AGEC 7113 Agribusiness Research Applications: Background Resources

This is a course guide for AGEC 7113. Here you will find help with Background Resources, Databases, and Citations.

Background Resources

CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is a general reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering 551 hundred highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers; Credo General Reference covers every major subject. Credo Reference is an online reference service made up of full-text books from the world's best publishers. Whether you're working on a research paper, trying to win trivia or just curious, Credo Reference has something for you.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods supports beginning and advanced researchers in every step of a research project, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, to writing up and publishing the findings. With information on the full range of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods for the social and behavioral sciences, as well as many methods commonly used in the hard sciences, the book, reference, and journal content in SAGE Research Methods—from SAGE’s renowned methods publishing program— and advanced features help researchers of all levels conduct their research.

The Conversation
The Conversation is an independent, nonprofit publisher of commentary and analysis, authored by academics and edited by journalists for the general public. We publish short articles (800-1000 words) by academics on timely topics related to their research.Their mission is “to promote truthful information and strengthen journalism by unlocking the rich diversity of academic research for audiences across America.”

NewsBank This link opens in a new window
This site provides access to all of LSU Libraries' NewsBank subscriptions, including the following: Access World News (local, regional, national and international newspapers and news sources) Archive of Americana America's Historical Imprints America's Historical Newspapers African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 American State Papers, 1789-1838 U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994 Serial Set Maps Foreign Broadcast INformation Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, Latin American Newspapers, Series 1 and 2, 1805-1922
New York Times This link opens in a new window
How to Activate an LSU New York Times Account

1. Select the link above
2. Select from the search Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College - Baton Rouge, LA
3. Enter all of the requested information and use your LSU email on the registration form and click Sign Up.
4. Once you create your log-in credentials, you will be able to log in using nytimes.com where access is unlimited.
5. Faculty and staff must register every four years. Student access reflects the estimated graduation date.

LSU's access includes New York Times InEducation which provides curated reading lists across several disciplines of study. To access the InEducation tool, users must activate their News subscription and log in using the same account information.

Funding for LSU's New York Times access was provided by LSU Student Government and LSU Libraries.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc.
Wall Street Journal + This link opens in a new window
LSU Libraries is excited to announce that The Wall Street Journals premium digital products including WSJ online and smartphone and tablet apps are now available to all students and faculty. For over a century, WSJ has sustained a legacy of journalistic excellence and is the #1 most trusted newspaper for the 27th consecutive year, according to the Pew Research Center.

All users will need to create a WSJ+ account.

Remote PC/Mobile access:
1. Click on the WSJ+ link
2. Login to MyLSU
3. Create a WSJ+ account using your LSU email address
4. Select account type
5. Set up account preferences
6. Agree to terms and click create
7. Your personal WSJ+ login and password are now active. Access is available through the WSJ app or at WSJ.com.
8. Note that WSJ+ accounts that are inactive for 90 days expire. Expired accounts can be reactivated at LSU's WSJ+ page.

Funding for LSU's Wall Street Journal access was provided by LSU Student Government and LSU Libraries

The Agricultural Marketing Service
The Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) was established by the Secretary of Agriculture on April 2, 1972, under the authority of Reorganization Plan No. 2 of 1953 (5 U.S.C. app.) and other authorities. The Service administers standardization, grading, certification, market news, marketing orders, research and promotion, and regulatory programs.

Much of the agency’s support for agriculture is provided through commodity-specific efforts, such as its Dairy; Specialty Crops; Livestock, Poultry and Seed; and Cotton and Tobacco Programs. AMS also oversees the National Organic Program; Science and Technology Program; and the Transportation and Marketing Program. AMS also provides regulatory oversight for over 20 research and promotion programs, and enforces other Federal regulations such as the Perishable Agricultural Commodities Act (PACA) and the Seed Act.
NASS - National Agricultural Statistics Service
The USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture. Production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, and changes in the demographics of U.S. producers are only a few examples.
USDA Economic Research Service
The mission of USDA's Economic Research Service is to anticipate trends and emerging issues in agriculture, food, the environment, and rural America and to conduct high-quality, objective economic research to inform and enhance public and private decision making.

ERS research and analysis covers a broad range of economic and policy topics:
Agricultural Economy, Food and Nutrition, Food Safety, Global Markets and Trade, Resources and Environment, and Rural Economy.