Veterinary - Guide to Library Resources

Use the Library Catalog to discover all the resources available through the LSU Libraries on a particular subject, or to find if a specific resource is available and where it is located. The Catalog contains all resource types (books, journals, AV materials, etc.) in all formats (print, electronic, etc.).

  Access the Catalog from the Vet Med Library's homepage.

1. Enter your search terms in the search box, select "Search". Default search type is "all fields". Select the "Field" drop-down menu to change the search type.

2. The number of results will display at the top of the list. At the left of the screen are filter options (publication date, format, type, subject, author, library, and language). Select the filters you wish to use, then select "Include" to the right of the filter heading, and complete the search.

3. The default sort mode of a basic search is relevance. Select the "Sort By" drop-down menu to change the sort mode. To find the most current resources, sort by Publication Date (Descending).

4. Each record displays bibliographic information about the resource. 

• For print materials, the format is Book and the owning library, the call number, and the location of the item is displayed. 

• For electronic materials, the format is Electronic Resources and an access link is provided under "Electronic Access".

5. To view the full catalog record for a more detailed description of the resource, simply click on the resource’s title. 

Use the Publication Finder to access the electronic books, online journals, and videos to which the Vet Med Library subscribes as well as open access online resources.

  Access the Publication Finder from the Vet Med Library's homepage.  

1. While typing your search terms in the search box, a list of auto-suggested titles will normally display from which you can choose, or you can continue to type your search terms and complete the search. The dropdown menus allow you to change the field and/or type of resource to search.

2. The number of results is displayed at the top of the list. To change the sort mode, click the drop down arrow next to Relevancy in the top right corner. At the left side of the screen, results can be filtered by the resource type and/or subjects you wish to include in your results. 

3. The link under Full Text Access will direct you to the resource page. Some resources have multiple access links (i.e. journals with access from multiple sources) so check the years of access for each link.

Databases are key tools for academic research as they provide access to curated collections of reliable, peer-reviewed sources. 

   Access the Databases from the Vet Med Library's homepage. Library links ensure access to articles when they are available through the Library.

The Research Databases guide describes the research databases available to you, explains how to search them, and highlights their valuable features.  

The Clinical Databases guide describes the clinical databases available to you, explains how to search them, and highlights their valuable features.  

The journals in this list include core veterinary medical journals as well as major biomedical and medical journals to which the Vet Med Library subscribes.

  Access the Major Veterinary and Medical Journals from here. 

Interlibrary Loan is a free service for all current LSU faculty, staff, and students to request materials from other library institutions that are not owned by LSU Libraries. Requests are submitted through your Library account.

  Access the request link from the Vet Med Library's homepage under Services / Interlibrary Loan. 

These services are for LSU Vet Med faculty and staff only. 

Request a scan (PDF) of a journal article that the Vet Med Library only has in print.  

  Access the request link from the Vet Med Library's homepage under Services / Document & Book Delivery. 

Request a Vet Med Library print book to be delivered to your departmental mailbox or held for you at the Circulation Desk. 

  Access the request link from the Vet Med Library's homepage under Services / Document & Book Delivery.