Resources
African Americans in U. S. Foreign Policy by Call Number: E-book resourceISBN: 9780252096839Publication Date: 2015-01-30
American Journalism and International Relations by Call Number: PN4888 .F69 D445 2013ISBN: 9781107031951Publication Date: 2013-03-29
Catastrophic Diplomacy: US Foreign Disaster Assistance in the American Century by Call Number: E-book resourceISBN: 9781469676234Publication Date: 2024-01-09
Chained to History by Call Number: E183.7 .B6925 2022ISBN: 9781501761058Publication Date: 2022-02-15
Chronological History of U. S. Foreign Relations by Call Number: E183.7 .B745 2003ISBN: 0415939143Publication Date: 2002-11-223 Volume Set
A Companion to American Foreign Relations by Call Number: E-book resourceISBN: 9780470999042Publication Date: 2007-12-10
Diaspora Lobbies and the US Government by Call Number: E-book resourceISBN: 9781479818761Publication Date: 2014-10-03
A Documentary History of U. S. Foreign Relations by Call Number: E744 .D558ISBN: 0819108669Publication Date: 1979-09-012 volumes set
Economic Statecraft and US Foreign Policy by Call Number: JZ1480 .A55 R67 2020ISBN: 9780367134204Publication Date: 2019-12-02
Encyclopedia of U. S. Foreign Relations by Call Number: E183.7 E53 1997ISBN: 0195110552Publication Date: 1997-03-134 volume set
Fairness in the World Economy by Call Number: HF1379 .Z358 2006ISBN: 9781845427146Publication Date: 2006-06-27
Foreign Policy at the Periphery by Call Number: E-book resourceISBN: 9780813168470Publication Date: 2017-01-17
From Colony to Superpower by Call Number: E183.7 .H44 2008ISBN: 9780195078220Publication Date: 2008-10-28Also Available in E-book
From Colony to Superpower by Call Number: E-book resourceISBN: 9780199723430Publication Date: 2008-01-01Also Available in Print
Hierarchy in International Relations by Call Number: E-book resourceISBN: 9780801447563Publication Date: 2009-06-26
Making US Foreign Policy by Call Number: JZ1480 .C374 2020ISBN: 9781626378131Publication Date: 2019-10-30
U. S. Diplomacy Since 1900 by Call Number: E744 .S399 2002ISBN: 0195142217Publication Date: 2001-12-13
U. S. Presidents and Foreign Policy by Call Number: E176.1 .U16 2007ISBN: 9781851097906Publication Date: 2006-12-13
- American Foreign Policy Interests (Electronic Journal)2001-2015 available electronically through LSU Libraries
- Cooperation and Conflict (Electronic Journal)1965-Present available electronically through LSU Libraries
- Foreign Affairs (Electronic Journal)1922-Present available electronically through LSU Libraries
- Foreign Affairs (Print Journal)Volumes 1-94 (1922-2015) held in print at LSU Main Library
- Foreign Policy Analysis (Electronic Journal)First Published in 2005. 2005-present available electronically through LSU Libraries.
- Georgetown Journal of International Affairs2000-Present available electronically through LSU Libraries (Due to publisher restrictions, the most recent 4 years are not available).
- International Affairs (Electronic Journal)1975-Present available electronically through LSU Libraries
- International Affairs (Print Journal)Volume 20-82 (1944-2006) available in print at LSU Main Library
- International Journal of Conflict and Violence (Electronic Journal)2007-Present available electronically through LSU Libraries
- International Relations (Electronic Journal)2019-Present available electronically via LSU Libraries
- The Journal of Conflict Resolution (Electronic Journal)1958-Present available electronically through LSU Libraries
- Journal of International Affairs (Electronic Journal)1952-Present available electronically through LSU Libraries
- Journal of International Affairs (Print Journal)Volumes 6-67 (1952-2014) available in print at LSU Main Library
- Journal of Peace Research (Electronic Journal)1964-Present available electronically through LSU Libraries
- World Politics (Electronic Journal)1948-Present available electronically through LSU Libraries
- The American Historical Review (Electronic Journal)1975-Present available electronically via LSU Libraries
- The American Historical Review (Print Journal)Volumes 1-99 (1895-1994) available in print in LSU-Main
- Cold War History (Electronic Journal)2000-Present available electronically via LSU Libraries. (Due to publisher restrictions, the most recent 18 months are not available)
- Diplomacy and Statecraft (Electronic Journal)2000-Present available electronically via LSU Libraries. (Due to publisher restrictions, the most recent 15 months are not available)
- Diplomatic History (Electronic Journal)1977-Present is available electronically via LSU Libraries
- Diplomatic History (Print Journal)Volumes 1-30 (1997-2006) are available in print at LSU-Main
- The International History Review (Electronic Journal)1979-Present available electronically via LSU Libraries (Due to publisher restrictions, the most recent 8 years are not available).
