ENVS/OCS 1010
This is a course guide for ENVS/OCS 1010. Become acquainted with the library's resources!
Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of the World's Coastal Landforms by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9781280011542Publication Date: 2010-01-01This unique richly-illustrated account of the landforms and geology of the world 's coasts, presented in a country-by-country (state-by-state) sequence, assembles a vast amount of data and images of an endangered and increasingly populated and developed landform. An international panel of 138 coastal experts provides information on what is where on each sector of coast, together with explanations of the landforms, their evolution and the changes taking place on them. As well as providing details on the coastal features of each country (state or county) the compendium can be used to determine the extent of particular features along the world 's coasts and to investigate comparisons and contrasts between various world regions. With more than 1440 color illustrations and photos, it is particularly useful as a source of information prior to researching or just visiting a sector of coast. References are provided to the current literature on coastal evolution and coastline changes.
Encyclopedia of Coastal Science by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9783319938066Publication Date: 2019-06-20This thoroughly revised and expanded edition of the much acclaimed Encyclopedia of Coastal Science edited by M. Schwarz (Springer 2005), presents an interdisciplinary approach that includes biology, ecology, engineering, geology, geomorphology, oceanography, remote sensing, technological advances, and anthropogenic impacts on coasts. Within its covers the Encyclopedia of Coastal Science, 2nd ed. brings together and coordinates many aspects of coastal and related sciences that are widely dispersed in the scientific literature. The broadly interdisciplinary subject matter of this volume features contributions by over 280 well-known international specialists in their respective fields and provides an abundance of figures in full-color with line drawings and photographs, and other illustrations such as satellite images. Not only does this volume offer a large number of new and revised entries, it also includes an illustrated glossary of coastal geomorphology, extensive bibliographic citations, and cross-references. It provides a comprehensive reference work for students, scientific and technical professionals as well as administrators, managers, and informed lay readers.
Encyclopedia of Marine Geosciences by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9789400762381Publication Date: 2016-05-19This Encyclopedia comprises the current knowledge in marine geosciences whereby not only basic but also applied and technical sciences are covered. Through this concept a broad scale of users in the field of marine sciences and techniques is addressed, from students and scholars in academia to engineers and decision makers in industry and politics. Globally growing demand of energy and mineral resources, reliable future projection of climate processes and the protection of coasts to mitigate the threats of disasters and hazards require a comprehensive understanding of the structure, ongoing processes and genesis of the marine geosphere. Beyond the "classical" research fields in marine geology in current time more general concepts have been evolved integrating marine geophysics, hydrography, marine biology, climatology and ecology. As an umbrella the term "marine geosciences" has been broadly accepted for this new complex field of research and the solutions of practical tasks in the marine realm.
The Encyclopedia of Beaches and Coastal Environments by Call Number: GB450.4 .E53 1982ISBN: 0879332131Publication Date: 1984-04-30This book should be of interest to geologists; biologists; environmentalists; ecologists; engineers; lecturers and students in related subjects; libraries.
Encyclopedia of Ocean Engineering by Call Number: Online ResourcePublication Date: 2022This encyclopedia adopts a wider definition for the concept of ocean engineering. Specifically, it includes (1) offshore engineering: fixed and floating offshore oil and gas platforms; pipelines and risers; cables and moorings; buoy technology; foundation engineering; ocean mining; marine and offshore renewable energy; aquaculture engineering; and subsea engineering; (2) naval architecture: ship and special marine vehicle design; intact and damaged stability; technology for energy efficiency and green shipping; ship production technology; decommissioning and recycling; (3) polar and Arctic Engineering: ice mechanics; ice-structure interaction; polar operations; polar design; environmental protection; (4) underwater technologies: AUV/ROV design; AUV/ROV hydrodynamics; maneuvering and control; and underwater-specific communicating and sensing systems for AUV/ROVs.
It summarizes the A–Z of the background and application knowledge of ocean engineering for use by ocean scientists and ocean engineers as well as nonspecialists such as engineers and scientists from all disciplines, economists, students, and politicians. Ocean engineering theories, ocean devices and equipment, ocean design and operation technologies are described by international experts, many from industry and each entry offers an introduction and references for further study, making current technology and operating practices available for future generations to learn from. The book also furthers our understanding of the current state of the art, leading to new and more efficient technologies with breakthroughs from new theory and materials.
