Public Policy and Legislation

NCSL maintains more than 50 active legislation-tracking databases. Learn how to use them with this comprehensive guide.

Find the most comprehensive and complete 50-state information in NCSL's searchable bill tracking databases. Select a topic listed below to find complete bill information. The status of bills listed in these databases is updated every week. Search by subtopics, year, status (e.g., pending, enacted, to governor, etc.) or enter keywords to identify bills.

GovInfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch.
GovInfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

USAGov creates and organizes timely, needed government information and services and makes them accessible anytime, anywhere.

The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session.

Official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public.

The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keywords, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.

Enables public access to regulatory materials.

Search of Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs) websites. Sites were chosen based on their consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and also collated from University of Minnesota Human Rights Library, Duke University Libraries' NGO Research Guide, and the World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO).

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world.

Created by Chris Brown for the University of Denver Libraries

Non-profit, public service that provides video media of access to the gavel-to-gavel proceedings of the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate, and to other forums where public policy is discussed, debated and decided––all without editing, commentary or analysis.

EveryCRSReport.com, in partnership with a Republican and a Democratic member of Congress and library partners, are making these reports available to everyone for free online and in one place. EveryCRSReport.com includes 19,648 CRS reports. The number changes regularly.