of Theoretical and Philosophical Psychology</i> presents a comprehensive exploration of the wide range of methodological approaches utilized in the contemporary field of theoretical and philosophical psychology.<br /> <br /> </p> <ul> <li><i>The Wiley Handbook of Theoretical and Philosophical Psychology</i> presents a comprehensive exploration of the wide range of methodological approaches utilized in the contemporary field of theoretical and philosophical psychology.</li> <li>Gathers together for the first time all the approaches and methods that define scholarly practice in theoretical and philosophical psychology</li> <li>Chapters explore various philosophical and conceptual approaches, historical approaches, narrative approaches to the nature of human conduct, mixed-method studies of psychology and psychological inquiry, and various theoretical bases of contemporary psychotherapeutic practices</li> <li>Features contributions from ten Past Presidents of the Society of Theoretical and Philosophical Psychology, along with several Past Presidents of other relevant societies</li> </ul> <p> </p>

Edited by three of the world's leading authorities on the psychology of technology, this new handbook provides a thoughtful and evidence-driven examination of contemporary technology's impact on society and human behavior. Includes contributions from an international array of experts in the field Features comprehensive coverage of hot button issues in the psychology of technology, such as social networking, Internet addiction and dependency, Internet credibility, multitasking, impression management, and audience reactions to media Reaches beyond the more established study of psychology and the Internet, to include varied analysis of a range of technologies, including video games, smart phones, tablet computing, etc. Provides analysis of the latest research on generational differences, Internet literacy, cyberbullying, sexting, Internet and cell phone dependency, and online risky behavior

This volume provides a thorough and up-to-date synthesis of the expansive and highly influential literature from the last 30 years by bringing together contributions from leading authorities in the field, with emphasis placed on the most commonly investigated drugs of abuse. Emphasises the most commonly investigated drugs of abuse, including alcohol, cocaine, nicotine, and opiates Brings together the work of the leading authorities in all major areas of the field Provides novel coverage of cutting-edge methods for using cognitive neuroscience to advance the treatment of addiction, including real-time neurofeedback and brain stimulation methods Includes new material on emerging themes and future directions in the use of cognitive neuroscience to advance addiction science

<p><i>The Wiley Handbook on the Cognitive Neuroscience of Memory</i> presents a comprehensive overview of the latest, cutting-edge neuroscience research being done relating to the study of human memory and cognition.</p> <p> </p> <ul> <li>Features the analysis of original data using cutting edge methods in cognitive neuroscience research</li> <li>Presents a conceptually accessible discussion of human memory research</li> <li>Includes contributions from authors that represent a "who's who" of human memory neuroscientists from the U.S. and abroad</li> <li>Supplemented with a variety of excellent and accessible diagrams to enhance comprehension</li> </ul> <p> </p>

<p>The all-embracing, two-volume <i>Handbook</i> <i>on the Development of Children s Memory</i> represents the first place in which critical topics in memory development are covered from multiple perspectives, from infancy through adolescence. Forty-four chapters are written by experienced researchers who have influenced the field. </p> <ul> <li>Edited by two of the world s leading experts on the development of memory.</li> <li>Discusses the importance of a developmental perspective on the study of memory</li> <li>The first ever handbook to bring together the world s leading academics in one reference guide </li> <li>Each section has an introduction written by one of the Editors, who have also written an overall introduction that places the work in historical and contemporary contexts in cognitive and developmental psychology</li> </ul>