Comparative Literature: Useful Databases

Black Short Fiction and Folklore brings together 82,000 pages and more than 11,000 works of short fiction produced by writers from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present. The materials have been compiled from early literary magazines, archives, and the personal collections of the authors. Some 30 percent of the collection is fugitive or ephemeral, or has never been published before.

Online access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series, with access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content. Coverage includes American and British history, general history, music, religious studies, theater and performing arts, and more.

C19 Index draws on the strength of established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC), The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index, Periodicals Index Online and the Cumulative Index to Niles' Register 18111849 to create integrated bibliographic coverage of over 1.7 million books and official publications, 70,000 archival collections and 22.7 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers.

Starting with the literature produced in Spanish and French colonies in the 1800s, the collection offers an extensive selection of 19th- and 20th-century works from every Caribbean country. As the database grows, we will supplement the novels, short stories, and poems of these artists with author interviews and reference works, including dictionaries of various Creole languages.

The award-winning Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides comprehensive access to the series dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers while simultaneously satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers, and scholars.

Early American Fiction 17891875 offers the full text of more than 700 first editions of American novels and short stories by such authors as Louisa May Alcott, Herman Melville, Harriet Beecher Stowe and Mark Twain, as well as a host of minor writers of the period.

ECCO contains every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. From books and directories, bibles and sheet music, to sermons and pamphlets, ECCO features a variety of materials to provide a critical tool for both faculty research and classroom use.

A unique archive of almost every play submitted for license between 1737 and 1824, and hundreds of documents that provide social context for the plays.

Bringing together rare journals printed between c.1685 and 1835, this resource illuminates all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics covered are wide-ranging and include colonial life, provincial and rural affairs, the French and American revolutions, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and London coffee house gossip and discussion.

Covering 1900 - 1984, this database indexes more than 249,000 essays included in this collection, it indexes single and multi-author collections, plus selected annuals and serials. It includes publications from the United States, Canada and Great Britain, covering eight decades of 20th Century literature.

Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.

The Berg Collection is recognised as one of the finest literary research collections in the world, and the Victorian holdings are the undisputed jewel in its crown. A broad range of authors from across the nineteenth century make this an essential research tool for all scholars and students researching Victorian literature.

Literary Reference Center is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, and literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Center includes thousands of plot summaries, synopses, and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full text of over 430 literary journals; book reviews; classic and contemporary poems and short stories; full text of over 7,000 classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures.

Gale takes literature, history and culture to the next level with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available: Literature Criticism Online. Imagine centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals..

The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature

The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

The Romantic Era Redefined is a searchable collection of works focusing in the period between 1800 and 1830, that will bring academic research libraries a new, genre-redefining electronic collection of Romantic-era literature. In partnership with Pickering & Chatto Publishers, Alexander Street Press will publish in this collection canonical and previously unrecognized writers from Britain, the British Empire, and North America.

Twayne's is devoted to in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers of the world within the context of the time period in which they lived. It provides insightful and original commentary on the history and influence of literary movements.

Accessible Archives assembles diverse primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture into comprehensive databases.

ccess World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.

America's Historical Imprints contains 3 full-text and fully searchable collections: Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922; Early American Imprints, Series 1-Evans; and Early American Imprints, Series 2-Shaw-Showmaker.

This resource covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With hundreds of full-text journals and books, and selective indexing for journals dating back nearly 60 years, this database is a key reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.

An interdisciplinary academic collection devoted to the study of the history, culture, and politics of Black Americans covering the tumultuous period from 1900 to present day. From U.S. nation-building in Liberia to Freedom Riders and from Rastafaria to FBI surveillance, researchers can explore a breadth of experiences.

Fuente Academica is a unique collection of scholarly journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This multi-disciplinary database offers full text content to many academic areas including business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology. Fuente Academica provides full text (including PDF) for more than 200 scholarly Spanish language journals.

Digital curated historical artifacts from over 500 years of world history, curated by Gale and partnering libraries from around the world.

History Reference Center offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.

For the first time ever, ProQuest is introducing primary source materials from its University Publications of America (UPA) Collection in a digital format. ProQuest History Vault unlocks the wealth of archival materials with a single search. Researchers can access letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and much more from a single interface.

his database is a comprehensive index to publications on Islamic subjects throughout the world. Records cover almost 100 years, from 1906 to the present. The scope includes the Middle East, the Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere in the world. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews.

