Physics & Astronomy: Web Resources

A non-profit organization that disseminates info on transient astronomical events. Their mission is to "promote and safeguard the science of astronomy...through international cooperation." The IAU is the internationally recognized authority for assigning designations to celestial bodies and surface features. The well-known IAU telegrams (IAU Circulars) are now called Central Bureau Electronic Telegrams (CBET's). The printed version is considered the official version. IAUC's between about #2200 (1969) to #8500 (1997) are free. Later telegrams require a subscription to be viewed online.

This annual meeting of astronomers and engineers has occurred since 1990. The NRAO Library ISSTT Proceedings is the first online repository for all 20 years of the conference proceedings. The site contains direct links to the table of contents and to all of the individual papers contained therein.

At its 20 centers and facilities across the country – and the only National Laboratory in space – NASA studies Earth, including its climate, our Sun, and our solar system and beyond. We conduct research, testing, and development to advance aeronautics, including electric propulsion and supersonic flight. We develop and fund space technologies that will enable future exploration and benefit life on Earth.

NIST research generates data to work with industry, academic and government systems to advance innovation and improve the quality of life. A broad spectrum of science and technology data resources are available through a suite of services listed on these pages.

This database replaces the Energy Citation Database. Includes technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, and data information sponsored by the Department of Energy (DOE) through grants, cooperative agreements, or another funding mechanism from the 1940s until today.

PubMed Central (PMC) is a full-text, online archive of journal literature operated by the National Library of Medicine. NASA is using PMC to permanently preserve and provide easy public access to the peer-reviewed papers resulting from NASA-funded research.

Discover science, technology, engineering research and data collections from the US Department of Energy

A part of the HEPDATA databases at University of Durham/RAL, this database is compiled by the Durham Database Group (UK) with help from the COMPAS Group (Russia) for the PDG. Contains numerical values of HEP reaction data such as total and differential cross sections, fragmentation functions, structure functions, and polarization measurements from a wide range of experiments. Updated at regular intervals.

The High Energy Astrophysics Science Archive Research Center (HEASARC) is the primary archive for NASA's (and other space agencies') missions studying electromagnetic radiation from extremely energetic cosmic phenomena ranging from black holes to the Big Bang. Since its merger with the Legacy Archive for Microwave Background Data Analysis (LAMBDA) in 2008, the HEASARC archive contains data obtained by high-energy astronomy missions observing in the extreme-ultraviolet (EUV), X-ray, and gamma-ray bands, as well as data from space missions, balloons, and ground-based facilities that have studied the relic cosmic microwave background (CMB) radiation in the sub-mm, mm and cm bands.

IRSA's holdings consist of data products from NASA's infrared and submillimeter projects and missions, as well as contributed data sets. These holdings include all-sky surveys in 20 bands, over 20 billion rows of catalog data, over 18 million images, and over 100,000 spectra.

Collects, evaluates, and disseminates nuclear physics data for basic nuclear research and applied nuclear technologies.

This unit of the National Institute of Standards and Technology provides measurement services and research for electronic, optical, and radiation technologies. Three sub-pages, on Physical Reference Data, on Constants, Units & Uncertainty, and on Measurements & Calibrations, are extremely useful. Additional links to other physical properties and data of tangential interest to particle physics are also available.

The Review of Particle Physics includes a compilation and evaluation of measurements of the properties of the elementary particles including gauge bosons, Higgs bosons, leptons, quarks, mesons, and baryons. It summarizes searches for hypothetical particles such as heavy neutrinos, supersymmetric and technicolor particles, axions, dark photons, etc.

A series of online databases hosted by NIST containing physical constants, spectroscopy data, X-ray and gamma-ray data, radiation dosimetry data, and other physics data.

The PDS archives and distributes scientific data from NASA planetary missions, astronomical observations, and laboratory measurements. The PDS is sponsored by NASA's Science Mission Directorate.

Includes the complete dataset of BOSS and APOGEE surveys, and also newly includes stellar radial velocity measurements from MARVELS. Each data release includes images, optical spectra, infrared spectra, and catalog data.

The SPDF is a project of the Heliospheric Science Division (HSD) at NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center. SPDF consists of web-based services for survey and high resolution data and trajectories.

The MAST Portal lets you search multiple collections of astronomical datasets all in one place. Use this tool to find astronomical data, publications, and images.
Data sets available:
MAST Observations: Millions of observations from JWST, Hubble, Kepler, GALEX, IUE, FUSE, and more.
Virtual Observatory: Search thousands of astronomical data archives from around the world for images, spectra, and catalogs.
Hubble Source Catalog: A master catalog with a hundred million measurements of objects in Hubble images.
MAST Catalogs: Access to catalog data such as Gaia and TESS Input Catalog, with more coming soon.