HIST 3118: Saving the World: The British Hero in Popular Culture: Primary Resources

British Library Newspapers contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of 19th-century British society.The collection includes Parts I-V and covers the years 1732-1950.

This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

The Daily Mail Historical Archive provides more than 100 years of news stories that capture 20th century culture and society and includes copious advertisements.

Digital curated historical artifacts from over 500 years of world history, curated by Gale and partnering libraries from around the world.

This resource offers revolutionary access to one of the most important archives for the study of Social History in the modern era. Explore original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass Observation organization, as well as printed publications, photographs and interactive features.

Users can browse and search more than 38,000 pages and 95,000 articles online, gaining remarkable insight into a crucial period of twentieth-century history -- from the stormy years leading up to World War II to the first decade of the Cold War. An invaluable resource for students, teachers, and researchers of media, journalism, history, and photography, the Picture Post is also a heritage collection, providing excellent, highly visual primary source material for family and local history researchers. For users that already have access to other newspapers in Gale's online collection, such as the Illustrated London News Historical Archive and The Times Digital Archive, the collection provides additional avenues and in-roads into research of the period.

Popular Culture explores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. The resource offers thousands of colour images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia from this exciting period in our recent history.

Readers' Guide Retrospective indexes a wide variety of magazines, covering 1890 1982.

The Telegraph Historical Archive provides access to an archive of 1 million pages. The paper is considered to be Britain's first "penny newspaper" and became the largest-selling newspaper in the world by 1876.

The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of the Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage, with every page of every issue from 1785 to 2014. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context.