- The Journal of American History (Electronic Journal)LSU Libraries does not currently own electronic access to this journal. Please request any article from the journal via LSU Interlibrary Loan.
- The Journal of American History (Print Journal)Volumes 51-81 (1964-1984) available in print in LSU-Main
- Journal of Cold War Studies (Electronic Journal)1999-Present available electronically via LSU Libraries
- Journal of Global History (Electronic Journal)LSU Libraries does not currently own access to this journal. Please request any articles from this journal via LSU Interlibrary Loan
- Journal of World History (Electronic Journal)1996-Present available electronically via LSU Libraries
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- History Commons This link opens in a new window
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
- America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- American History This link opens in a new window
- American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new window
- Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
- History Vault This link opens in a new window
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- Newswires This link opens in a new window
- Peace Research Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500-1926 This link opens in a new window
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994 This link opens in a new window
Official U.S. Government Websites that can help aid in U.S. Foreign Relations Research
- Websites of U.S. Embassies, Consulates, Diplomatic Missions, and Offices Providing Consular Services
- U.S. Agency for International Development
- U.S. Senate Committee on Foreign Relations
- USA.gov (the U.S. Government's official web portal to all federal, state, and local government web resources and services)
- GovInfo.gov (provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government)
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The series, which is produced by the Department of State's Office of the Historian, began in 1861 and now comprises more than 450 individual volumes. The volumes published over the last two decades increasingly contain declassified records from all the foreign affairs agencies.
Search within the volumes, or browse volume titles by administration.
National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) - U.S. Foreign Affairs Resource Guide
The Department of State is designated as the agency to lead in the overall direction, coordination, and supervision of United States foreign policy and foreign relations, but records relating to various foreign policy issues are found among the files of other agencies, too. Since World War II, a "community" of agencies has evolved to deal specifically with certain specialized foreign policy issues. In addition, many other agencies have taken on important roles in American national security affairs. The subject and focus of your foreign relations research will determine the most appropriate records for you to use.
Click the link here to help you get started in navigating these resources.
Toward "Thorough, Accurate, and Reliable" by
Toward "Thorough, Accurate, and Reliable" explores the evolution of the Foreign Relations of the United States documentary history series from its antecedents in the early republic through the early 21st century implementation of its current mandate, the 1991 Foreign Relations statute. This book traces how policymakers and an expanding array of stakeholders translated values like "security," "legitimacy," and "transparency" into practice as they debated how to balance the government's obligation to protect sensitive information with its commitment to openness. Determining the "people's right to know" has fueled lively discussion for over two centuries, and this work provides important, historically informed perspectives valuable to policymakers and engaged citizens as that conversation continues. Policymakers, citizens, especially political science researchers, political scientists, academic, high school, public librarians and students performing research for foreign policy issues will be most interested in this volume. Other related products: Available print volumes of the Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series can be found here: https://bookstore.gpo.gov/catalog/international-foreign-affairs/foreign-relations-united-states-series-frus
ISBN: 9780160932120Publication Date: 2016-03-16
Papers relating to the foreign relations of the United States / transmitted to Congress with the annual message of the President by Call Number: S 1.1:ISBN: 1048-6445Publication Date: 1870-1946- Foreign relations of the United States : diplomatic papers by Call Number: S 1.1:Publication Date: 1948-
- A history of trade relations between Japan and the United States in the New Orleans area by This study describes the development of trade over the past one hundred years (1900- ) between Japan and New Orleans.Call Number: MICROFILM 4421Publication Date: 1973
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline is Heins premier online product with more than 138 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges the gap in legal history by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,300 law and law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of law journals, HeinOnline also contains the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, famous world trials dating back to the early 1700s, legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States treaties, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, and much more.
Search Tricks for Finding Government Information Online
A large percentage of government information is available online directly from federal and state agencies and departments. Use the following search trick to help you as you begin your research:
- Enter "site:gov + keyword(s)" This will search your keyword(s) on all sites that have a .gov domain.
- Ex: site:gov u.s. foreign relations iraq 2005
- You can also use this trick to search within a specific government website
- Ex: site:usembassy.gov iraq 2005
Checking Out Physical Items From LSU Libraries' Government Documents Collection
Although the stacks themselves are located in the basement and closed to the public, physical materials found within the collection can still be used and checked out! To retrieve materials, go to the Access Services desk on the 2nd floor, or contact the department by email: libgovdocs@lsu.edu or by phone: 225-578-2570.