Oxford African American Studies CenterThis link opens in a new windowThe Oxford African American Studies Center combines the authority of carefully edited reference works with sophisticated technology to create the most comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 10,000 articles by top scholars in the field.
LGBT Life with Full TextThis link opens in a new windowMore than 120 historically significant LGBT journals and newspapers, and more than 150 full-text books.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994This link opens in a new windowThe bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives constitute a rich collection of primary source material on all aspects of American history. Upon completion, the digital version of the Serial Set will consist of approximately 369,000 publications published in 14,500 volumes and over 11 million pages.
ProQuest Congressional PublicationsThis link opens in a new windowDescription: Provides access to Committee Prints & Miscellaneous Publications, Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports, and Congressional Hearings (1824-2003)
New York Times with Index (1851-2018)This link opens in a new windowThis historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-2018) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and MagazinesThis link opens in a new windowllustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines: Important and Rare Periodicals from Confederate, Union, Abolitionist, and British Presses is the definitive online Civil War media resource. The database contains 65,000 pages drawn from 49 periodicals, including 15 campaign newspapers, most of them illustrated3,720 issues published from 1860 to 1865.
HarpWeekThis link opens in a new windowFull-text of Harper's Weekly during the Civil War era (1857-1865) and Reconstruction I (1866-1871).
Vanderbilt Television News ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowSearchable archive of abstracts of news broadcasts from 1968 to present (ABC, CBS, NBC), 1995 to present (CNN), selected content from PBS and FOX News.
• Advertising Periodicals, 1815-1888
• Agricultural Periodicals from the Northeastern U.S., 1789-1879
• Agricultural Periodicals from the Southern, Midwestern, and Western U.S., 1800-1878
• Alternative Faith and Philosophy Periodicals, 1789-1878
• Alternative Medicine and Health Periodicals, 1810-1877
• American Civil War Periodicals, 1855-1868
• American Literary Periodicals, 1782-1834
• American Literary Periodicals, 1835-1858
• American Literary Periodicals, 1859-1891
• American Medicine, Surgery, Dentistry Periodicals, 1786-1877
• American Political and Social Movements, 1815-1884
• American Political Periodicals, 1715-1891
• Baptists, Quakers, and Independent Church Periodicals, 1797-1881
• Business and General Education Periodicals, 1800-1885
• Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1774-1858
• Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1859-1870
• Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1871-1901
• Canadian Periodicals, 1790-1877
• Catholic, Lutheran, Methodist, and Episcopal Periodicals 1797-1904
• College and Student Periodicals, 1806-1877
• Commercial Periodicals from the Southern U.S., 1811-1877
• Congregational, Presbyterian, and Reformed Church Periodicals, 1803-1902
• Cultural Periodicals from the Southern U.S., 1797-1877
• Current Events and History Periodicals, 1691-1912
• Drama, Humor, and Fine Arts Periodicals, 1764-1877
• Emerging American Religions, 1821-1895
• Fireside Companions and Family Literature Periodicals, 1805-1877
• Foreign Language Periodicals in America, 1684-1904
• General Interest Christian Periodicals, 1743-1889
• Hobbies, Socialization, and Sport Periodicals, 1775-1889
• Literary Periodicals of New England, 1789-1878
• Masons, Odd-Fellows and Other Societal Periodicals, 1794-1877
• Military and Law Enforcement Periodicals, 1691-1877
• Missionary and Charity Periodicals, 1793-1902
• Musical Periodicals, 1781-1879.
• Periodicals from Around the World, 1691-1880
• Periodicals of the American West, 1779-1881
• Periodicals of the British Empire and Its Colonies, 1702-1879
• Popular Educational Periodicals, 1758-1889
• Religious Periodicals for Women, Children, and Families, 1804-1878
• Religious Periodicals from the Southern U.S., 1801-1904
• Scientific Periodicals, 1771-1901
• Slavery and Abolition, 1789-1887
• Story Papers, Dimes and Dollar Periodicals, 1828-1877
• Sunday School Periodicals, 1818-1885
• Temperance Periodicals in America, 1826-1877
• Theology and Biblical Studies Periodicals, 1760-1877
• Women’s Periodicals of the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century, 1733-1844
• Women’s Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1845-1865
• Women’s Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1866-1891
Latin American Newspapers, Series 1, 1805-1922, offer unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures. Together, both series of Latin American Newspapers chronicles the evolution of Latin America over two centuries through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other items.
Latin American Newspapers, Series 2, 1822-1922, offer unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures. Together, both series of Latin American Newspapers chronicles the evolution of Latin America over two centuries through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other items.
Fuente Academica is a unique collection of scholarly journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This multi-disciplinary database offers full text content to many academic areas including business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology. Fuente Academica provides full text (including PDF) for more than 200 scholarly Spanish language journals.
A full list of History databases can be found here
Louisiana History Databases
The major Louisiana history databases that are available to users with an LSU ID are listed below. Hover over the "info" icon for a description of each resource.
Search more than 180 years of New Orleans history with The Times-Picayune Collection. Coverage from 1837 through today. Explore current and archived issues of the Times-Picayune with full-color newspaper images and individual articles.
A full list of History databases can be found here
European History Databases
The major European history databases that are available to users with an LSU ID are listed below. Hover over the "info" icon for a description of each resource.
British Library NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowBritish Library Newspapers contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of 19th-century British society.The collection includes Parts I-V and covers the years 1732-1950.
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and RenaissanceThis link opens in a new windowIter's bibliography includes art, art history, foreign languages and literatures, and literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts, and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online (MEMSO)This link opens in a new windowMedieval and Early Modern Sources Online (MEMSO) provides a large and growing resource of essential medieval and early modern Britain and Ireland sources online.
Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000This link opens in a new windowThe Telegraph Historical Archive provides access to an archive of 1 million pages. The paper is considered to be Britain's first "penny newspaper" and became the largest-selling newspaper in the world by 1876.
ECCO contains every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. From books and directories, bibles and sheet music, to sermons and pamphlets, ECCO features a variety of materials to provide a critical tool for both faculty research and classroom use.
A full list of History databases can be found here
World History / General History Databases
The major world history databases that are available to users with an LSU ID are listed below. Hover over the "info" icon for a description of each resource.
Cambridge Histories OnlineThis link opens in a new windowIntroductory scholarly essays on hundreds of topics and geographic areas.
Biography and Genealogy Master IndexThis link opens in a new windowBiography and Genealogy Master Index enables users to locate biographical entries contained in more than 1,000 volumes and editions of important current and retrospective biographical reference sources. This index contains citations that point to over 15 million biographies on nearly 5 million people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor.
Index IslamicusThis link opens in a new windowIndex to publications on Islamic subjects throughout the world, 1906-present.
Bibliography of Asian StudiesThis link opens in a new windowThis is the online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS), referencing principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily ReportsThis link opens in a new windowThe Foreign Broadcast Information Service is a federal agency that monitors and translates foreign media into English. FBIS Daily Reports are translated transcripts of foreign radio and television broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements. The reports contain political, military, economic, environmental, and sociological news and information.
Access World NewsThis link opens in a new windowArticles from the U.S. and more than 150 other countries (1978-current).
Newspaper Source PlusThis link opens in a new windowMore than 400 major and regional newspapers from around the world.
Nexis UniThis link opens in a new windowOffers full-text online news, business, legal, legislative, and regulatory information, updated daily.