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9780128130827Publication Date: 2019-04-12The oceans cover 70% of the Earth's surface, and are critical components of Earth's climate system. This new edition of Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences, Six Volume Set summarizes the breadth of knowledge about them, providing revised, up to date entries as well coverage of new topics in the field. New and expanded sections include microbial ecology, high latitude systems and the cryosphere, climate and climate change, hydrothermal and cold seep systems. The structure of the work provides a modern presentation of the field, reflecting the input and different perspective of chemical, physical and biological oceanography, the specialized area of expertise of each of the three Editors-in-Chief. In this framework maximum attention has been devoted to making this an organic and unified reference. Represents a one-stop. organic information resource on the breadth of ocean science research Reflects the input and different perspective of chemical, physical and biological oceanography, the specialized area of expertise of each of the three Editors-in-Chief New and expanded sections include microbial ecology, high latitude systems and climate change Provides scientifically reliable information at a foundational level, making this work a resource for students as well as active researches
Encyclopedia of Antarctica and the Southern Oceans by Call Number: G855 .E53 2002ISBN: 0471986658Publication Date: 2002-08-16An up-to-date and authoritative one-volume reference offeringcomprehensive coverage of the biology, climatology, oceanography,geology, history and current legal, political and human aspects ofthe Antarctic continent and the surrounding ocean andislands. * Edited by Dr Bernard Stonehouse - a research scientist, writerand editor with wide-ranging field experience of Antarctica and thesouthern oceans * Entries from 25 eminent contributors, writing under the directionof six advisory editors, ensures an up-to-date and authoritativepresentation * Comprehensive geographical coverage, including lands, coasts,major mountain ranges and individual features, all withco-ordinates and brief descriptions, and many in-text maps * Includes study guides, offering 2-3000 words on key topics, whichenable the user to follow themes of interest systematically andthematically, with key words linking to the A-Z entries within theEncyclopedia * Features an eight page, fold-out coloured map section of thecontinent showing major geographical features * Offers wide cross-disciplinary coverage of Antarctic and southernoceans from politics and sovereignty to marine zoology * Written in a simple, straightforward style Provides essential reading for all researchers and academicsworking in climatology, oceanography, geology and biology, as wellas Polar researchers
Encyclopedia of Marine Sciences by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9783642973611Publication Date: 2012-12-06Marine science today is an area of rapid expansion. Scientific activity is in creasing, and a growing number of scientists are involved in one or more of its disciplines. For a thorough understanding of the marine environment. for its exploration, exploitation and management. background knowledge of more than one discipline is required. A clear need therefore exists for a concise multidisciplinary oceanographic encyclopedia. The initiative for this book was taken by the Netherland Institute of Sea Research. NIOZ, TexeL a multidisciplinary institute, founded in 1876. The encyclopedia contains some 1850 entries, 210 of which in marine chem istry. 330 in physical oceanography. 350 in marine geology and 940 in marine biology, while the remaining 20 are general terms. Concepts. terminology and methods of the various disciplines are briefly explained and especially in the description of marine processes the book tries to be more than a glossary or dictionary. It tries to provide a succinct overview of the major topics in marine science. Students, teachers, and scientists as well as interested laymen may use it to find an explanation of oceanographic terms outside their own fields. The manuscript was read by a variety of potential users, whose comments were used to improve and clarify the descriptions.
Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9780470997826Publication Date: 2008-04-30Dictionary of ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE and TECHNOLOGY Dictionary of ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE and TECHNOLOGY FOURTH EDITION This superb and highly-acclaimed dictionary includes over 4000 in-depth entries on scientific and technical terminology, associated with environmental protection and resource management. In addition, it contains numerous illustrations, a wide range of international case studies and extensive cross-references to guide the reader. The fourth edition represents a major update with 30% new material, additional illustrations and a greatly expanded list of relevant web resources. Reviews of previous editions: This is a veritable Whitakers' Almanac of useful information on all aspects of science and the natural environment, and its author needs little introduction. It is as useful for dipping into -- being crammed with fascinating facts -- as it is for checking definitions. Essential for layman and specialist alike. ...Porteous' book will contribute to better understanding and protection of the world's environment... This dictionary is highly recommended as a valuable reference for both students and professionals working in environmental science and technology. ...a formidable rival of many much more expensive and heavier volumes. Porteous succeeds to precisely describe the chosen terms without compromise to readability. Cross-references nicely bring together additional or related information. The reader is often captured by the well-written text and is kept reading far beyond the sought-after term. Environmental Geology Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology, Fourth Edition will be an indispensable reference for all students and professionals concerned with world's environment.
Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology by Call Number: GE10 .P67 1996ISBN: 0471960756Publication Date: 1996-05-03This dictionary provides a comprehensive source of the scientific and technical terminology associated with environmental studies and appraisals of current issues. This completely updated and revised edition features such new subjects as waste, packaging and traffic pollution. In addition to definitions, the book contains useful diagrams and tables, a list of relevant addresses and a guide for further reading.
Soil and Environmental Science Dictionary by Call Number: S592 .S59 2001ISBN: 0849331153Publication Date: 2001-06-22The lingo of soil science is a language unto itself. Soil and Environmental Science Dictionary is a glossary of terms used in soil and environmental science, including terms from related disciplines. Designed for teachers, students, researchers and others interested or involved in environmental sciences related to soils, this compilation includes all terms and definitions from the current Canadian Society of Soil Science (CSSS) glossary as well as from various other sources such as the Soil Science Society of America and the Soil and Water Conservation Society. Soil and Environmental Science Dictionary defines terms accurately and clearly for professionals working in areas such as agronomy, building construction, civil engineering, forestry, environmental science and planning, geology, hydrology, petrology, and plant science.
The Facts on File Dictionary of Environmental Science by Call Number: TD9 .W95 2007ISBN: 0816064377Publication Date: 2007-07-30Thoroughly revised and updated, ""The Facts On File Dictionary of Environmental Science, Third Edition"" reflects the great diversity of disciplines that have an impact on this field of study. The more than 5,400 extensively cross-referenced entries - including approximately 450 new to this edition - are drawn from agriculture, biology, chemistry, engineering, medicine, microbiology, soil science, geology, meteorology, toxicology, government, law, and more. This updated volume also contains revised backmatter, including Web resources, as well as new line illustrations. Here is the definitive source to help students, teachers, businesspeople, politicians, science and technical writers, and general readers understand every aspect of this fast-growing and sometimes controversial field.
The Facts on File Dictionary of Marine Science by Call Number: GC9 .F28 2008ISBN: 0816063834Publication Date: 2008-01-30Thoroughly updated and expanded, ""The Facts On File Dictionary of Marine Science, New Edition"" contains more than 2,750 entries - approximately 300 new to this edition - dealing with the basic vocabulary of marine science. This new edition features the most up-to-date terms and explanatory charts and graphs related to the areas of water chemistry; marine ecosystems; physical features of oceans, such as reefs, coastlines, and tides; currents and their effects; and plants and animals that dwell in the oceans. The back matter has been revised, and new line illustrations have been added.
Processing Water, Wastewater, Residuals, and Excreta for Health and Environmental Protection by Call Number: Request through Interlibrary LoanISBN: 9780470261934Publication Date: 2008-07-08This single-source reference is your "go-to" resource for current information on water treatment and water quality Knowledge about water and wastewater treatment, pollution control, water quality, and related applications and equipment is increasing exponentially. New challenges bring new technologiesand terminologies. The acronyms alone can test your memory, not to mention the plethora of proprietary devices and technologies created by different companies. Processing Water, Wastewater, Residuals, and Excreta for Health and Environmental Protection: An Encyclopedic Dictionary consolidates concise definitions, equations, and formulas into one authoritative reference. With logical, systematic organization and clear, concise explanations, it: Defines more than 25,000 key terms related to water treatment, wastewater treatment, excreta disposal, residuals processing, and environmental health Features 1,800 illustrations, including chemical reactions, formulas, figures, and tables Updates you on current technologies and applications Covers both proprietary and nonproprietary technologies This is the hands-on reference for professionals teaching, conducting research, or working in hydraulics, hydrology, water supply, wastewater disposal, stormwater management, environmental engineering, and civil engineering. It is also an excellent resource for students studying water resources and environmental engineering.
