Skip to Main Content

The United States Constitution

The purpose of this guide is to provide information for researching the U.S. Constitution and its amendments.

The Articles of the Constitution

The U.S. Constitution's articles are its main body, outlining the structure and powers of the different branches of the Federal Government, the relationship between the states, the process for amending the Constitution, the supremacy of Federal law, and the process for ratification of the Constitution. In total, the Constitution consists of seven articles, and with the first three establishing the three branches of Government and their powers.

The Seven Articles

The Three Branches of Government


  • Article. I. Section. 1.
    • All legislative Powers herein granted shall be vested in a Congress of the United States, which shall consist of a Senate and House of Representatives.
  • Article. I. Section. 2.
    • The House of Representatives shall be composed of Members chosen every second Year by the People of the several States, and the Electors in each State shall have the Qualifications requisite for Electors of the most numerous Branch of the State Legislature.
  • Article. I. Section. 3.
    • The Senate of the United States shall be composed of two Senators from each State, chosen by the Legislature thereof, for six Years; and each Senator shall have one Vote.


  • Article. II. Section 1.
    • The executive Power shall be vested in a President of the United States of America. He shall hold his Office during the Term of four Years, and, together with the Vice President, chosen for the same Term, be elected, as follows: Each State shall appoint, in such Manner as the Legislature thereof may direct, a Number of Electors, equal to the whole Number of Senators and Representatives to which the State may be entitled in the Congress: but no Senator or Representative, or Person holding an Office of Trust or Profit under the United States, shall be appointed an Elector.


  • Article. III. Section. 1. 
    • The judicial Power of the United States, shall be vested in one supreme Court, and in such inferior Courts as the Congress may from time to time ordain and establish.
  • Article. III. Section 2.
    • The judicial Power shall extend to all Cases, in Law and Equity, arising under this Constitution, the Laws of the United States, and Treaties made, or which shall be made, under their Authority;--to all Cases of admiralty and maritime Jurisdiction;--to Controversies to which the United States shall be a Party;--to Controversies between two or more States;--between a State and Citizens of another State;--between Citizens of different States; between Citizens of the same State claiming Lands under Grants of different States, and between a State, or the Citizens thereof, and foreign States, Citizens or Subjects.
  • Article. III. Section. 3.
    • Treason against the United States, shall consist only in levying War against them, or in adhering to their Enemies, giving them Aid and Comfort. No Person shall be convicted of Treason unless on the Testimony of two Witnesses to the same overt Act, or on Confession in open Court.

Click the image below if you're looking for more information about the structure and operations of the U.S. Federal Government!

Provide Website Feedback
Accessibility Statement