ABOUT LAUGHLIN PAPERS
Clarence John Laughlin Papers, Mss. 4538
Materials are arranged into four series and chiefly relate to Laughlin’s book collecting habits. Materials in these papers, especially book collecting records, often include notation by Laughlin. Notation practices include using codes and symbols, dating materials, and duplicating outgoing correspondence.
Series I: Book Collecting Records
This series contains materials pertaining to Laughlin’s book collecting. Items include manuscript volumes, annotated catalogs and books, notations on scraps of ephemera, clippings, and printed materials. Book collecting correspondence includes letters, printed materials, invoices and money orders. Additional correspondence pertains to LSU and the purchase of Laughlin’s book collection by LSU Libraries.
Series II: Research Materials
Records in this series include an eclectic mix of items on a variety of topics. Collected materials include books, correspondence, photographs, articles, printed materials, clippings, blueprints, art prints, exhibition catalogs and announcements, advertisements, ephemera, maps, flyers, brochures, and form letters.
Series III: Writings
This series contains miscellaneous items authored by Clarence John Laughlin including personal notes, school papers, work reports, and a narrative short story.
Series IV: Removal Files
This series comprises materials removed from titles of the Laughlin Book Collection. This includes correspondence, photographs, notes, printed materials, mail, clippings, ephemera, fine art prints, and publications. Most materials relate to book collecting. This includes subscription notices, book covers, correspondence, invoices, money orders, flyers, catalogs, ephemera, printed materials, and advertisements.
Finding aid for the collection can be found here.
Image from Laughlin's annotated copy of The Checklist of Fantastic Literature, a Bibliography of Fantasy, Weird and Science Fiction Books Published in the English Language. Edited by Everett F. Bleiler, 1948. Kipling-Koester
Clarence John Laughlin papers, Mss. 4538 -- Box 2
Annotated booklist of Atlantis titles removed from Laughlin’s copy of The Supplemental Checklist of Fantastic Literature. Complied by Bradford M. Day, 1963.
Clarence John Laughlin Papers, Mss. 4538 -- Box 1, Folder 6
Book cover of Laughlin's annotated copy of the Passaic Book & Comic Center Catalog, 1980.
Clarence John Laughlin Papers, Mss. 4538 -- Box 3, Folder 3
Page removed from I See You by Charlotte Armstrong containing a list of books by the author annotated by Laughlin, undated.
Clarence John Laughlin Papers, Mss. 4538 -- Box 3, Folder 4
Weird Fantasy flyer promoting works by David Griffiths, David Britton, and John Ramsey Campbell, circa 1969-1970.
Clarence John Laughlin Papers, Mss. 4538 -- Box 3, Folder 15
Silver Scarab Press flyer promoting works on H.P. Lovecraft and the Cthulhu Mythos, circa 1973.
Clarence John Laughlin Papers, Mss. 4538 -- Box 3, Folder 14
Printed postcard and purchaser’s receipt from the Collège de Pataphysique, 1963-1964.
Clarence John Laughlin Papers, Mss. 4538 -- Box 3, Folder 40