Latin American Newspapers, Series 1, 1805-1922, offer unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures.

Latin American Newspapers, Series 2, 1822-1922, offer unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures.

The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (Oxford DNB) is the national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century.

The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.

Defining Gender provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.

A collection that enhances the representation of diverse cultures and viewpoints in library collections including Black Americans, LGBTQIA+, religious minorities, Indigenous peoples, Asian Americans, women, and more.

Everyday Life & Women in America c.1800-1920 showcases unique primary source material for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history in the 19th and early 20th centuries.

LGBT Life with Full Text contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 120 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs/books.

Women’s Studies Archive connects archival collections concerning women’s history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources. Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive provides materials on women’s political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women’s voices, from female-authored literature to women’s periodicals. By providing the opportunity to witness female perspectives, Gale’s Women’s Studies Archive is an essential source for researchers working in Women’s History, Gender Studies and Social History.

Featuring full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from an array of publications, this database is a robust resource for art students and art historians. Covers a variety of topics from fine, decorative and commercial art to photography, folk art, film and architecture.

This archival database offers historical literature on a variety of art topics from the years 1929-1984. It provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews.

The Artstor Digital Library features an unparalleled range of images from some of the worlds leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. Artstor facilitates research and education in numerous disciplines, including art and visual studies, architecture, religion, anthropology and archaeology, global studies, fashion and costume, classics, world history, and more.

A thematic and iconographic index of early Christian and Medieval art objects. Besides iconographic descriptions of works of art, the database includes bibliographic records, and information such as style, school, location, and more.

International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and covers the time period from 2008 - present. For the years, 1975-2007, see BHA. Authoritative coverage of international scholarship is provided for European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. Visual arts in all media are also covered: painting, sculpture, drawing, video, installations, new media, decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, folk art and material culture, classical studies, antiques, architectural history.

A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.

Film & Television Literature Index™ with Full Text is the definitive online tool for film and television research

Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that provides easy access to all educational videos LSU Libraries has purchased from Films Media Group.

The Grove Dictionary of American Music is the largest, most comprehensive reference publication of American music. The articles range from small definitions of dance styles and musical terms to mid-length biographies of important performers and composers to longer examinations of larger subjects such as the history of jazz.

Kanopy offers one of the most unique and compelling collections of film on the planet. Our films range from documentaries, indie and foreign films, must-see classics and blockbuster movies. Our sophisticated discovery engine encourages our users to challenge themselves to watch films outside of their comfort area.

Access the largest on demand library of classical music including concerts and historical archived concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, artist profiles, educational programs, and master classes

North American Women's Drama contains 1,517 plays by 330 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. More than 30% of the plays in the collection have never been published before. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (2002), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006)

This edition of Twentieth Century North American Drama contains 2,059 plays by 434 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

InteLex Corporations Past Masters series encompasses the largest collection of primary source full-text electronic editions in philosophy in the world. The series includes significant collections in the history of political thought and theory, religious studies, education, German studies, sociology, the history and philosophy of science, economics, and classics.

PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. We monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives and personal pages maintained by academics. PhilPapers also hosts the largest open access archive in philosophy. Note: Requires off-campus users to create a profile and list LSU as their affiliation.

Religion & Philosophy Collection includes more than 300 full-text journals covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy.

This database combines the premier indexing from ATLA Religion Database with access to ATLA's online full-text collection of major religion and theology journals.

Browse or search over 7,000 articles from 40 years of Biblical Archaeology Review (1975 to present), 20 years of Bible Review (1985 to 2005 complete) and 8 years of Archaeology Odyssey (1998 to 2006 complete).

New Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Weston Jesuit School of Theology. The database is an indispensable research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu. The database contains more than 38,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 13,500 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts

Old Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Biblical Association. The database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Abstracts from over 450 journals are included. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more. Coverage in the database dates back to 1978.

Religion & Philosophy Collection includes more than 300 full-text journals covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy.

Religious & Theological Abstracts (1948- ) is an indexing and abstracting database covering scholarly journals in the fields of religion and theology. It includes a variety of periodical literature including Christian, Jewish, and other world religions, and provide English language abstracts of articles in English,Hebrew, Afrikaans, and major European languages. It supports searching by title, author, year, Bible citation, and journal name.