- Ocean Exploration: A Guide to Information ResourcesAn overview and selective guide to the literature of ocean exploration is provided for reference, research and collection development purposes. Books, encyclopedias, bibliographies, databases, and websites are identified and described. Both historical background and current information on the subject are covered.
Handbook of Algal Technologies and Phytochemicals by Call Number: Request through Interlibrary LoanISBN: 9780367178192Publication Date: 2019-08-28Key Features The most comprehensive resource available on the biodiversity of algal species, their industrial production processes and their use for human consumption in food, health and varied applications. Emphasis on basic and applied research, addressing aspects of scale-up for commercial exploitation for the development of novel phytochemicals (phytochemicals from algae). Addresses the underexplored and underutilized potential of chemicals from marine sources for health benefits. Each chapter, written by expert contributors from around the world, includes a Dictionary of Terms, Key Facts, Summary Points, Figures and Tables, as well as up-to-date references. The second book in this two-volume set explores phycoremedation applications, and the sustainable use of algae for biofuels and other products of economic value. It also looks at aspects such as macro- and micro algal impact on marine ecosystem and remote sensing of algal blooms. The commercial value of chemicals of value to food and health is about $6 billion annually, of which 30 percent relates to micro and macro algal metabolites and products for health food applications. As a whole, the two volumes explore the aspects of diversity of micro and macro algal forms, their traditional uses; their constituents which are of value for food, feed, specialty chemicals, bioactive compounds for novel applications, and bioenergy molecules. Bio-business and the market share of algae-based products are also dealt with, providing global perspectives.
- Handbook of Marine ChemistryThe earlier book entitled “Marine Chemistry” written by me and published in 2007 has been thoroughly revised and enlarged to include recent developments in chemical oceanography. The seven chapters included in the earlier book have been expanded into eleven incorporating additional information such as the origin of the ocean, isotopic composition of seawater, speciation of major and minor elements, role of trace metals in global climate control, distribution of reactive (non-conservative) gases such as nitrous oxide (N2O), nitric oxide (NO), Methane (CH4) and dimethyl sulphide [(CH3)2S]. Distribution of CO2 components e.g. partial pressure (PCO2), pH, total alkalinity (TA) and total CO2 (“CO2) in seawater, segregation (horizontal) of bio-limiting elements, iron fertilization, methods of organic matter characterization and major classes of organic bio-molecules such as hydrocarbons, carbohydrates, amino acids and proteins, complex and simple lipids, and pyrroles and porphyrins in seawater are also included.Five new chapters (12-16) of special significance and present day relevance namely, the Global carbon cycle and climate change; Hypoxia (Reducing environments); Hydrothermal vent fluids; Chemical diagenesis and interstitial waters; and fossil and bio-fuels have been incorporated in the book. Important topics such as Role of ocean on global carbon cycle and climate, Use of oceans to mitigate anthropogenic CO2 emissions, Typical anoxic/hypoxic environments for example, Black Sea, Cariaco Trench, Framvaren Fjord, Northern Gulf of Mexico and the Arabian Sea; Categorization of hydrothermal vent fluids and their chemical composition; Diagenesis of organic matter in sediments and typical pore water profiles of major cations and anions, alkalinity, pH and Eh and some redox species are included. Distinction of fossil (petroleum and natural gas) and bio (ethanol, diesel, methane, hydrogen, BtL) fuels; Relative merits and limitations of fossil and biofuels, and future strategies of biofuels have been described in detail.The book thus provides the latest information on marine chemistry to be used as a course material in chemical oceanography to graduate/post-graduate students. It is written in a simple and lucid style that can be easily followed not only by the students but also by the practicing scientists and engineers working in marine environment and related areas.