Head of Research and Instruction Services
Databases
- Artstor This link opens in a new window*Artstor is now available in its new home on JSTOR! When you search JSTOR, you will find Artstor’s 2+ million licensed images and more than 1,700 additional primary source collections alongside JSTOR’s collections.*
Artstor collections feature an unparalleled range of images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. Artstor facilitates research and education in numerous disciplines, including art and visual studies, architecture, religion, anthropology and archaeology, global studies, fashion and costume, classics, world history, and more. - Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete provides full text from 11,200 sources, including more than 1,100 scholarly business journals. This database offers information in virtually every area of business including accounting & tax, banking, finance & insurance, construction, computer science, economics and many more.
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windowHRAF is an acronym for Human Relations Area Files. HRAF is a consortium of educational, research and cultural organizations, and government agencies; its mission is to encourage and facilitate the study of human culture, society, and behavior. This mission is accomplished mainly through the compilation, indexing, and distribution of a collection of ethnographic and other texts that are indexed by culture and subject. (eHRAF stands for the electronic collections of the HRAF).
- PAIS International This link opens in a new windowThis resource covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. PAIS International is the current file covering 1972 to present, and PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE is your trusted source for the highest quality books and journals in the humanities and social sciences from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies.
- Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new windowReligion & Philosophy Collection includes more than 300 full-text journals covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy.
- Asian Studies in VideoAsian Studies draws together a variety of multimedia materials that shed light on contemporary Asia – issues, challenges and stories emanating from India and China to Iran and the Philippines. At its heart is Asian Film Online, a collection of over 600 films, documentaries and shorts set in Asia and created by Asian filmmakers about Asian issues. Relevant in film studies and Asian studies alike, this resource is an indispensible tool for cross-cultural and cross-regional research and study
- Early Chinese Periodicals OnlineThis database of the Heidelberg Research Architecture (HRA) is linked to a collaborative project funded by the Social Science and Humanities Research Council of Canada and the German Humboldt Foundation. The primary objective of the project is to restore complexity to early-twentieth-century Chinese history by liberating that history from its own reductive discourses on the failings of tradition and the promise of modernity.
- Oxford Bibliographies - Chinese StudiesOxford Bibliographies in Chinese Studies is a multi- and inter-disciplinary enterprise covering the study of China across all disciplines.
- Photography of ChinaFounded in 2011, this website offers a collection of photographs - created by both native and non-native artists - which depict a common subject-matter: China.